Leather couch to relax and enjoy some musicPlenty of room for your belongings to be kept in your room during your stay
Great value in a quiet location away from the city
Great value in a quiet location away from the city
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 shared bath
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 shared bath
You won’t be charged yet

Quiet suburb 7 kilometres from city/Bedroom is VERY small, just enough room for a queen bed/You want nightlife? Then choose a city location/I recommend you hire a car/Pickup+drop-off at airport for cash/Free WIFI/Off-street parking/Share kitchen to cook your food/Fresh linen+ towel set each/Bathroom+toilet shared with host/Washing machine fee per load/Line-drying of clothes, no clothes dryer/I live alone and I'm busy so sometimes dusting/vacuuming is skipped for a day or 2, sorry :-)

The space

The bedroom is cosy. Extra-large luggage can be stored in the main living area outside the bedroom. PLEASE ALSO NOTE that the maximum is 2 adults and 1 child. Children can sleep on a single mattress in the same room as the adult(s). There is just enough room in the bedroom for this.
The room is large enough for 2 adults and a child. The single mattress although very comfortable is on the carpeted floor and is not full-size as the room is not large enough.

The apartment is on the 1st floor of a quiet 4 apartment complex.
The kitchen features an electric cook top and oven, microwave oven, refrigerator and hamper space for storing your food, crockery & cutlery and pots & pans, gas hot water, and a host of other features.

There is free high speed WIFI

Washing machine available for a small fee so ask me about washing your clothes

Guest access

Please park your car in car space "Unit 2" otherwise on the street is fine and its free.
There are 2 flights of stairs to reach my apartment and there is no lift. Your bicycle can be parked downstairs inside the stairwell where it will be safe and out of the weather.

Interaction with guests

I work full time at MONA (Museum of Old and New Art) and as an archivist for the Department of Education.
The other tenants in the complex are quiet and respectful of one another's privacy. The complex is quiet all of the time and we kindly ask that noise is kept to a minimum before 10 am and after 8 pm.

I know the local area and the city of Hobart very well. I can tell you about little-known places to visit both locally and throughout the state of Tasmania.

I am home every night by 5:30pm. Some days I work at home all day. I also work at night at home sometimes. I generally won't interfere with what you are doing but I am more than happy to chat and interact. It is a good idea to ask before using the bathroom to shower or for any other extended period more than a couple of minutes. Please note that I require full access to the bathroom and kitchen when I am getting ready for work between 7am and 9 am.

Other things to note

Please read the HOUSE RULES below and the HOUSE MANUAL once you have made your reservation.

Free parking on premises
Wireless Internet

Extra people No Charge
Weekly Discount: 10%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed, 1 floor mattress

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check in time is flexible
Check out by 9AM
Self check-in with lockbox

*Please note that the airport is 25 kilometres away from the apartment. Also note that the apartment is approximately 7 kilometres from the city. You may wish to hire a car.

This is also my home so thank you for your respect and kindness.

You must also acknowledge
Must climb stairs - Just 2 flights of stairs to the apartment
Pet(s) live on property - I have a cat named Kuschel who lives outside most of the time
No parking on property - You make park in the off-street parking space marked " Unit 2" the other spaces are reserved for other tenants but there is 24/7 free and safe parking
Some spaces are shared - You have your own private room and share kitchen, bathroom and living areas with the host


Safety features
Smoke detector
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher

1 night minimum stay

128 Reviews

Check In
Stuart User Profile
February 2017
Carl is a very welcoming and organized host. It was a pleasure staying here. It is a little north of the city but if you are a walker like me, it is a nice walk into the city (particularly when you reach Elizabeth St)

Julien User Profile
May 2016
It was really a great experience! Good localisation (near Hobart and Mona). Quiet, clean and good bed! Carl was friendly and helpful. Thanks a lot

Laura User Profile
April 2016
Carl is the coolest guy in Tasmania. We were greeted with a very warm welcome and Carl can literally talk to you about anything. Such an open, warm and friendly guy! His cat Kuschel is was also THE BEST. So cuddly! The apartment was spotless, location great for getting to the Mona or the city and the price was amazing. Can't recommend this enough, great stay! Thanks again Carl!

Marie-Hélène User Profile
March 2016
Carl was very welcoming and made us feel at home right away. The room is small but the bed is comfortable. The closet was empty and it was perfect to store our bags in. There's room to hangout outside the bedroom. The bathroom and rest of the apartment were very clean. We did a load of laundry which was appreciated. It is a perfect spot to stay if you have a car visiting Hobart and surroundings. Carl shared some great stories with us. We really liked meeting him. We wished we could have come back and stayed a couple more nights at the end of our Tasmanian adventures but the room was already booked. It's great value for the money.

Yuika User Profile
October 2017
Highly recommended! Carl was very friendly and nice. His place was also good and tidy. I really enjoyed my stay, thank you very much!

Madhan User Profile
October 2017
Carl place was easy to find and it was comfortable to stay. He has put in lot of efforts to minor details such that guests dont have an uncomfortable stay. He provided valuable inputs on the places to visit and the best time to go. Kuschel (the cat) gave us a great company. He waited outside our door to say Good morning and he loves some pats. Totally enjoyed staying at your place, Carl. Hope we meet again soon.

Gilbert User Profile
September 2017
Near to the city. Value for money.

This host has 5 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
West Moonah, AustraliaJoined in October 2015
Carl User ProfileCarl is a superhost.

I have lived in Tasmania most of my life. I have backgrounds in telecommunications engineering and health care. Now I am an archivist, historian, genealogist & family history researcher, museum guide, art consumer, writer and music enthusiast. I also work at MONA - the Museum of Old and New Art - located just minutes from my home.

Languages: English
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighbourhood

Similar listings