2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
You won’t be charged yet

No place like 'Ome... Glamping tents by the sea!

Rugged canvas tents on wooden frames, built on raised decks. Sleep on comfy queen size pillowtop beds with amazing views of the ocean. Its camping... but comfy camping!

*Check-in is from 1:00PM-5:00PM. Late check-ins will be an additional $15.00 upon arrival*


The space


Shaun Majumder invites you to come 'Ome and experience the scenic beauty of Burlington, Green Bay, Newfoundland. Located in Iceberg alley, on the north shore of "The Rock", 'Ome is the perfect way to experience stunning rural NL.

A walk through a wooded trail heading towards the ocean leads you to a cluster of thoughtfully oriented tents, each with its own unique character. Each spacious 14 by 16 'Ome luxury tent, sleeps 1-4 people comfortably, and comes furnished with pillow top queen size beds. The hand made bed frames sit on hardwood floors that extend outside the tent as a front deck for lounging.

Each site has a number of communal bathroom buildings which will house Sun-Mar Excel high capacity waterless toilets. We are proud to provide this environmentally responsible technology for our visitors.

There is a community shower building located behind the town hall.

The 'Ome project is a part of a larger social enterprise spearheaded by Canadian actor/writer/comedian Shaun Majumder. His goal is to bring tourism to his 'Ome-town of Burlington NL by creating social businesses which will fuel a sustainable micro economy for the region. All revenue generated goes back into the project and the community. The overall community project includes luxury camping, cabins, and a central lodge. Plus the construction of a community greenhouse and subsequent “Hummock View Greens”.

And a summer festival called The Gathering

The project was featured on the hit television series "Majumder Manor" which aired in Canada on the W network.

Guest access

****The TENTS are located in a somewhat remote location and requires some walking on UNEVEN GROUND and CURRENTLY IS NOT WHEELCHAIR ACCESSIBLE. Some moderate "hiking" is required. It's a short walk on an newly cut trail to get down to the tents, but every step will be worth it!

Other things to note

We have 2 separate glamping sites:

Site A is a wooded area with easy trail access to the beach and views of the ocean. The FOX, MOOSE, WHALE, SQUID, and COD are closely located on the same site, with ample privacy.

Site B: The ocean front tents are the RABBIT, PUFFIN, EAGLE, and NIPPER. If you are traveling in a group and require 2 tents close to each other, or need direct drive up access to the tents, the NIPPER and EAGLE are ideal.

Pets allowed
Family/kid friendly

Extra people No Charge
Cleaning Fee $15 CAD
Weekly Discount: 20%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed

House Rules
No smoking
No parties or events
Check in time is 1PM - 5PM
Check out by 11AM


1 night minimum stay

64 Reviews

Check In
Britta User Profile
October 2017
Beautiful location. You must take the time to hike Chipps Hill and see the 360 degree view above Burlington. As well pop over to The Brook. Even If you don't plan on swimming, it's a beautiful spot for a picnic or a fire.

Lauren User Profile
September 2017
The puffin tent was the perfect option for a laid back weekend getaway. Brady was very helpful throughout the booking and check in process and gave us all the information we needed for our stay. The tent itself was cozy and well equipped with everything from a coffee maker to a kerosine heater, which was much appreciated on a chilly fall night. There is nothing quite like falling asleep to the sound of lapping waves and waking up to an unobstructed view of the ocean, and the puffin tent provides just that. The picnic area by the water was the perfect place for an evening fire and a morning cook-up. I would recommend the Ome tents to anyone who is looking for a comfortable, relaxing camping experience and look forward to returning and checking out some of the other oceanside tents and the pod.

Liisa User Profile
September 2017
Even though it is a little off the beaten path they were prepared with information for activities and eating facilities in the area. Ruth Ann gave us a look at the pod. It is beautiful! Perfect for someone who wants the luxury of being in the woods with premium accommodation. We stayed in Puffin tent. They are exactly as the pictures showed. They have thought of everything - kerosine heater, coffee maker, flashlight, matches, drinking water and more. We bought a bundle of wood from the office. Rain had been on and off all day. We were well in to our fire and the rain started up again. It poured! We were dry as a bone listening to it pelt down on our tent. The beds were so comfy and warm. We didn't need to use the kerosine heater. We slept so soundly! Thank you for your hospitality and a great experience!

Janet User Profile
September 2017
This ls one of our favourite memories from our trip to Newfoundland. The tent was right near the water's edge with a lovely view just as depicted in the ad (minus the iceberg). We were there on a clear night and the stars were amazing. It was cozy and comfortable even though it was a pretty cold night. We didn't want to run the kerosene heater while we slept so it was chilly in the morning but the bedding was plentiful and we were warm all night. I was surprised to learn that everything was solar powered so there was plenty of lighting and outlets for charging batteries etc. Everything you need for coffee is supplied, along with mugs and drinking glasses. The bathroom was well equipped with hand sanitizer and the obvious necessities. The toilets are composting ones so it was not a bother to use. The comfort station with showers is not a far drive and was open 24/7. Ruth Ann met us at the office and took us to the tent and showed us around. She was very informative and gave us suggestions for where to eat close by. We did a recommended hike up Chip's hill and the view from the top was fabulous. We didn't get a chance to do much else on a one night stop but we thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

