Double futon with memory foam topper Living room
Private double room in cosy home, near City Centre
Private double room in cosy home, near City Centre
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 shared bath
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 shared bath
You won’t be charged yet

Comfortable double room within walking distance of the centre of York. Located just a 15-20 minute walk to both the train station and the city centre and 10 minutes to the National Railway Museum, this is an ideal base to explore York.

The house has free on-street parking.

The space

This recently redecorated room contains a comfy double futon bed with memory foam topper, tea and coffee making facilities, a small workspace and clothes storage.

Guest access

Guests have access to the shared downstairs bathroom and use of the kitchen (just give us a heads up if you’re planning on cooking). Also our small yard has a table and chairs and is a nice relaxing place to sit in good weather.

Interaction with guests

Whilst we are both friendly and enjoy meeting new people, we also take guests' privacy seriously. If guests would like to cook and eat at home, give us some warning and we will do our best to give you space to relax and enjoy the kitchen and dining room in peace.

We both love eating out and enjoying everything the city has to offer. If you need any recommendations or help planning your trip we’d be very happy to help.

Other things to note

We have a cat, and although she is kept out of the guest room at all times, we wouldn’t recommend this property if you’re allergic ( or just don't like cats!).

The stairs are also quite narrow and steep (typical with York terrace houses) and the bathroom is downstairs, which may cause problems for those with mobility issues. Also please note that the bed is low to the floor.


Amenities
Kitchen
Wireless Internet
Essentials
TV

Prices
Extra people $8 CAD / night after the first guest
Cleaning Fee $12 CAD
Weekly Discount: 10%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 double bed

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check in time is 3PM - 10PM
Check out by 12PM (noon)

- We ask that guests be mindful of our neighbours as this is a terraced property
- Please remove shoes if dirty or wet
- Ensure all windows are shut and external doors are locked when leaving the property unattended

You must also acknowledge
Must climb stairs - One flight of stairs to bedroom which is narrow and fairly steep
Potential for noise - Generally the area is quiet but this is a mid-terrace house so noise is possible. The boiler is in the guest room & some noise when water's running
Pet(s) live on property - One inquisitive cat. She's not one to sit on your knee but she'll say hello to friendly guests. She is kept out of the guest room at all times.
Some spaces are shared - Shared living/dining room, bathroom, kitchen and rear yard.

Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Safety card
Fire extinguisher

Availability
1 night minimum stay

12 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Maryjane User Profile
October 2017
Made very welcomed and was like home from home

Daniel User Profile
October 2017
Great room near the city centre. Room was comfortable, clean, and had a lovely coffee / tea bar for use by guests.

Sue User Profile
October 2017
Nice host Nice house and clean room , Lovely kitty. If I have chance to go to York, Sophie's house is my best choose!

Joe User Profile
October 2017
Sophie and Ian were great hosts! The apartment was very cozy and comfortable, and they gave us great recommendations for York. They provided everything we needed for a good stay including some extra bonuses such as some scrumptious eats for breakfast (some of it grown in their own garden!). The apartment is in a quiet residential neighborhood about 15-20 minute walk to the city walls, but it is a very pleasant walk along the river. There is also a large park nearby which is suitable for a good walk or run. Thanks for the hospitality!

Jim User Profile
October 2017
Sophie and Ian are the consummate host, sharing their home graciously. They have everything well organized for their guest, and the room was clean and comfortable. The bed is a futon on a low platform which we found very comfortable. Though they were both working they accommodated our arrival at 3pm by having friend meet us and orient us to the house. York is a lovely city and if we return we hope we are lucky enough to stay with Sophie and Ian again!

Zoë User Profile
October 2017
Sophie and Ian are very nice hosts. The room is nice and clean and they have a stylish apartment which is just a 15 minute walk along the river to the city centre of York. The communication before our arrival was great and it was nice being able to also use the living room and kitchen. It was our first time staying in the north of England and we enjoyed to explore York, the North York Moors and Whitby. In our opinion it's one of the most beautiful sides in the UK. Ian also recommended some places in York and around like a food festival, Whitby and the railway museum. We would love to come back to York and meet Ian and Sophie again.

Mike User Profile
September 2017
A warm welcome from lovely hosts. A very comfortable room in a nice house. A nice breakfast. The location is 1.5 miles from the town centre, a pleasant walk by the river or 5 minutes in a taxi. A great Airbnb experience.

York, United KingdomJoined in August 2012
Sophie User Profile

I've been travelling with Airbnb for years and I love seeing new places and meeting new people.

Me and my partner have just started hosting in our home in York. I am born and bred here - I love this city and I know it inside out, so I'm excited to help visitors explore and make the most of their time here.

As both a guest and a host I pride myself on being clean, considerate and friendly. I really enjoy getting to know new people from across the world, but I also cherish time alone and respect other people's privacy.

We are both obsessed with cooking, growing and eating great food, and most of our trips away are pretty much dominated by trying to track down the best things to eat.

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

About the home

When you stay in an Airbnb, you’re staying in someone’s home.


This is Sophie’s place.
Sophie
Ian helps host.
Ian

The neighbourhood

Similar listings