Skip to content
Back yardLiving room
Save this listing.
4 guests
2 bedrooms
3 beds
1 bath
4 guests
2 bedrooms
3 beds
1 bath
HOME HIGHLIGHTS
Great check-in experience90% of recent guests gave this home’s check-in process a 5-star rating.
Great location100% of recent guests gave this home’s location a 5-star rating.

Remember when you were young and stayed in an old beach house? When sunscreen was an option, getting badly sunburnt, eating ice cream , and bitten by bugs whilst having fun in the surf, was the only way to spend holidays?

Well now you can at the Mossy Rex, a beach house built in the late 1950's (15 minute drive from Batemans Bay). Whilst this is an old house that shows it's age and isn't perfect, the furnishings and appliances are modern.

Amenities

Heating
TV
Washer
Free parking on premises
Kitchen
Hangers

Sleeping arrangements

Bedroom 1
1 queen bed
Bedroom 2
1 bunk bed

House Rules

No pets
No smoking, parties, or events
Check-in is anytime after 10AM and check out by 12PM (noon)

Availability

11 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check-in
Value
Sissi User Profile
Sissi
October 2018
Great location, nice and simple house.
Nicolas User Profile
Nicolas
March 2018
Look no further if you are looking for a simple, comfortable, vintage-styled coast getaway.
Michael User Profile
Response from Michael:
Thanks Nic , glad you enjoyed the long weekend.
March 2018
Tim User Profile
Tim
February 2018
Had a really delightful weekend here, located in a beautiful town, just a few minutes walk from a terrific swimming beach. The house itself is quite simple but it’s in a beautiful setting and it had everything we needed.
Michael User Profile
Response from Michael:
Thanks Tim glad you had a good time.
February 2018
Jacqui User Profile
Jacqui
February 2018
Mossy Rex is just as it’s described - a laidback beach shack with vibes of yesteryear. Michael is a kind and communicative host who entrusts his holiday home to others. The Mossy Cafe, down the street, is superb for coffee or light meals. Wander down and check out the art gal…
Susan User Profile
Susan
January 2018
Great location but disappointed with the house itself. Dusty and not very toddler friendly. Mosquitos got in the house quite easily from damaged fly screens. Very affordable but not worth it for the price. Communication wasn’t great.
Michael User Profile
Response from Michael:
"We had a lovely time. Great beaches and so nice to be in walking distance. Just wanted to let you know that the guitar in the bedroom broke. We weren’t actually playing it but it was sitting there and the bottom board where the strings attach popped off. Sounds strange I know. Anyway should be able to be fixed with glue. Think everything else was in order. Thanks for the stay. Susan " You sent this privately , but your public review reflects the opposite. I wrote a positive review , as we haven't resolved the issue with the breakages, to be fair to you. In regards to communication, you refused to communicate via phone, which would have been easier as , I'm very approachable. I had no problem with your toddler ( I have young children to) being there, however you choose to open a display cabinet , which is toddler proof. Items where removed and damaged as a result , and you know that I'm working with you to find the missing pieces, in the hope I can repair them.
January 2018
Letitia User Profile
Letitia
January 2018
Great little beach house in a perfect quiet location with a quick walk to the river, beach or a great cafe for your morning coffee!
Kimberley User Profile
Kimberley
January 2018
We loved staying in this beach house. The retro decor in the kitchen/living area was fantastic. Lots of character and close to beautiful beaches. Michael gave us some great tips for eating out too.

Hosted by Michael

Canberra, AustraliaJoined in October 2017
Michael User Profile
11 Reviews
Response rate: 86%
Response time: within an hour
Always communicate through AirbnbTo protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.

The neighbourhood

Press the down arrow key to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Check In

Press the down arrow key to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Check Out
You won’t be charged yet