When am I charged for a reservation?
If you choose a payment plan, you’ll pay a portion of the total when your reservation is confirmed, and the remaining balance will be automatically charged on the date(s) listed at checkout.
Whether the reservation is two days or two months away, we hold the payment until 24 hours after check-in before giving it to the host. This gives both you and your host some added time to make sure that everything is as expected.
To check when you’ll be charged for upcoming payments, after your receipt is issued:
- Go to Trips and select the trip you want to check
- Under What you’ve booked, select your reservation
- Under Payment details select Get receipts and manage payments
- Under Your payment details, look for Scheduled Payments
If you book a reservation for 28 nights or more, you’ll be charged an initial payment for the first month when the reservation is confirmed. After that, payments will be charged on a monthly basis. You’ll be able to review the dates for your monthly payments during checkout.
If an Airbnb-required security deposit applies to your reservation and your booking is confirmed, an authorization hold for the deposit amount will be placed on your payment method 48 hours before your reservation begins. You won’t be charged, but the hold means that you won’t be able to access these funds until the hold is released. Your reservation will be subject to cancellation if we're unable to place an authorization hold on your payment method, so it’s important to make sure your payment method is valid and has sufficient funds. If it turns out we can’t authorize the hold for the security deposit amount, you’ll be notified by email and will have 12 hours to try another payment method. If that doesn’t work out, we’ll cancel your reservation and you’ll be refunded. As long as no property damage occurs during your stay, we’ll release the hold on your card after you check out. That will happen up to 14 days after check-out .
Reservations in India
Because Indian credit cards require two-factor authentication, guests residing in India are charged for the full cost of the reservation when submitting a request to book. Because of two-factor authentication, we’re unable to offer a way for you to change your payment method after you book. If the host doesn't accept your request or it expires, you'll be refunded in full. In this case, we’ll initiate the refund immediately, and you’ll get your refund as soon as your bank or payment method provider has processed the refund. Please allow some extra time for the refund to show up in your account. If you don’t see it, we’ve probably already sent it—but some banks and payment providers can take up to 10 days to complete processing.
You'll be charged for each booking request you submit, so if multiple booking requests are confirmed for the same dates, you'll be double-booked, and you won't be eligible for a refund.