Patio with private hot tub, outdoor dining, gas-fired BBQ grill, and yardEntrance gate to Studio
Tropical Hideaway w/ Pool, Hot Tub
Hosted by Kathleen
Kathleen is the host.
3 guests
Studio
2 beds
1 bath
3 guests
Studio
2 beds
1 bath
You won’t be charged yet

Tropical Hideaway is a charming Hawaii-style studio apartment in a lush garden setting, with ocean views, a salt swimming pool with waterfall, & private hot tub--just three minutes away from fabulous snorkeling, kayaking, diving & dolphin experiences. The Hawaii accommodation tax of 13.42% will need to be paid upon arrival (there is no place to add it in Airbnb's pricing).


Business travel
This listing has essential business travel amenities.

Amenities
Internet
Wheelchair accessible
Kitchen
Wireless Internet

Prices
Extra people $19 CAD / night after 2 guests
Cleaning Fee $129 CAD
Security Deposit $129 CAD
Weekly Discount: 10%
Supports Living Wage Pledge
People who clean this host’s listing are paid a living wage. Learn more
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Common spaces
1 queen bed, 1 sofa bed

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check in time is 3PM - 11PM
Check out by 10AM
Self check-in with smart lock

Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher

Availability
3 nights minimum stay

21 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Victor User Profile
December 2013
Tropical Hideaway is perfect for anyone who loves nature. We loved the screened-in style studio because we could enjoy the warm Hawaiian air 24 hours a day. The hot tub, outdoor shower, and freshly-picked fruit were nice assets. Kathleen was kind and generous and a great local re…

Britt User Profile
July 2017
We had a great stay at the Tropical Hideaway. Very cozy and private spot surrounded by nature. Also very clean and had everything we needed to enjoy the beaches, snorkeling, etc. Kathleen was a great host - available if there were any issues (which there weren't), but gave us ou…

Mary User Profile
April 2017
The Hideaway was a gem. It's equipped with anything you might need and many thoughtful touches. It was a great spot from which to explore Big Island and just minutes away from fabulous snorkeling.

Mehgan User Profile
January 2017
Kathy was an amazing, attentive host that gave us privacy, yet she was available if we needed anything. The space was incredible! Clean, bright, airy and cozy. Kathy lives above you, but she stays on the other side of her house as to not disturb you with footsteps above. The grou…

Andrew User Profile
November 2016
Great little get away in the jungle! Only few minutes from shops and around 25 minutes to Kona town. Perfect to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life and escape to the country. Amazing snorkelling inly 5 minutes drive away, we even saw some turtles! Hot tube was a God …

Will User Profile
September 2016
We were looking forward to a non-conventional rustic hideaway for a few days but we just couldn't get past the bug situation. The mosquitos were relentless so we couldn't use the outdoor patio area and we literally had to jog from the shower to the door to avoid getting bit. We…
Kathleen User Profile
Response from Kathleen:
Will, I am very sorry that you were not happy with your experience at Tropical Hideaway. Since I was away during your visit, I spoke with Ivy, the resident gardener, who greeted you and was there to make sure that your stay was enjoyable. She told you to let her know if anything needed attention, and when she checked in with you, you said that everything was fine. When I showed her your review, she mentioned that you hadn’t lit the citronella candles or the citronella torch, which would have helped dispel mosquitoes in the patio and shower area. September is usually our hottest and rainiest month, which means that there are more insects than usual. There is a black light mosquito zapper just above the patio, and we have traps on the property to reduce breeding of mosquitoes. Other guests have not had this problem, so maybe you both are what we call “mosquito attractors.” Using the citronella candles, the mosquito coils, the citronella torch and the fans would have helped a lot. The tropics has insects, and especially in a rural area filled with gardens and vegetation. Ivy and the cleaner both said that there were food crumbs all over and grease in the pans and on the dishes when you left. That will definitely attract insects, so keeping the place clean also would have reduced any insects inside.
September 2016

Emilia User Profile
September 2016
We loved staying at the Tropical Hideaway, great location away from all the hustle and bustle but easily accessible to everything. Great beach near by and friendly hosts. The whole experience was very relaxing and we would 100% go back.

Honaunau-Napoopoo, Hawaii, United StatesJoined in August 2013
Kathleen User Profile
I've had a love affair with Hawaii since I first lived on Maui in the '60s. I am thrilled to be able to offer a vacation rental in the Captain Cook/Honaunau area, which is my favorite place to live. I love to swim every morning, often with dolphins. My passion is photography, and…
Languages: English, Español
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

About the home

When you stay in an Airbnb, you’re staying in someone’s home.


This is Kathleen’s place.
Kathleen
Ivy helps host.
Ivy

The neighbourhood

Similar listings