Quiet secluded, new house, 5 minutes from town
Quiet secluded, new house, 5 minutes from town
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
You won’t be charged yet

I live 4 miles from the Harrisonburg City limits, 15 minutes from JMU, 5 minutes from EMU. This is a country setting with no close neighbors.
There are great views of the mountains. There is a stream below the house to hike to. Red tail hawks usually nest here from March until June. Lots of bird watching. I have a mushroom farm here, please ask for a tour.
Plenty of outdoor space to run a dog.
I have two rooms for rent on AirBnb and one shared bathroom.
This is a new house. 12/15

The space

This room has a new queen bed with new sheets. It shares a bathroom with another room that is on AirBnB . I live on the other end of the house with my own bathroom . Please ask to use the kitchen. There is a refrigerator for guest use. I have one cat that is mostly outdoor.
There are great views of the mountains. Very quiet. I often see deer and hear owls at night and Red tail hawks nest here from March to June.
There is another room for rent for travelers of more than two. Look at my listings to book that room. This room has it's own heater and it's own window unit AC so you can adjust the temperature to your liking.

Guest access

Shared bathroom but usually the other room is not rented out.
Feel free to use the dining room table and please ask if you want breakfast or to use the kitchen. Lots of outdoor space.

Interaction with guests

I am here from 5:30 PM until 7:30 AM on weekdays and often around here on weekends. Be happy to share ideas on where to eat in town or other attractions to visit.

Other things to note

please ask for directions. I use eco-friendly unscented products. Look for the white mailbox at the intersection of Harpine Hwy and Shaver Mill RD.
I have more detailed directions in the directions section.


Amenities
Internet
Essentials
Heating
Air conditioning

Prices
Weekly Discount: 65%
Weekend Price $51 CAD / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules
No smoking
Check in time is flexible
Check out by 11AM

Please no smoking or fires. Please tell me if you have pets. I'm happy to accommodate travelers that arrive at all times.

You must also acknowledge
Cat(s) live in the house

Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
Fire extinguisher
Lock on bedroom door

Availability
1 night minimum stay

44 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Andrew User Profile
August 2017
Orv's place was clean, he was friendly, and accommodated my late arrival. Thanks a lot!

Colin User Profile
May 2016
Nice new house, quiet, cute and comfortable. Beautiful mountains in the background and a hawk nest

Cess User Profile
September 2017
This was our second time returning in one week. We love his place. secluded and peaceful.

Catherine User Profile
September 2017
It's off the beaten path, but Orv is very flexible with check in times and his door is always unlocked so you don't have to worry about any keys. The extra fridge is a great idea for guest food.

Cess User Profile
September 2017
We loved Orv's place! It was quaint, clean and perfect for our stay. The scene was beautiful as we had a wonderful view of the mountains. We specially loved the tour of his mushroom farm. He's definitely a very friend and accommodating host.

Madeleine User Profile
August 2017
Beautiful place with a nice view and interesting mushroom tour!

Dar User Profile
August 2017
The house is new and comfortable and the setting is quiet. And yet Harrisonburg is a quick 8-10 minute scenic drive down route 42. I was there to take a course at Eastern Mennonite Seminary - an easy drive from the house. Orv is a sensitive and generous host and will interact as much or as little as one desires. His mushroom farm was intriguing; I learned something new! I was there for 8 nights and I'd definitely stay again. Atmosphere was conducive to studying :-)

Linville, Virginia, United StatesJoined in December 2013
Orv User ProfileOrv is a superhost.

I like to travel and have been to Costa Rica, Mexico, Canada and traveled out west. Had a great vacation in London.
I enjoy Mt biking, kayaking, hiking, wildlife photography and growing mushrooms on this 4 acres of hilltop with a great view of the mountains.
I sell mushrooms at the local farmers market

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighbourhood

Similar listings