Guest bedroomGuest bedroom
Footscray bicycle haven - big room

Private room

2 guests

1 bedroom

1 bed
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

Not a hotel, hostel or BnB. It's a sharehouse. Our guests interact with our household, can have open discussion, and join us for meals. Does this sound like you? Homestay in a sociable 4 bedroom household of professionals, locals and mature travelers. This is a large room furnished with queen bed. Located in quiet street, close to large markets. Drug free and smoke free. Common areas shared by house mates including kitchen, bathroom, lounge room, and laundry. 30 minute bicycle to city centre.


The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1 (Shared washroom)
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: 6PM - 11PM
Check Out: 12PM (noon)
Pet Owner: Dog(s) and cat(s)
Room type: Private room
Self check-in: Doorman

Amenities

Prices
Extra people $20 CAD / night after the first guest
Cleaning Fee $30 CAD
Security Deposit $202 CAD
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed

House Rules

In particular we love the share house guests that can promptly wash their own dishes, dry the bathroom floor after their shower, wipe down table surfaces after their food prep and meals, and flush the toilet (alllll the way down). If any of these tasks sound difficult then we are likely to be a poor match.
Aim for 5 minute showers; it frees up the bathroom for others. No smoking inside the house, or in the front/back yard (including e-cigarettes, bongs, vaporizers). This is a great house to quit smoking altogether. As mentioned above, this is a drug free house ie. we don't do drugs and we are not interested in talking about drugs.
No proselytizing on behalf of any religious/spiritual/lifestyle/corporate/pyramid/ponzi organization. Golden rule - clean up own mess. We are a homestay with expectations on being tidy in the common areas.

Our share house highly rates guests who are sociable and can be open, regardless of their spoken language. We poorly rate guests who; avoid interaction, stay locked in their bedroom, or are fixated by a mobile phone.

We have had a few guests who have attempted to conceal their friends stay over the night. We encourage guests to be upfront, open and transparent about this. It is important that guests ask permission to have friends stay over in our home. Guests that try to conceal this rate very poorly. Please note an extra guest will be billed for the whole duration of the booking regardless of how many nights they stay. This is cost prohibitive for guests who wish to have visitors stay temporarily.

You must also acknowledge
Potential for noise - 7am to midnight. Regualr household noise - tv, cooking, cleaning, social chatter.
Pet(s) live on property - Cat, and sometimes a foster dog
Some spaces are shared - The bedroom is private. Living room, kitchen, bathroom, garden is shared.
Amenity limitations - Personal electric heater is PAYG. Aim for 5 minute showers to free up bathroom for others.

Cancellations

Strict

Cancel up to 7 days before your trip and get a 50% refund. Cancel within 7 days of your trip and the reservation is non-refundable.


Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Safety card
Fire extinguisher
Lock on bedroom door

Availability
1 night minimum stay

20 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Yuki User Profile
September 2017
Footscray is a great place to stay. The house is not so far away from town, tram and train station, walking distance can easily reach. Che and Lily are very friendly and helpful, as well as Rusty (the cat). I was surprised by the welcome gifts in my room on my first day checked in. No host ever welcome me that way.. I love it! Also, Che knows our need as a guest who travel from far away. He prepared everything you need, from toothpaste to bathrobe.. every amenities.. only one sentence I can describe the stay with them: A place just like HOME! Highly recommended.

Louise User Profile
May 2017
Theyre so friendly!!! And they gave me honey wowowow I had no issues & would 100% stay with again

Vanessa User Profile
March 2017
Great place! Chay and Lily are amazing company and having other travelers in the house is perfect for exchanging stories and tips!

Vic User Profile
March 2017
Chay is an excellent host !!

Feitzuoo User Profile
February 2017
The place is exact as posted, Chay gave clear direction and instructions about rules. I chose the hard road by bus, so took a while to get there. Safe walk around neighborhood after 11 pm. 3 other guests are friendly, one bathroom is a little worry for sometime. The area is far from CBD, managable by tram, bus. Cycling to QVM with Chay and Lilyin the morning, good bike. Thank you Chat. Outside of bedrooms area need more organized. Not suit for kids. If you like a neat place. This is not what you want, a simple place for over night is good, maybe a little far.
Che User ProfileChe is a superhost.
Response from Che:
Hi Fei, I'm sorry to hear your stay was not up to your expectations and I have made a note of your feedback. In the future, please fully read the house description fully before booking on AirBnB as it appears you did not read the description we have posted before you booked. Our description clearly explains the condition and environment of the house, as do the photos. In regards your interior design expectations, I believe you would be more comfortable in a hotel or BnB, rather than a share house. For the record, the house is 6.5 km from the CBD. It takes 30 minutes by bicycle (slow ride), or 10 minutes by train as well as a 10 min walk to station.
February 2017

Savannah User Profile
February 2017
What a wonderful stay! Chay & Lily's place is great, full of interesting and friendly like-minded people. The house has EVERYTHING you could need and lots of character! 10 mins walk to Footscray station, shops, restaurants and the market. 2 mins walk to lovely Footscray park and the river track. Chay & Lily were super friendly and helpful and make you feel very much at home. Would 100% recommend staying here for a sociable person looking for a great spot.

Vanessa User Profile
February 2017
If you are coming to Melbourne for a short or long term stay, you need to stay with Chay and his lovely wife Lily. Not only is the room spacious and spotless, the hosts go out of their way to make you feel welcomed and cared for. They will answer any questions you have about the city and help you get situated. Chay was even gracious enough to give us a walking tour of Footscray. Plus, since they rent out all of their rooms to airbnbers, it is a great way to meet like-minded people and make friends upon arrival. Highly recommend!

This host has 105 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Joined in December 2013
Che User ProfileChe is a superhost.

Hi. We are often found traveling to the country side, enjoying nature, quirky places and people, sometimes moving by bike or foot. We are both from Australia. I have spent a few years living overseas and speak Mandarin, and my wife is from a big Australian Japanese family and can karaoke fluently in Japanese. Together we are spreading a message of world peace and veggie gardening.

Languages: English, 中文, 日本語
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

About the home

When you stay in an Airbnb, you’re staying in someone’s home.


This is Che’s place.
Che
Lily helps host.
Lily
Similar listings