Our beloved Californian bungalow.

Private room

2 guests

1 bedroom

1 bed
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

Live like a local, with locals!

We have a bright and light private room in our friendly and creative share house, situated in Melbourne's vibrant inner north.

If you fancy good coffee, small bars, food trucks, live music and vintage shopping, then East Brunswick is for you!

You can safely stroll or cycle the inner north (Brunswick, Fitzroy, Carlton) or take a 15 minute tram to the city, before escaping back to the refuge of your peaceful double room.

The space

About us: We are four creatives (comprised of one Spanish-speaking couple who also happen to be acro-yoga champions!) one permaculture-enthused radio presenter and one office-working printmaker. We're all in our late 20s and 30s and have lived communally with one another for a substantial time, in a warm and mature home. This is definitely not a hostel or rooming house situation!

We live in a lovely old Californian bungalow in the leafy heart of diverse Brunswick. We have a large backyard and thriving edible garden and we are happy to welcome you into our happy, well-functioning share house!

The room: There is a choice of two rooms depending on which one of us is away from home for study, work or travel. Both rooms have double and or queen-sized beds and include wardrobes, dressing tables and desks. We also offer heating and fans to suit the season and clean towels and linen are assured. Hair care / body wash essentials are also provided.

Communal spaces: we have a large backyard that is half paved and half vegetable garden. There is an outdoor setting for use and you are welcome to eat from the garden!

Living space: we have a dining room and a loungeroom area you are welcome to eat in and utilise more generally. We're a no-TV household but we do have WIFI and you're welcome to stream cinema wherever / whenever you wish!

Bathroom: we have a separate shower and bath as well as two toilets (one of which is outside) to ensure that it's never overly crowded when we're all preparing for work, university or generally going out!

Guest access

Guests have access to all spaces.

Interaction with guests

We're a busy bunch and we treat our home like a bit of a refuge on week nights in particular. You'll find that you have the place to yourself a lot during the week days because we all work and study, but we'll always be up for a chat, a beer or a shared meal at home in the evenings.

We are all huge culture and nature lovers and we are all either from Melbourne, or have lived in Melbourne for many years. If you need tips for exploring this city, you are definitely in the right place!

Other things to note

Please note, this is a humble share house and not a mansion or a hotel! We keep the house tidy and we want you to also, but it is not a brand new home and doesn't sparkle when you clean it. It is full of character and warmth and we think you'll feel very comfy in all spaces!


The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1.5
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: Anytime after 1PM
Check Out: 11AM
Room type: Private room

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: 13 / night after the first guest
Cleaning Fee: 10
Weekly Discount: 10%
Weekend Price: 46 / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed

House Rules
No smoking
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check in is anytime after 1PM

Can organise flexible check-in!

Please just do good, respectful share-housing.
Please do dishes immediately after cooking.
Please keep noise to a minimum after 10:30 pm week nights.
Please have a fantastic time in Melbourne!


Cancellations

Moderate

Cancel up to 5 days before your trip and get a full refund. Cancel within 5 days of your trip and the first night is non-refundable, but 50% of the cost for the remaining nights will be refunded.


Safety features
Smoke detector
First aid kit

Availability
1 night minimum stay

11 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Nick User Profile
July 2017
The host canceled this reservation 52 days before arrival. This is an automated posting.

Saaniya User Profile
April 2017
The host canceled this reservation 7 days before arrival. This is an automated posting.

Saaniya User Profile
April 2017
A great accommodation next to public transport. Housemates are great and very helpful people, they helped me with Melbourne directions and would love to stay here again.

Brooke User Profile
March 2017
nice place in a good area, close to transport. beautiful people :) recommend it.

Utano User Profile
March 2017
A big classical shared house with lovely people. Close to a tram stop. The room is spacious. The bed was a bit squeaky. Wifi can be a bit slow when everyone is using. We're allowed to use kitchen but we were not aware of their vegan situations so there was a brief awkward moment. Towels not provided. All the people in the house were friendly and helpful that we enjoyed our stay.

Emi User Profile
March 2017
Even though I couldn't get a chance to meet Mellissa, she always gave me a quick reply, good recommendations. The house is close to hip area, easy to access to the central but also quiet in the night. Lovely old house, cozy atmosphere, other house mates are very friendly and kind! The room was clean, comfortable if communal areas are a bit more tidier it'd be perfect. Thank you for the great local experience :)

Vincy User Profile
January 2017
feeling very comfy,safety and peaceful.Melissa,Emma and other roommates are very friendly n helpful. and we like lovely Jetty.

This host has 24 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Brunswick East, AustraliaJoined in November 2013
Melissa User Profile

I'm a nature-loving, novel-reading, coffee-appreciating, visual-arting, social justice-minded, vegan office worker!

Relaxed and respectful, with a long history of happy share housing.

I look forward to connecting and sharing!

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.
Similar listings