View from bedroom window seat.This is a lovely spot to sit outside in the morning sunshine.
Great views, quiet, family, pet friendly, wifi.
Hosted by Rob And Judith-Ann
Rob And Judith-Ann is the host.
6 guests
3 bedrooms
5 beds
3 baths
6 guests
3 bedrooms
5 beds
3 baths
You won’t be charged yet

Our cottage is close to great views, family-friendly activities, great walks and cycle routes, historical sites. You’ll love my place because of the views, the outdoors space, the ambiance. My place is good for couples, solo adventurers, families (with kids), and furry friends (pets). The views are fantastic, the walk to Ashgill waterfall is worth the effort as you can walk right behind it. Farther afield is High Force waterfall, Bowless, Killhope, Hadrian's wall, Teesdale and Barnard Castle.

The space

The cottage has a large airy open plan sitting area with kitchen and dining table. There are French doors which open onto a veranda with views over open countryside and the South Tyne valley. Just inside the front door is the boot room as we do seem to have our fair share of mud here, and you will need somewhere to store muddy boots after walking to local waterfalls or to see wildflowers. It also doubles as the dog's bedroom. There is a family bathroom on the ground floor with heated floor for added luxury and a double (or can be twin) bedroom. Upstairs are two more bedrooms and two shower rooms.

Guest access

You will have access to the whole cottage and garden. There are public footpaths at front, side and back of the house, steep path to village where you will find swimming pool, pub and PO general store and a plant nursery.

Arrival is from 3pm and check out time is 10am unless advised otherwise.

Interaction with guests

As we live next door we are on hand if you should need us but can also leave you in seclusion to enjoy your holiday alone.

Other things to note

In the village of Garrigill, 5 mins away, there is a bar serving real ales and home cooked meals and swimming pool at St John's house, play ground, Post Office and general store and Pennine Perrenials.

We have hens and our neighbour has pet sheep and pigs, ducks and hens. In the fields surrounding the house there could be cows or sheep. Dogs have to be kept on a lead other than in specified areas which I have highlighted on a map in the cottage.

There is a lot to do and see. We have people coming back year after year and doing something new every day they are here. Alston has lots of cafes, pubs, shops to choose from.


Amenities
Kitchen
Internet
TV
Essentials

Prices
Extra people $8 CAD / night after 4 guests
Cleaning Fee $76 CAD
Security Deposit $169 CAD
Weekly Discount: 15%
Weekend Price $203 CAD / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 king bed
Bedroom 2
1 double bed
Bedroom 3
2 single beds

House Rules
No smoking
No parties or events
Check in time is 3PM - 9PM
Check out by 10AM

Please have respect for your neighbours and keep your dogs on leads at all times.


Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Safety card
Fire extinguisher

Availability
On Fridays and Saturdays the minimum stay is 3 nights.

No reviews (yet)

This home doesn’t have any reviews. If you stay here, your review will appear here.

Alston, United KingdomJoined in December 2013
Rob And Judith-Ann User Profile

We have been letting our cottage for six years. We have many regulars who stay every year and keep coming back for more so something must be good. It gives us great pleasure when people have had a great experience and we aim to make your holiday meet our expectations of a holiday let. As a family we have travelled widely and enjoy home swapping and learning about other cultures. Our choice for holiday is more usually somewhere as quiet and remote as here, where we live, but we do occasionally have city breaks too. The best bit is coming home to the North Pennines.
When you stay here we can advise on places to eat or drink, our favourite shops, things to do for differing ages and abilities. We can provide age appropriate toys for children or watch your dog while you go for a swim. We can also be as discreet as you like and you will hardly see us: maybe only when we go out to feed the hens.

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

About the home

When you stay in an Airbnb, you’re staying in someone’s home.


This is Rob And Judith-Ann’s place.
Rob And Judith-Ann
Rebecca helps host.
Rebecca

The neighbourhood

Similar listings