Bedroom with Full Size bed and new mattress. Lights above the bed for reading.
Bright, cozy, artistic N. Portland Home.
Bright, cozy, artistic N. Portland Home.

Private room

2 guests

1 bedroom

1 bed
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

I have a typical Portland, Oregon house style but newer. The University of Portland is a short drive away. There is never any problem with parking on the street. Downstairs is very light and open with bamboo floors, a gas fireplace, stove, 1/2 bath, kitchen and deck out back. Upstairs (where your private bedroom and bathroom are), is at the opposite end of the hallway from my room/bathroom/office. NO PETS and NO-CIGARETTE SMOKERS.

The space

Great for a single person or a couple. There are two sets of stairs. You can use the kitchen with a gas stove, dishwasher and refrigerator. I have a small kitchen table for one or two people. I have wi-fi throughout the house. I do not cook meals for guests but you are welcome to use my kitchen and cook/clean for your own meals. There is an organic market near that sells tasty food already prepared and lots of other shopping places nearby.

Guest access

Your bedroom, bathroom, washer/dryer, kitchen and 1/2 bath and living room downstairs. I do have a TV downstairs with DirectTV that you could watch if you like. There is a nice deck outside with table and chairs. My house is your house and I want you to feel comfortable here!

I am flexible about check-in (9am to 11 pm) and check-out time is 12:00 noon. I'm happy to have you check in your luggage though so you don't have to lug that around until it is time to check in. If no one is checking in after you, I'm flexible about your check out time.

Interaction with guests

I'm independent and have no issue with guests being that way also. If we hit it off, I'm open to more interaction, sharing a meal, or not. I will not be hurt if you want to just be independent.

Other things to note

If you like coffee, you might bring your own since there is no cafe within close walking distance. Due to having a small part Cairn Terrier rescue dog, Chloe, who is nervous around other animals I do not allow other pets here. She is very sweet and a bit timid. Protective and barks a bit to let you know whose boss...hahaha.


The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1.5
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: 12PM (noon) - 11PM
Check Out: 12PM (noon)
Pet Owner: Dog(s)
Room type: Private room
Self check-in: Host greets you

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: No Charge
Cleaning Fee: 13
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 double bed

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check in time is 12PM (noon) - 11PM

No parties, smokers, drugs, vaping, and no other people can stay here. No drinking or eating in bed. Soap and towels are provided. You'll have a blow dryer so you can leave yours at home! Washer/Dryer available. Two-Day Minimum Booking. I have to let you in the house, then give you a key, so please communicate with me on your arrival day and let me know when you will arrive. Thanks!

Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit

Availability
Two night minimum

You must also acknowledge
Must climb stairs - Two sets of stairs.
Pet(s) live on property - I have a little dog Chloe who was a rescue. She barks a bit but after she gets used to you, she will warm right up. She would not hurt a fly!
Some spaces are shared - Kitchen, Livingroom, Outside Deck.
Amenity limitations - If using kitchen, pls clean up after yourself.

Cancellations

Strict

Cancel up to 7 days before your trip and get a 50% refund. Cancel within 7 days of your trip and the reservation is non-refundable.


Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit

Availability
2 nights minimum stay

18 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Martin User Profile
August 2017
Guest room has excellent ventilation and feels very cozy and clean. Wonderful fluffy down pillows. Host is very accommodating and easy to talk to and shoot ideas with. Location has quaint shops along the main road. I visited the Willamettes End coffee shop for my morning sip after a brisk 5 minute trot. Bars and dispensaries available within 1 mile, with "certain items" just around the corner. Excellent experiences
Kate User Profile
Response from Kate:
My pleasure Martin. You are a nice young man. Thanks for the beautiful friendship flowers and your help.
August 2017

Josh User Profile
August 2017
This is the perfect house for a great portland experience and Kate is a fantastic host!

Nicole User Profile
August 2017
Kate was very kind and welcoming. Her home is beautiful and close to all major roads and areas.

Carmela User Profile
July 2017
I stayed at Kate's place with my boyfriend this past weekend and it was great! Kate made sure to communicate our check-in and check-out with me very thoroughly. She greeted us warmly at the door and gave us a helpful tour of her beautiful home. Our bedroom and bathroom were very well-kept and clean. The house is also located a convenient distance from Downtown Portland (about a 15 minute drive). Not only was her home wonderful, but Kate and her dog Chloe were as well. She invited us to eat dinner in her stylish backyard garden and even offered me to use a vase when I came back home with market flowers. Thanks for being a great host, Kate! You helped Thomas and I have an awesome first experience with airbnb.
Kate User Profile
Response from Kate:
That is such a nice review Carmela! I kind of felt guilty that I couldn't do more but you all are independent and did well in making your own plans! I'm so glad you had a good time and did as much as you could in that short amount of time. It's such a cool city. You both were wonderful to me and to Chloe! Thank you. All the best to you both!
July 2017

Courtney User Profile
July 2017
This home was incredibly perfect for my first trip to Portland! Kate provided all kinds of information about the area and was available anytime I needed something. Having your own private bedroom, bathroom, and wing of the house made the whole experience comfortable. If I go back to Portland I will check to see if Kate's room is available first and I would recommend it to any friends or family.

Anyssia User Profile
July 2017
Kate was amazing. Shared with us great locations to visit and her backyard and whole house was so welcoming we loved being able to come back to her house and chill after a day out and about on the town
Kate User Profile
Response from Kate:
Thank you Anyssia and Nick! T
July 2017

Emma User Profile
July 2017
Kate was one of the best hosts we've had in our air bnb history! Her home was so arty and welcoming. We loved every minute of our trip - having an adorable and comfortable home to come back to made it just perfect!
Kate User Profile
Response from Kate:
Wow Emma - thank you so much. That is a great review. You and Paul and of course the little one are always welcome. Although the room may be too small at that point for your growing family! All the best!!!!!
July 2017

Portland, Oregon, United StatesJoined in May 2017
Kate User Profile

Easy going but can be a bit shy, independent, enjoy a good laugh. love to garden, read, eat, be in nature, like meeting new people, movies, culture, love art and music. I like fiction and poetry mostly. As a guest, I'm easy going, helpful, try to make the other person feel comfortable, help them get around with maps, and good information about cafe's, restaurants, fun things to do here. Drive them to public transportation if needed.

Languages: English
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.
Similar listings