Minnehaha Earth House
7 guests
3 bedrooms
4 beds
1 bath
7 guests
3 bedrooms
4 beds
1 bath
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
7 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

Welcome to our home. It's a little 40s cottage with a surprising straw bale and clay expansion. Warm in winter & cool in summer and a whole lot of love (and quite a few sheds including a studio for art makers)

The space

There's a lot to describe of this house - from the many rooms and nooks, to the deep bath tub and the fragrant garden... A few key words could be: organic, inviting, restful, comfortable, private, creative, and even productive. Please read on for further elaboration!

Some points about the layout and features of the house as follows:

- There are three unique bedrooms each with comfy queen sized beds. The Straw Bale Bedroom is generous with curving walls and deep window sills – we use it for yoga too.

- Large open plan lounge room/kitchen with a slow combustion stove+oven. High ceilings, good lighting, couches plenty, piano.

- There is no TV but a good stereo. There is no wifi and phone reception is spare. We find it great for some disconnect time.

- One bathroom with separate shower and bath (recommended in late afternoon light). + Laundry.

- Separate toilet (with ventilated skylight and compulsory-inspiring-postcards+quotes).

- The 'Snuggery' – our name for the sunny library/reading nook. We love to share our books but please don't take them home with you.


The garden is quite extensive and designed according to permaculture principles. There is a chicken orchard, compost heaps, citrus, roses, strawberry patches and the list goes on. It is not traditionally ordered but it is rich with plant life.

The kitchen is extremely well equip with gas hob and large electric oven. The bench tops are made with slabs of Australian hardwood and there is a long communal table for just that. There is no dishwasher and a standard fridge/freezer, small by 'modern' standards. What this also means to say is that this is not a weekend party house.

Rather, our Earth House/Home is a great place for doing everything else - from writing, reading, cooking, painting, gardening, hiking and time spent for appreciating the perturbations of the sky and mind. We are ethically* minded people and want to share our home with the like. We hope that you and your friends enjoy this place as much as we have!

*we leave firewood - please burn wisely

*bedrooms are left with clean linen, towels & doonahs

* our cat Sienna lives here too. And there are a bevy of chickens and Duster the discrete Rooster does wake round dawn


…..

While we are new to renting our home on Airbnb, many friends and family have stayed here. See the following for some bona fide impressions from previous guests/earth house lovers.

----
Stay in a unique home, comfortable and accommodating in a quiet location in the Blue Mountains. The house is warm and welcoming with a large comfy seating area/open plan kitchen/dining area opening on to the good sized  and well-planted garden, complete with chooks to feed! . The house is simply but stylishly decorated; there are swirly patterned varnished floors and some unique and well designed features; the owners added on the large seating area using a bale-and-plaster building style, resulting in an organically-shaped rounded room with deep inset windows and a built-in 'snug' corner area . Additional heat when required can be provided by the robust and efficient wood-fire stove in the room. The bedrooms are of a good size and there is a family  bathroom/shower room and more than adequate storage space.  I have to declare an interest as the owners are friends of mine.  Anne

----
An enchanting mountain hideaway. If you're looking for privacy, a beautiful garden and a wood fire this is where you need to stay. You'll want to remember waking up to birdsong and eucalypts in this peaceful part of the world long after you leave. The amazing kitchen is equal parts rustic-charm and homeliness that opens up to a lovingly tended garden that stretches uninterrupted into the Australian bush (with any luck you'll get to met a ring-tailed possum like we did). The yoga studio is a great bonus. I would recommend this to anyone wanting an authentic and supremely comfortable mountain-getaway. - Alice Birrell

----
We have stayed at Jill and Sarah's on many occasions. It is a favourite place to visit and relax for us. It is peaceful and quiet and incredibly beautiful. They have created a garden with beautiful nooks and crannies that suit every mood, whether you're smelling the roses or picking tomatoes.

The house is spacious and comfortable. Jill and Sarah lovingly built a hay bale extension and this care is reflected in a lovely inviting living space. All the beds are comfortable. And they have the best bath.

The combination of the beautiful house and the serenity of the garden make it an ideal spot in the mountains to unwind in comfort. Jo and Lyndall

Guest access

You have the whole house and garden. We have kept the old garage and the front room (that is very cold) for our own storage.