Tara User Profile
September 2017
This was our engagement getaway and although we love camping our glamping experience was above and beyond what we expected from our choice of the Puffin Tent. Waking up to a Beautiful Morning facing the scenery we had over looking the ocean and having the sun shine on our deck while we had perked coffee and our breakfast was so relaxing and tranquil. Afternoon hikes and kayaking from our tent was everything and more. Sitting back on the deck watching the sun go down, having a fire and clear sky's looking at the stars was breathtaking. We are going back again and taking an experience with the other tents and pod! Thank you Burlington and Shawn Majumder for an experience we will never forget! Tara and Mike

Chrissy User Profile
September 2017

Robin User Profile
September 2017
I am having a hard time writing this review because of all the positive reviews 'Ome has received. My review, unfortunately, is a mostly negative one. This was supposed to be a relaxing little getaway for my birthday but instead we were surprised by the lack of amenities actually provided. We love to camp and came with the expectations that we would be camping without the hassle of having to put up a tent so we came with food, a camping stove, extra blankets, etc. We were surprised that you had to provide your own water, your own wood (unless you want to pay a whopping 6 bucks for a small bundle), the only chairs to sit on in the tent are plastic Adirondacks (even though there is room for a small table and chairs), and when we ran out of kerosene for the heater, it took 3 separate requests at 'base camp' (you have to drive there) to get more which then took more than 3 hours to receive. This experience was nothing what I thought it would be. I saw pictures of snacks in cute jars on the 'Ome website but all our tent had was coffee grinds with just enough water in a dirty jug for one pot of coffee. It also wasn't the cleanest place but for the price of a nice hotel it certainly should be. Don't be completely discouraged folks: the area is beautiful, the sounds from the loons on the water are soothing, the bed is definitely more comfortable than sleeping on the ground and the people are friendly but we won't be back and we won't be recommending 'Ome to any of our friends or family.
OmeSweetOme User Profile
Response from OmeSweetOme:
Robin, I am so bummed you didn't have the experience you were hoping for. You are absolutely right about those details, and perhaps there were reasons for things getting overlooked. We are still a very young operation working out the kinks and our staff does take pride in making sure your accoms are clean and comfortable. As you can see by the reviews most are very happy with their stay, so what you experienced was an anomaly. We take your feedback very seriously and I am personally grateful you posted it. We will have a chat with our team to make sure these details are addressed, and I can personally guarantee that should you ever want to come on back to Burlington for a getaway that you will not be disappointed. Again our apologies and I would ask you give us a second chance to make an impression. Sincerely Shaun.
September 2017

Thank you so much for your interest in visiting my 'Ometown of Burlington Newfoundland. My name is Shaun Majumder founder of this little social enterprise we like to call 'Ome, and for those of you who haven't seen the documentary series "Majumder Manor" on W Network in Canada, let me give you some background on what it is we are doing. This is not your typical AirBnB!

I've always had a deep love for Newfoundland and Labrador, but more specifically Burlington, Green Bay, on the Baie Verte Peninsula. Despite moving away as a young teenager, I returned 'Ome often. Every chance I'd get, I would always try to bring friends or family to experience the remote rugged beauty of the place.

But without any hotels, Inn's or BnB's in the immediate area, finding space for people to stay was always a problem. So during the summer of 2008, I was 'Ome and I thought "I wonder if there's any land around for sale?" As it turned out, the old three room school house that I went to school as a child, and many in Burlington went to was just sitting there rotting away. I asked around and found out that the lady who owned it was willing to sell. So after a tough negotiation, I purchased the school for a whopping $2700.00!

The question was, what would I do with it? Would I build my own house? Perhaps this could be a solution to my "No where to stay" problems. So I thought "What if we built a 4-5 room house that would be used specifically for come from aways? What if we charged a price for the stay and the money go back into the town?" And so, the seeds for the 'Ome Social Enterprise were planted...

That initial idea has evolved quite a bit since then, and has grown into a larger community initiative involving a Fire Food and Music Festival called The Gathering which happens every summer in late Aug. We built a community Greenhouse which is currently being reimagined as a green event space.

In the future we want to develop a restaurant, art gallery, boat tours, and expand our current accommodations which we call OmeSweetOme.

'OmeSweetOme luxury "glamping" tents are the first steps toward our long term goal of creating a sustainable micro economy for the towns of Burlington, Middle Arm, and Smith's Harbour. Currently we have nine 'Ome Luxury Tents, One 'Ome Pod, and eventually as we grow we will have more tents, Pods and a central lodge with a restaurant. All places for you to call 'Ome when you visit our beautiful corner of the rock.

'Ome is a social enterprise with all of the profits generated to be repurposed through the company back into the community to help grow our tourism infrastructure. The money you spend while 'Ome, goes back into the town through the social business. So not only do you get to have an authentic cultural experience by immersing yourself in Burlington through our 'Ome project, but your dollars are going towards supporting a larger community initiative. It's a win win for everyone!

Because of you, Ome has been able to hire upwards of eleven local people who may have felt compelled to travel away for work. These incredible members of our 'Ome Team are dedicated to giving you the best experience possible so feel free to leave them a little something extra when you check out. Tips are never expected but are indeed welcome and would go directly into the pockets of our hard working team.

As we are still in the pioneer stage of this project, your feedback is encouraged so we can learn and grow and get better as an 'Ome Team. And if you stay with us now, you can honestly say "I was one of the first people to stay at that amazing place in Burlington back when they were just getting started!

Thanks and we will see you in Burlington, Middle Arm and Smith's Harbour!


Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

About the home

When you stay in an Airbnb, you’re staying in someone’s home.

This is OmeSweetOme’s place.
Brady helps host.

The neighbourhood

Similar listings