Good entertaining space
Twin room in lovely cottage near Edinburgh
Hosted by Jilly
Jilly is the host.Jilly is a superhost.
2 guests
1 bedroom
2 beds
1 private bath
2 guests
1 bedroom
2 beds
1 private bath
You won’t be charged yet

If you love seeing the sights of Edinburgh and also the peace and tranquility of the countryside, then Ugston Mill is the place to stay! 20 minutes from Edinburgh by train, 25 by car.

Twin room in beautiful converted cottage with wonderful kitchen diner, great views of hills, Aga, wood burner in comfy sitting room, large rambling garden, with garden furtniture, pond and brick bbq.

Nearby market town of Haddington, sandy beaches, golf courses and lovely coastal villages. Lovely situation.

The space

My lovely home is in the countryside twenty five minutes from Edinburgh city centre. Ideal as a base for country and city exploration. East Lothian county has beautiful sandy beaches at Gullane, North Berwick, Dirleton (Yellowcraig), and Dunbar. The Lammermuir Hills look over the county, and you can see them from my kitchen. There is also a view of Traprain Law, where there is an ancient iron age settlement.

We are situated five minutes from the A1 motorway (to Edinburgh, or Berwick upon Tweed and England), but in a peaceful location on a working arable farm. There are fields of grain or vegetables surrounding the cottage, and some lovely walks nearby, in woods, or over the fields.

The nearby market town of Haddington has banks, shops, supermarket, garage, swimming pool and sports centre, as well as the beautiful St. Mary's Church overlooking the River Tyne. There are several cafes and pubs, as well as two fish and chip shops, an Italian takeaway, two Chinese takeaways, and a lovely riverside pub, the Waterside Bistro.

There is a bus stop at the end of the farm road, for Edinburgh or Haddington. Bus into city centre stops at a lot of places and takes about one hour. There is also a railway station six minutes from the house, at Longniddry, where you can catch a train to Waverley or Haymarket station, both in Edinburgh city centre. The train journey takes twenty minutes. If you go the other direction, you can take a train to the lovely coastal town of North Berwick, with its pretty harbour, gardens, crazy golf, putting green, sea bird centre, sandy beach, boat trips and lovely shops and restaurants.

There is a cinema and well known chain restaurants and out of town shopping centre about twenty minutes towards Edinburgh at Fort Kinnaird.

There are many good golf courses nearby, walking trails, surfing, windsurfing, wake boarding, horse riding and dry slope skiing. Roslin Chapel of Da Vinci Code fame is not too far away, as is Glenkinchie Whisky Distillery.

Edinburgh is an amazing city to explore, with its castle, Holyrood Palace, Royal Mile, Georgian New Town, the Royal Yacht Britannia, and plenty galleries, museums, shops, restaurants, cafes and bars. The wonderful Fringe and Edinburgh Festival is in August annually, and makes a great holiday. So much to see, do and experience! There is also a winter festival with Christmas German market, and ice skating.

Guest access

The twin room advertised is in one wing of the cottage, next to another twin and double room both available for rental. These three rooms share a bathroom with shower over bath. There is also a door to the garden from the hall in this wing.

You will also have access to the cosy sitting room with log burner and tv, the lovely airy bright kitchen/diner with large welcoming Aga, where you can prepare a meal, or sit down at my lovely big refectory table and look at the lovely view. There is also a utility room, where you can use the washing machine and tumble drier. You are also welcome to use the rambling country garden, which has garden furniture, brick bbq, pond and small orchard.

Parking outside the house is available.

Interaction with guests

I like to get to know my guests if they want to be sociable, but am equally happy to give them space. I am available to help plan trips or suggest restaurants, places to visit etc.

Other things to note

I work some of the week, so even though I am not there all the time, will be around in the evenings usually. You will be welcome to help yourself to cereals, porridge, milk, bread, butter, jams, yoghurt and juice. Also teas, herbal tea and coffee (decaff available).

I work about three to four days a week as a VisitScotland advisor in Edinburgh, so have a great knowledge of current attractions, events, bus tours, etc. Just ask and I can help you plan your visit, or answer questions on Scotland for you.


