Bedroom with queen size bed and closetStudy with an inflatable queen size bed.
Spacious Bungalow Garden Unit

Entire home/apt

6 guests

1 bedroom

3 beds
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
6 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

Our garden unit is located in the quaint historic bungalow district of Portage Park, close to grocery stores, restaurants, and three beautiful parks. We are within walking distance of public transportation and easy to find from the highway. Ideal for families or groups, we have extra amenities for young children. The queen bed is brand new and very comfortable. Flat screen tv with apple tv, free WiFi, extra strollers and kids' toys.

The space

This is a finished garden-level basement with a large living area, one bedroom, a full bathroom with a stand-up shower (no tub), and a study with a convertible couch. The living room, bedroom and study have been recently renovated but the kitchen is vintage--it has totally functional 1990s-era appliances but the room and sink are still 1970s style.

Guest access

Guests have access to the entire garden in-law unit. The bedroom and bathroom are totally private. The living area and kitchen are all yours but if you stay more than 3 days we may need arrange a convenient time to pass through to reach our laundry room. The back yard cement patio area is also available to guests.

The entrance to the unit is at the back of the house, 5 steps down.

Interaction with guests

We are happy to help guests anytime but will try to remain out of your way unless you need us. We live upstairs so we are easily reached and usually around.

Other things to note

Beds: We can comfortably accommodate 3 adults plus 2-3 small children. If you don't mind a blow-up bed and couch, we can host a maximum of 6 adults plus or minus 2 little kids. The bedroom has a very comfortable queen bed for two. The daybed in the study sleeps one comfortably and two more could stay in the living room on our queen-sized blow-up mattress. We also have a pack-n-play crib, an inflatable toddler mattress, and a newborn co-sleeping bed available upon request.

Kitchen: Refrigerator/freezer with essentials, stove, teapot, coffee maker, table and chairs, and a vintage sink. Dishes are provided, plus breakfast with coffee and cream, snacks, and drinks. This kitchen is not fancy so it may not be a place to cook a big meal. Use it if you like, though.

Our laundry room is available for your light use.

License or registration number

R17000013813
Learn about this number

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed
Common spaces
1 sofa bed, 1 couch, 1 floor mattress, 1 toddler bed, 1 crib

The space
Bathrooms: 1
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 3
Check In: Anytime after 3PM
Check Out: 11AM
Pet Owner: Cat(s)
Room type: Entire home/apt
Self check-in: Lockbox

Amenities
Family/kid friendly
Internet
Wireless Internet
Kitchen

Prices
Extra people $6 CAD / night after 2 guests
Cleaning Fee $38 CAD
Security Deposit $318 CAD
Weekly Discount: 20%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn More

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check in is anytime after 3PM

Please treat this space with care.
No smoking on the property.
No big parties.
If you use the laundry room, please leave our stored items untouched and use only the supplies that you need.
Guests are welcome to use the back patio by the sandbox but the wooden deck area is not available.

You must also acknowledge
Must climb stairs - 5 steps down to the unit.
Potential for noise - We have young children who live upstairs, so they make make some noise during the day.
Pet(s) live on property - We have 2 cats in the house upstairs.
No parking on property - Free street parking is available out front.

Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher

Availability
1 night minimum stay

16 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Mitchell User Profile
September 2017
Located in beautiful portAge park great bars and restaurants just in this neighborhood loved the private enterence and all the little goodies provided by the host 15-20 dollars to downtown if you lyft

Liz User Profile
August 2017
Gia was a great host. She communicated well and it was clean and she greated us when we arrived. I recommend her highly.

Jason User Profile
August 2017
The place was fantastic and exactly as advertised. It was the little things that made the experience so lovely. It was quiet (hopefully we were too) and easy to find. Would highly recommend!!!

Erika User Profile
August 2017
Clean and comfortable place in a beautiful neighborhood! Gia was very welcoming, easy check in and was in contact throughout our stay to make sure every thing was okay! There were three of us staying at Gia's place and it was quite comefortable. Great place to call home for our visit! Fairly easy to get around using public transit. Takes 45mins to an hour to get downtown, but we also had a car for when we couldn't (or were to lazy) to take transit. Overall excellent stay!

Tiffany User Profile
July 2017
Everything went smoothly and was exactly as mentioned in the listing. Very clean, comfortable, and had anything that you could ever need. The Keurig, snacks, and breakfast items were a nice touch as well as any extra toiletries in case you forgot. Gia and her husband were great hosts and were easy to get in touch with. Would recommend to others who need to stay in the area!

Stephen User Profile
July 2017
Gia was incredibly accommodating. She covered everything about her place and was very helpful. The place is clean and I had no problem cooking for my family. It is a very good place for a family stay and parking was a breeze. An all around excellent place.

Jennifer User Profile
July 2017
Gia was a friendly and accommodating host. She went out of her way to provide toys for my twin sons in addition to providing a spacious space that was fully stocked, pleasant, clean, and comfortable. We will stay here again. Thank you, Gia, for a great place to stay!

Chicago, Illinois, United StatesJoined in March 2017
Gia User ProfileGia is a superhost.
Languages: English, Español
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighbourhood

Similar listings