Bedroom # 2- Twin, can add a double air mattressBathroom
Casa de Lawless- Cute Garden Room in NE PDX
Casa de Lawless- Cute Garden Room in NE PDX

Private room

3 guests

1 bedroom

2 beds
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
3 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

English Tudor with artistic flair and landscaped yard in the Hollywood/Grant Park area , Close In, walking distance to Alberta Arts, Broadway, Hollywood, Fremont Ridge- all with many restaurants, bars and shops. 20 minute walk to Max station, 70 bus line on corner. All pet lovers of all backgrounds are welcome, as we have 3 small dogs and 2 kitty fur babies. One of two rooms, with a shared bathroom equipped with shower/tub. Landscaped, private back yard with hot tub. PDX permit holder.

The space

We have a beautiful backyard, with dining area and seating for you to dine, or enjoy evening drinks while you rest and enjoy our 3 person hot tub. We have fresh herb garden, where you can pick your choice of an array for herbs for cooking or infusing your water. Rooms come with robes to use for hot tub or shower.

You should be a pet lover, as we do have 3 small dogs and 2 cats ( one cat calls for her food early in the mornings- and she may or may not stop once fed. This room is also next to the kitchen, if you are sound sensitive, this is not the best choice for you). They are our fur babies, and do have free access to the house---they will stay out of your rooms, but will be curious so please keep your doors shut. They will want to meet you---if you have allergies, this probably isn't the best choice for you. We have a live in pet nanny who assists in their daily care. This is a queer positive household - please be ok with it. Please note, this room is on the small side, if you do choose to use the full air mattress--it doesn't leave much room for walking around- however there is space where you can prop it up during the day to make room.

We can offer airport transport for an extra $20 fee (each way). We have a large van.

There are stairs leading into the front of the house, and the back entrance which you can use for privacy and has less stairs. The guest rooms do not have locks on the doors, so you need to be comfortable with not being able to lock your room.

We are permitted by the city of Portland, and they require we collect a 11.5% fee--which will be added to your bill by Air BnB.

Questions? Just ask!
We look forward to hosting you.
Sandee and Ami Lawless

Guest access

You have full use of our kitchen, and outside eating area. If you want to use the inside dining room- just know that the kitties/doggies bed and sleeping area is shared in this space.

We have a coffee maker, microwave, stove, oven, blender, etc. We will make space for you in our fridge. No access to the washer and dryer--sorry.

Interaction with guests

We can be as involved or not in your lodging experience--and will be here to answer questions, and maybe even give rides.

Other things to note

We also own a yoga and meditation studio nearby, and are happy to have you join in any classes should you want to.

License or registration number

17-188245
Learn about this field

The space
Accommodates: 3
Bathrooms: 1 (Shared washroom)
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 2
Check In: Anytime after 3PM
Check Out: 12PM (noon)
Pet Owner: Some pet(s)
Room type: Private room

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: 19 / night after the first guest
Cleaning Fee: 65
Security Deposit: 130
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 single bed, 1 air mattress

House Rules
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check in is anytime after 3PM

- Shower before using Hot Tub
- Smoking only in outside designated smoking area (tobacco and 420 ok)
- When using kitchen, wash as you go
- Be kind to each other and our pets, and even if they ask- do not feed the pets
- Please do not let pets outside at night, be mindful if going in/out of house to hot tub--they can be sneaky :)
- Please do not go into the basement or garage
- Observe the recycling rules for PDX when emptying trash
-NO overnight guests
Quiet hours are 10:30 PM to 8 AM

You must also acknowledge
Must climb stairs - stairs coming into the home and exiting
Potential for noise - Room is adjacent to kitchen and living rooms areas- which sound travels.(bring ear We have a cat that meows loudly in the early morning..dogs do bark
Pet(s) live on property - 3 dogs , 2 cats
Some spaces are shared - bathroom is shared
Amenity limitations - no use of washer and dryer allowed

Cancellations

Moderate

Cancel up to 5 days before your trip and get a full refund. Cancel within 5 days of your trip and the first night is non-refundable, but 50% of the cost for the remaining nights will be refunded.


Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Safety card
Fire extinguisher

Availability
On Fridays and Saturdays the minimum stay is 2 nights.

