Lovely double room private bathroom
Hosted by Kate
Kate is the host.
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
You won’t be charged yet

Sunny, cosy double room with a private bathroom in trendy Stoke Newington! 2mins walk from shops, The Brownswood Tavern (a great English pub) and beautiful Clissold Park. 10/20 min walk to great restaurants, galleries, pubs. 10mins to Manor House and Finsbury Park overground stations, then 15mins to city centre.

The space

Backing on to a reservoir and nature reserve, the room is very quiet, the perfect place to get a great night's sleep! We have a 100ft garden that you can make the most of when it's not too cold. We have provided a toaster and kettle but you can use the open plan kitchen whenever you want! We are in the perfect location to see the city, buses straight to Angel, Tottenham Court Rd, London Bridge, Waterloo, Oxford Circus, Piccadilly Circus etc etc - but also it's a quiet neighbourhood, a chance to take a break from the busyness of London. We are very near the Piccadilly and Victoria underground lines, which will take you to all the major sites.

Stoke Newington has also recently boomed and there are lots of exciting new restaurants, cafes and bars all just a 10min walk away on Stoke Newington Church st. Then a little further there's Dalston and Shoreditch, areas with lots of small galleries, restaurants clubs and bars. We also have fast Wifi that you can use! We have a 7month old Lurcher - he's friendly and relaxed.

Guest access

We will give you keys so you can feel free to come and go as you want, the room is on the first floor, so straight up one flight of stairs. You can come back as late as you like. Just try and keep as quiet as possible as my husband and I work early mornings.

Interaction with guests

We will provide you with a list of our recommendations...
There are the best Turkish, Vietnamese, Indian and Japanese, restaurants all with in half an hour of our home and lots of great pubs, bars and clubs. First Thursdays (where all the small galleries have openings) is also great and spread across Hackney, the main part being only a short bus ride from us. Our son and daughter who are in their 20's are often about and will happily recommend the best nightlife spots in London!


Amenities
Internet
Wireless Internet
Kitchen
TV

Prices
Extra people No Charge
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Cancellations

Availability
2 nights minimum stay

62 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Joanna User Profile
May 2015
A super set-up that is even nicer in real life than the photos. The room is bright and clean and the bed is warm and comfortable. The shower was hot with good water pressure. Kate was flexible as to when we arrived and left; she even was available when I had to come back and get a piece of cheese that I had left in the fridge! What more could you want? It was terrific and I would definitely recommend booking.
Kate User Profile
Response from Kate:
Joanna and her daughter were perfect guests and it was great to have them to stay. Thank you Joanna for the great review - I would have written a very highly recommended one too - I had good intentions but I missed the two week cut off date. Very best wishes to you and your family. Kate
May 2015

Charlotte User Profile
July 2014
Kate and her family were very welcoming. I had made the booking on short notice and she was great in that she prepared the room on short notice. The double room is larger than the photo, and there is a small kitchenette, sink, toaster, kettle, and microwave in the cupboard. The shower worked well and the toilet closet was located just outside the room. The room set-up is self-sufficient which you can lock from the inside. There is a big window that looks out into the back garden. I loved that window. I did not feel crowded in the room at all. The bed was comfortable to me. The house is non-smoking, so I appreciated the smoke-free environment. The room is located in Hackney which is a working class neighbourhood with a future toward gentrification. However, now, you experience a non-touristy London which I enjoyed. I enjoyed being in a neighbourhood where people lived and worked. There is very good public transport in walking distance from the room. It was easy going to and from London. I did not go out at night, so I can't give an opinion about public transport at night. However there is a 341 bus that runs 24/7 that stops close to the host's house. Kate is wonderful in that she has knowledge about what buses and trains to take. For the more sporty people, there is a climbing wall place about a five minute walk from the room where you can see many of Hackney's climbers. (It looked like a bunch of people from Berkeley, California speaking with English accents!) A short bus ride away is the more upscale Islington, where you can find banks, shops, and places to eat. All in all, I found what I was looking for and I would book the room again.

Grace User Profile
January 2017
Kate is very nice and warm-hearted. Location is quiet but not far away from transportations. Nice room.

Alberto User Profile
November 2016
Great private room. Clean and comfortable

Sue User ProfileSue is a superhost.
November 2016
Lovely comfy bed and cosy room. Everything we needed. Perfect location, just short walk to our daughters' flat. Thanks for hosting us.

Paul User Profile
September 2016
Great location and fantastic hospitality!

Diana User Profile
September 2016
The area was perfect, lovely and quiet and easy walking distance of Clissold Park and the shops, restaurants and bars of Stoke Newington. We would certainly stay there again when we visit our son who lives in "Stokie". The house is lovely, full of quirky things and art work which we really appreciated. Kate was very kind and helpful and we especially appreciated being offered fresh milk for our tea in the morning. It is things like that which make all the difference.

Joined in October 2013
Kate User Profile

My husband and I are both English and have been living in London, which we love, for many years. He is a furniture designer and maker and I teach Pilates, write and paint. We have two children in their twenties and a young lurcher!

Response rate: 0%
Response time: a few days or more

The neighbourhood

Similar listings