Skip to content
Living RoomLiving Room
Save this listing.
Entire house

Traditional Caribbean House On The Sea

Leo User Profile

Traditional Caribbean House On The Sea

4 guests
1 bedroom
2 beds
1 bath
4 guests
1 bedroom
2 beds
1 bath
Great check-in experience
100% of recent guests gave this home’s check-in process a 5-star rating.
Sparkling clean
2 recent guests have said that this home was sparkling clean.

1 bedroom house in the center of the lively village of Old Bank on Isla Bastimentos in Bocas del Toro. Living room with sofa bed and smart TV. Wifi and air conditioning! Full kitchen and bathroom. Private porch with views to the sea. Shops, restaurants and bars are all within close walking distance. 25 minute hike to one of the most beautiful beaches in Panama. 5 minute boat ride to the main island (Isla Colon) and beaches on Isla Carenero.


Laptop friendly workspace
Air conditioning

Sleeping arrangements

Bedroom 1
1 queen bed
Common spaces
1 sofa bed

House Rules

Not suitable for infants (under 2 years)
No smoking
No pets
Check-in is anytime after 2PM
Check out by 12PM (noon)


6 Reviews

Jola User Profile
April 2018
We had an excellent time at Leo and Tahiri’s place. They were very thoughtful and helpful hosts with excellent response time and quick communication. We were travelling as a family with two small children (4year old kid and a 3 month old baby). We really appreciated an early chec…
Carole User Profile
April 2018
We absolutely adored Leo's apartment, cute and cosy little place with just everything you need and super clean. There was good WiFi and Netflix on the TV, only thing was the cold shower... Best thing to us is it is right in the heart of Isla Bastimentos for a real experience of t…
Yuliya User Profile
February 2018
The apartment is good designed and cosy. In the shower is only cold water. The apartment is on the main and only street of the village, close to a supermarket and a dock. The apartment is located really close to the sea, but you cannot swim there. To go to the nearest beach you n…
Paul User Profile
January 2018
The house itself is beautiful, clean and well equipped, Leo also was great, very friendly, and prompt. We had the delicious fish dinner at his restaurant across the street. Unfortunately however our experience was tarnished due to the house shakingly loud music going on from when…
Tahiri User Profile
Response from Tahiri:
While neighbors playing music is a part of life here in Old Bank, Paul's particular experience was an exception rather than the rule. The day he arrived the neighbor across the street had been playing music the entire day, at an extreme volume with a dj that I would dare to say is objectively bad. All the local neighbors in the area were already irritated by the time Paul arrived. The level and duration of music that Paul and his girlfriend experienced on their arrival was extreme, even by local standards. I feel bad Paul's first experience of Old Bank was a negative one because it truly is a wonderful place. Though if like Paul you are looking for a quiet and tranquil getaway, Old Bank might not be the right place for your stay. When you stay here you are in the center of a lively local community and there are definitely more tranquil and secluded locations in the area.
January 2018
James User Profile
January 2018
The place is nice. Newly renovated with everything you need. Leo was a great help and would do as much as he could within his power to help us. Unfortunately bastimentos and specifically that area of the island is ridiculously loud and felt extremely unwelcoming. The locals were …
Tahiri User Profile
Response from Tahiri:
The area was very loud due to you being here during Christmas and New Years, the two biggest party holidays of the year. I have already amended the listing to inform future guests of the noise issue. I did explain that there would be a lot of partying going on when you checked in and you didn't express any reservations. I have lived in Old Bank for five years and have never heard of a tourist being assaulted, robbed or harmed in any way, day or night, in the village. The only time people get into issues here is when you get involved with drugs and buying them off the street from the wrong people which is what I believe you and your friend were involved in. Of course once the local hustlers know you are a user you are going to attract the attention of an unsavory sector of society. Old Bank is full of extremely friendly, inviting and inclusive residents, I would not live here if it wasn't. The fact that your girlfriend was afraid to leave the house proves her own prejudice because their is no empirical evidence to support he fear. Actually one of the first things your group asked when you checked in was, "Will the kids here rob and thief us? Because when I was in Africa the kids would thief people?" I found it to be an extremely off putting question and an obvious display of racism. While your girlfriend locked herself inside of the house there were tourists from all over the world out and about enjoying Old Bank and celebrating the holidays with the locals without harm or incident. A quick example, on Christmas Day I met a young Canadian woman traveling alone by a neighbor's party. Besides myself she was the only foreigner at the party and she was wined and dined while showing off her salsa dancing skills and having a great time. She made friends with everybody at the party and left Old Bank with great memories. You and your friend expressed a similar joy of partying with the locals when you came to visit me at my house after getting drunk at the local casino on your second night here. So I find your comments quite confusing. Lastly your friend pulled me aside to ask me if I could help him meet any pretty young girls. I told him I couldn't assist him and after, on multiple occasions, my girlfriend and I would see him creepily checking out very young teenage girls. We are very welcoming here but people like this are not wanted in Old Bank and around our children.
January 2018
Youjaris User Profile
January 2018
La casa es pequeña y sencilla pero adorable y acogedora. Tiene pequeños detalles decorativos muy originales que la hacen encantadora. Totalmente de madera construida en parte sobre el agua, tiene en la parte de atrás un pequeño muelle que comparte con otra casa del mismo propieta…
Tahiri User Profile
Response from Tahiri:
Muchas gracias! Espero verte la próxima vez que vengas a Bocas!
January 2018

This host has 8 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews

Hosted by Leo

Bocas del Toro District, PanamaJoined in June 2014
Leo User Profile
12 Reviews
Always communicate through AirbnbTo protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
About the home
When you stay in an Airbnb, you’re staying in someone’s home.
This is Tahiri’s place.
Leo helps host.

The neighbourhood

Press the down arrow key to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Check In

Press the down arrow key to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Check Out
You won’t be charged yet