Check out before 11am - Check in after 2pm.

Entrance is via the garden path and the rear french doors into the main living area. There is an extra entrance for the Straw Bale Bedroom. Front door not used (garden is politely overgrown).

Interaction with guests

We will send you a guide to the place but believe that you are here for your own time so think you don't really need to hear from us! We will supply our contact for if you need us.


Amenities
Free parking on premises
Dryer

Prices
Extra people $25 CAD / night after 2 guests
Cleaning Fee $101 CAD
Security Deposit $506 CAD
Weekly Discount: 15%
Weekend Price $197 CAD / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed
Bedroom 2
1 queen bed
Bedroom 3
1 queen bed
Common spaces
1 sofa bed, 1 couch

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for infants (Under 2 years)
Check in is anytime after 2PM
Check out by 11AM

Please watch the walls in the straw bale part of the house. They are delicate.

Love the house as much as we do. We think you will understand once you get here.

No building more sheds (without prior consent)

You must also acknowledge
Other pet(s) live in the house

Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher

Availability
2 nights minimum stay

15 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Therese User Profile
July 2017
A very warm and cozy place to stay. It was -4 degrees the first morning we awoke and the little bird bath outside was frozen solid. Inside was still warm thanks to the great wooden fire in loungeroom

Eartha User Profile
April 2017
This was our second stay at The Earth House and once again we had a lovely time. It is such a cosy place to have a little family get together and Jill is a very generous and lovely host. The house has everything we could possibly need and we hope to be back again soon.

Hel User Profile
October 2016
An accurate description of a lovely snug warm house out of the way from the noise of city life. This isn't just a house, it's a very loved home full of personality and spirituality. We loved the artistic flair - everything from colour selections, floor designs, tiles, rounded walls, postcards etc. It's a very cosy house. Perfect for our absolutely freezing time there! We never felt cold and with plenty of bedding we were warm during the day and at night. Having said that, I think during summer the house would not be quite so good. Small windows, a bit of a darkish main room and a bit too cosy for a summer stay when you really want big windows and summer breezes. BUT... does Katoomba have these days? Hmmm unsure! Be careful of using the fire in winter as wood is supplied for the first night but then you need to pay for the wood after that. We understand that this is due to the expense of wood plus ensuring users care for our world, but I think the price of heating should be included in the rate. Katoomba and surrounds are simply sensational. We were flat out in our few days and returned home absolutely exhausted. If you have spare time, then think about an extra night or two at the Earth House.

Derek User Profile
September 2016
Jill and Sarah were prompt in communicating, and sent me a pdf with all necessary instructions. We loved the Earth House and enjoyed having 3 spacious bedrooms. The wood fire lovely, as well the extensive library and reading nook. Location was great and we enjoyed walking to the local Minni Ha Ha waterfalls.

Dijana User Profile
July 2016
Our stay at Jill and Sarahs was just what we needed. Time away from tv, wifi etc. we spent time doing a puzzle and walking through the tracks nearby. The fire was great. The beds cosy. Our only problem was with ants so keep food well away and in the fridge!

Kirsi User Profile
June 2016
The Earth House was a great place to spend the June long weekend! When we arrived, Josh had lit up the fire in the fireplace and put music on so when we entered the house, it was very cosy. There are plenty of great books in the library / book corner so you can relax with books between hikes. The piano is also a nice addition in case anyone can play the piano. We used herbs from the garden and cooked wonderful meals. It was great to be in a quiet neighbourhood yet only a 5min drive from Katoomba. This is a great place to stay! Josh was very helpful and the house was wonderful.

Rowan User Profile
June 2016
The house was amazing and communication with Josh made the trip very smooth. Would definitely recommend if you're looking for a relaxing weekend in the blue mountains.

Katoomba, AustraliaJoined in September 2013
Jill & Sarah User Profile

I grew up by the sea at Cronulla, now I live in the Blue Mountains, love the community, miss the ocean. Work at an independent school with little children and that's fun. Love to make art, go walking, do yoga and swim in the ocean. My favourite adventure was 1000kms pilgrimage walking on the Camino in France and Spain and can't wait to do it again. .....And now we have done another 1400 kms in 2016. .... next trip will be ........

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

The neighbourhood

Similar listings