Amenities
Free parking on premises

Prices
Extra people No Charge
Cleaning Fee $26 CAD
Security Deposit $681 CAD
Weekly Discount: 10%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
2 single beds

House Rules
No smoking
Check in time is 4PM - 7PM
Check out by 11PM

I would love you to feel at home in my house, I just have a few little rules. I would ask that you don't smoke in the house.
You are welcome to use the kitchen for light preparation or to eat in, and the share the sitting room with myself, or other guests. There is a TV and DVD player here.
I live on a farm, please make sure you park thoughtfully, without blocking gates or entrances to buildings. There are several parking places for the house, at the front entrance and at the end of the back garden, between the garden and Ugston Barn. If you need more parking, do just ask me first and I can tell you the best option.
I have a lovely wheaten terrier called Milly. She is a bit jumpy when guests first arrive, but does settle if you just say hi then ignore her for a bit! Please be careful not to let her out of the front door, as she is not very traffic savvy, and will take off to Edinburgh! She is allowed in the back garden, as long as you make sure the gate by the conservatory is closed. If you like clean bedding, its advisable to keep your doors shut and keep her out of your room, she loves clean sheets!!

If you would like any pack lunches made up or dinner (extra charge) or lifts to and from the train station/airport (also chargable) do just let me know in advance and I can do what I can for you.

I love meeting new people, but as I work as well, sometimes I like to have some "me" time, and please don't feel offended if I go off to my own room or area of the house.
If you are staying a few nights and there are other guests, do lock your room while you are out, just to keep your things safe.
I welcome one or two friendly and house trained dogs per booking, they are welcome to sleep in your room, please can I just ask that you clean up after them, and keep them off the beds or sofas. Thank you! Let me know before you come, so that I can decide whether to keep my dog at the house or take her to my mum. Milly is 12 and gets a bit ratty sometimes, with particular breeds of dog, especially Jack Russells. Just a bit of notice first will be great thanks.

You must also acknowledge
Dog(s) live in the house

Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher
Lock on bedroom door

Availability
1 night minimum stay

3 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Di User Profile
August 2017
Quiet, comfortable Airbnb.

Timothy User Profile
July 2017
A very short stay due to getting married two days after, however Jilly has a beautiful and inviting home. A place to definitely stay again
Jilly User ProfileJilly is a superhost.
Response from Jilly:
Thank you Timothy, It was great to have you here. All the very best for your wedding!x
July 2017

Dawne User Profile
June 2017
Fabulous place to stay, Jilly is a great host, felt right at home.
Jilly User ProfileJilly is a superhost.
Response from Jilly:
Lovely to have you stay, enjoy the rest of your expedition! Will keep in touch jilly x
June 2017

This host has 27 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Haddington, United KingdomJoined in December 2013
Jilly User ProfileJilly is a superhost.

Hi there!
My name is Jilly, and I am looking forward to meeting lots of lovely guests from all over the country/world. I live just outside Edinburgh, in East Lothian's lovely countryside.

I am easy going, friendly and approachable and love to meet people from all over the world. I am a trained florist and also as a colour therapist. However, I am presently loving my work as a seasonal tourist advisor for VisitScotland in Edinburgh. It seems like the ideal job for me, as it encompasses all my loves - Scottish history, geography, travel, meeting people, customer services and retail work. Plus I get to practice my French and Italian.

I have a good knowledge of the local area and Scotland in general, so quite happy to help you plan your trip if you need advice. Am equally happy with guests who want to be sociable or others who would rather have their own company. Flexible!

I love travel and have explored many countries. I have five grown up kids, and two grand children so far....

I love to cook, learn about Scottish history, visit new places, design, love movies, horse riding, skiing, walking, parties, going out on the town, shopping, travelling, researching family trees, and the company of friends and family. I have a wheaten terrier, called Milly. She sometimes stays at the house or with my mother nearby.

I can get by in French and Italian, probably understanding more than I can actually speak it!

The places I have on my list to visit soon are Australia again, Fiji, Tuscany again to do a painting course, Denmark for the hygge! and feel the urge to do another island hopping trip out to the Western Hebrides again. I love it out there, just stunning!

I look forward to welcoming you to my home!

Jillyx

Languages: Français, Italiano
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

The neighbourhood

Similar listings