9 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Bianca User Profile
August 2017
My friend and I had a wonderful time visiting Portland and staying in Sandee's lovely home!! Sandee and Ami were super awesome and gave us many suggestions on yummy places to eat and places to visit. They also have the cutest and sweetest pets!! We truly loved our stay here and definitely recommend them to anyone staying in the area.
Sandee User Profile
Response from Sandee:
Thank you and you are both welcome back at any time! Hope our pathes cross again
August 2017

Grace User Profile
July 2017
This private room is next to another room that is rented out to Airbnb guests. The bathroom is shared either these other guests so there may be a wait sometimes in the mornings. The location was great and the pups are super cute. The room is pretty small but this listing is new so I've given suggestions for how to maximize the room layout for future guests.

Caitlin User Profile
July 2017
Sandee and Ami were lovely and energetic hosts, and the place was nicely located, clean, and overall lovely. The listing (updated after I checked out) is very accurate in terms of both the room (kitchen / backyard noises are very audible) and the occupants (there are lots of animals, who are wonderful and do make barks, yowls, and yips and are quite friendly). The house rules are clearly laid out, and these hosts have their act together, which is really nice. I had a great time at great value.

James User Profile
July 2017
Amazing hosts :)
Sandee User Profile
Response from Sandee:
Thanks James, you both were great guests! Come back any time
July 2017

Tina User Profile
July 2017
Sandee and Ami are fantastic hosts! They are both such warm and fun people and it shows in their beautiful home. Their place is in a quiet neighborhood near Alberta and it was super convenient getting around with public transit. Their fur babies are also super friendly and so precious. I will miss staying with them.
Sandee User Profile
Response from Sandee:
Come back any time TIna!
July 2017

Isabella User Profile
July 2017
They were amazing and so sweet. They were both very welcoming and super friendly. There dogs are so adorable and have great personalities. I enjoyed talking to both of them.

Caitlin User Profile
July 2017
Lovely house and garden. Clean and tidy - exactly as pictures depict. Our two friends waiting in the garden for their flight that evening were removed quite aggressively from the premises due to staying longer than a few hours despite not realising they weren't allowed. Had we been made aware of the situation we would have happily removed them sooner and it wouldn't have been a problem. But other than that the house and location are exactly as they say and it's a nice cheap stay.
Sandee User Profile
Response from Sandee:
Caitlin and her group ( 3 confirmed guests) arrived with 2 more friends - 5 total , asking if the 2 friends could come and drop their bags and rest for a couple hours as they wait for their flight. They did not ask prior to their arrival , nor did they ever communicate arrival time . The reservation stated it was for 3 girls . ( however , it ended up being 2 girls and 1 guy who stayed- another issue). However ,We agreed their guest could stay for a couple of hours waiting for their flight ( that means 2)..we then shortly after left the house after checking them in and returned over 6 hours later to find them all drinking , smoking and partying in the back yard and hot tub. Many of the kitchen cupboards were open , dishes strewn in the back yard , wine bottles and glasses in the yard , and their guests completely disrespected the house and was even smoking while in the hot tub leaving cigarette butts all around the hot tub- which we had to clean up the next morning. ( there is a designated smoking area which was shown to them) Ami then had to ask the guests to leave as it was not agreed upon , - it was over 6 hours later and didn't they have a flight to catch? -----the guest became rude , and disrespectful of our home and overall lack of consideration and complete entitlement .They offered money , which we declined as it is against air BNB rules. They were also rude to our pet nanny - roommate when he asked them to keep the door shut so the cats won't go outside- ( as there are coyotes at night) and they even went so far as mocking him. Their guests did finally leave- after being told numerous times and with a threat of calling air BNB , and Caitlin did apologize after, but overall it was an uncomfortable and uncalled for experience. Caitlin and the other folks with reservation did do the dishes that night which we are grateful for and apologized , and left a bottle of wine as an apology. Our house rules are clear, and they did not respect them. I would not recommend this guest , as she and the group do not adhere to the house rules , and don't seem to have the maturity to be in a shared home space. Better suited for hotel or private home . This experience saddens us . I would consider the other 5 star ratings we receive consistently. ..we are clear in our house rules, and we are a tidy and fun Air BNB.
July 2017

This host has 11 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Portland, Oregon, United StatesJoined in April 2014
Sandee User Profile

My person and I are world travelers, visiting over 35 countries. We teach and own a yoga studio, have adult twin sons, and fur babies! We use Air Bnb as often as possible, and are now becoming hosts. We are mindful guests, and will be the type of hosts that we love---the type who meet you where you are. Helpful, resourceful, communicative , friendly. We are definitely backpackers, and love to see how locals live......
Our daily mantra- Today is going to be a great day!
Motto--gratitude for everything, the easy lessons and the ones we may not want to learn.

Languages: Español
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.
Similar listings