Skip to content
The double bedroom for guests on the top floor (3 storey house)Bathroom for exclusive use on first floor
Double room between the Dales and the Lakes
Double room between the Dales and the Lakes
2 guests
Studio
1 bed
2 baths
2 guests
Studio
1 bed
2 baths
You won’t be charged yet

The room is on the top floor. There are 2 other bedrooms on that floor - one usually in use. Drawers and hanging space available. A louvre window can be opened. Bedding and towels provided. A bathroom for use of guests is on the floor below. The kitchen is on the ground floor with French windows on to the yard. It is old fashioned with a stone floor but has the usual facilities. Decor is basic.

The space

We live in a 3 storey terraced Victorian House which isn't in immaculate condition but is homely and has character.

Guest access

Sedbergh is only 5 miles from the M6 motorway off junction 36 and is amidst the Howgill Hills and by the River Rawthey. It is an area attractive to walkers. It offers a gateway to the Yorkshire Dales and is not far from the Lake District either. It is a small market town (market days are Wednesdays). There are several cafes and 2 pubs plus a fish and chip shop, a Chinese takeaway and Indian restaurant, all serving good food, plus other shops including a greengrocer's, grocer's, bakery, sandwich shop, chemist's, sweet shop, craft shops and book shops, a post office and library and cash points plus a Spar open 8 till 10, a doctor's and a dentist, 3 churches and a historic Quaker Meeting House on the outskirts. It is about 10 miles from Kendal where there is a Leisure Centre and the Brewery Arts Centre with a varied programme of films, theatre and other entertainment plus a variety of shops and eating places, and 25 miles from Lake Windermere.

Interaction with guests

We aim to be friendly but work commitments mean we are quite busy in the week but this allows for guests to have quite a lot of privacy.

Other things to note

Due to work in the week it helps if guests don't use the kitchen and shower between 7 and 8.30 although there can be flexibility with this if required.

Amenities
Wireless Internet
Kitchen
Essentials
Washer
Prices
Extra people No Charge
Weekly Discount: 11%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check-in is anytime after 3PM
Cancellations
Availability
1 night minimum stay

15 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Nicola User Profile
August 2017
We had a great stay at Sally's and did a nice walk down to the river. The bed was comfy and she let us use the kitchen to cook dinner, and there were even eggs for breakfast! Would definitely return. Thanks for having us!

Hazel User Profile
August 2017
Everything I needed for a comfy stay over in a beautiful area

Dena User Profile
August 2017
Lovely lady was uber @ everything bless her will be back soon

Paul + Lesley User Profile
August 2017
A friendly welcoming host, Sally met me with a cup of tea on arrival and was happy to offer suggestions for eating out. I had a comfortable nights sleep "under the sky" as was surprised at how quiet it was on a residential street a couple of minutes walk from the main street. Parking wasn't a problem and left in the morning after breakfasting on orange juice, cereal, toast, tea and coffee. I had space to entertain myself in the upstairs lounge and sit and chat with Sally when she wasn't otherwise occupied. I look forward to returning when next in the area. Thank you Sally.

Jack User Profile
August 2017
Our second time at Sally's and we hope that we can go back again very soon. Sally is a lovely, friendly host who makes sure that we have a great welcome. Really made us feel at home amongst her family.

Paul User Profile
August 2017
The host canceled this reservation 41 days before arrival. This is an automated posting.

Mohena User Profile
August 2017
Sally's place is in a quiet small town, but not too difficult to reach with GPS. The room is small and the house is messy, but overall not too bad. Sally is very friendly and welcoming and gave us a rich breakfast.

England, United KingdomJoined in April 2017
Sally User Profile

I like people, reading, theatre, art and walking and cycling. I am an English teacher, head of year and assistant head in one of the smallest state secondary schools in the country and have enjoyed working there for 28 years. I have 4 fantastic children between 13 and 28, one who now teaches in Barcelona. I am a Quaker and have been for 35 years and am committed to peace, equality and social justice. I enjoy quiet, easily occupy myself and try to be sensitive to others.

The neighbourhood

Similar listings