The boat house.Extra storage at eat-in bar.
Camp Mary Anne - The Boat House
Hosted by Camp Mary Anne
Camp Mary Anne is the host.Camp Mary Anne is a superhost.
4 guests
1 bedroom
2 beds
1.5 baths
4 guests
1 bedroom
2 beds
1.5 baths
You won’t be charged yet

Stunning, brand new, and fully furnished you will be hard-pressed to find anything of this caliber on Manitoulin Island. The boat house features vaulted ceilings and high end amenities. You literally can't get you any closer to the water - you're overhanging it! Worth Noting: The wifi isn't super strong here. The signal is better up by the loft. So, there is Internet, but don't depend on it while you're in the Boathouse.

The space

We completed the build of this cabin in Sept 2016. It is a perfect get away for a couple and has everything you'd want to escape and relax. We were able to build on the footprint of the old existing boat house, but otherwise you would not be able to build a new place this close to the water anymore.

You will find peace here. It's a private northern sanctuary you'd share with seven other cabins. We have family whom have been coming back for 30 years. It's almost like another home for them where they've raised their kids. You can find the perfect getaway here. The cabin itself is private, fully stocked with all you'd need for cooking, or staying in and relaxing in the bath (the bath is nothing special itself, but it exists).

Guest access

We have boat rentals in case you want to go fishing. You'll need to bring your own fishing gear and you'll need a boating license to use the motorized boats.

Here's what we have on hand:
- 16 ' aluminum boats (15 h.p. motors) $250/week
- 14 ' aluminum boats (6 h.p. motors) $250/week
- Kayaks Free - first come, first serve

Swimming is fun off the dock. I'd recommend bringing water socks. The water's edge is quite rocky.

Interaction with guests

Peter and Marsha Moggy are your main point of contact on the property. They are a fun and down-to-earth couple who know the Island inside and out. They'll be able to answer all of your questions.

Other things to note

While we have Internet, it's worth noting that Camp Mary Anne is far enough off the grid that the access is limited. It's quite expensive to bring Internet here as it's all off a tower, so steaming video isn't an option. The signal is stronger up by the Loft. You can download emails periodically, but don't depend on the signal in the cabin.

As I mentioned, this is on a private property that has 7 other cabins, so there will be other people vacationing on the premises, but there's enough space that you may only cross paths once in awhile.


Amenities
Kitchen
Essentials
Heating
Washer

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 king bed
Common spaces
1 sofa bed

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check in time is 1PM - 3PM
Check out by 9AM

While we're open to events, you'll need to confirm with us in advance as it may affect other guests staying on the property whom are looking to get away.


Cancellations

14 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Anna User Profile
September 2017
We loved our stay at Camp Mary Anne's Boathouse! It was absolutely lovely being on the water and waking to a beautiful view every day. The place is very conveniently located in central Manitoulin which made exploring the island very easy. We definitely would recommend it to friends and would stay again if we make another visit to the island. The boathouse was spotless and comfortably furnished. Great for taking a time out from the busy-life of the city. Thanks!!

Erika User Profile
September 2017
Our stay at the Boathouse was absolutely wonderful. The interior is beautiful with very nice furnishings. Views were stunning as well. Communication with hosts was very easy and timely, making it quite easy to organize our stay and get any additional information as needed. The only small complaint I have is that there really wasn't any internet connection. We were told ahead of time that internet is very limited, which is not a problem as we were looking to unplug for a bit, but throughout our stay I wasn't able to connect at all to the WiFi, even for checking emails, etc. It wasn't too bothersome to us, but it is advertised as having WiFi available, so just be aware it's very limited and I suppose at times unavailable. If you're looking for a quaint getaway, this is a great choice. Definitely would recommend!
Camp Mary Anne User ProfileCamp Mary Anne is a superhost.
Response from Camp Mary Anne:
Hi Erika! Thanks again for staying with us. I'm so glad you were able to a nice getaway here at Camp Mary Anne. I'm sorry you weren't able to get on the Internet - it's certainly a work in progress and one that is out of our control, unfortunately. The infrastructure for high-speed Internet doesn't exist on that part of the Island. The technology we employ is wireless, the same technology as on your phones. That being said, we are happy to let people use it for important communication. I'm not sure why you weren't able to get on the wireless. That's something we'll look into further.
September 2017

Mike User Profile
September 2017
Absolutely gorgeous! The pictures do not do it justice it's even better! The views and peaceful quietness is amazing, we will be back again for sure. Peter the host was very helpful with anything we needed.

Dale User Profile
August 2017
This place was amazing!!! Great value and location. The place is even way nicer in person than what was shown in the pictures. Its a very nice quiet relaxing place to unplug and get away from the business of life. Shelley and Peter were great to work with and very quick to respond. We plan to come back again next summer.

Alex User Profile
August 2017
Well built boathouse, well furnished, great features such as a sauna, laundry, kayaks etc. on a very quiet, nice lake. Very close to a town with everything you need, also several nice beaches within 20 minute drives. If you are interested in a quiet week on a nice lake with a great view, I would reccomend staying here for sure.

Maria User Profile
July 2017
Loved the Boat house! It is a 5+ star cottage with breathtaking views. Everything about the house is absolutely amazing. It looks better than in the pictures and as Shelley promised they brought in beautiful furniture to compliment the house. We would definitely come back.

Zora User Profile
July 2017
Any families or people who want to experience the beauty of Ontario summer cottage life really need to consider a week or more at Camp Mary Anne. It is truly beautiful. A very comfortable cottage for a family of four, and lots to do (fishing, kayaking, boating, swimming, etc).

Toronto, CanadaJoined in January 2017
Camp Mary Anne User ProfileCamp Mary Anne is a superhost.
I grew up in Sudbury and I currently live in Toronto as a Nutritional Coach. My family owns the lodge and we've been putting a lot of love into it over the years. You'd probably see more of Peter, our property manager when you're here, but I'm no stranger to Airbnb. I run two …
Languages: English, Español, Français
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

The neighbourhood

Similar listings