St George's 'Basin; easy paddling distance.We share the bathroom.
Close to Jervis Bay and Huskisson!
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
Half-bath
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
Half-bath
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

This value-for-money home stay, is close to the action of Jervis Bay, & includes a very comfortable bed, a smart TV in your room, Wi-Fi, a superb breakfast & free kayak (on 2 nights +).

Breakfast: a truly comprehensive continental style breakfast (and/or bacon & eggs if desired - YOU cook), a variety of teas, coffees, cereals, breads & croissants!

Please, take the time to read everything! For me, you need GOOD PROFILE information, a CLEAR CLOSE PHOTO & the GREEN TICK of ID verification.

The space

This modest home stay is set at a great price, with an extensive breakfast (consider the added cost of breakfast in a cafe', ($20-25 pp or more!) I am also very close to the beautiful beaches at Vincentia and Booderee National Park (6-9 mins drive), and Huskisson (11 mins).

My home is a standard rectangular shaped Hardy-Plank cottage, air-conditioned, with a large back deck to cook on the BBQ, enjoy a meal, a wine or two etc. and quite possibly spot (& hear) a Kookaburra or some beautiful Rainbow Lorikeets. The yard is clean, long and shady.

I can comfortably accommodate one or two, including a baby (in your travel cot), or even a toddler between you in the Queen size bed.

Your large bedroom has a lovely bed, with quality linen, a rocking chair and a beautiful antique tallboy. The 'Smart' TV has: Netflix, YouTube and more; and a DVD player with & a selection of classic DVD's.

My room is next door in a simple interior layout, so clearly if you are looking for a romantic getaway, this may not be it. However it is a great place from which to explore the riches of this beautiful area, (with good advice), to rest and eat well!

The house has: a combined lounge, dining and kitchen; your large guest room; my room; a combined bathroom/laundry; a separate toilet; a large cool back veranda, and a very large and shady backyard.

We share the kitchen, bathroom/laundry & toilet; which are spotless & shared only with me! And your needs are very definitely the priority. You are very welcome to store food in the fridge, cook for yourself in the kitchen, or outdoors on the BBQ; (but please let me know if you do wish to cook lunch or dinner).

Barbecuing and dining on the back deck is pleasant with the native trees accessed by a variety of bird life and possums. (The possums can growl a bit at night in the mating season.)

Please BRING your own BEACH TOWELS, SOAP and SHAMPOO; of course linen and bath towels are provided. (And of course I will provide something if you're stuck, even an emergency toothbrush)!

There is an undercover clothes line, and a car with a medium sized trailer/boat can be accommodated in the long carport.

Please update me BY TEXT on your journey if your estimated arrival time will vary by more than say 15-20 mins. I need to be here to welcome you, and may be out & coming back especially for you! Coming from Sydney (esp.) frequently takes longer than you think.

Guest access

We are central to the beautiful Jervis Bay, and lovely St Georges Basin! If you have a boat, jet ski, ‘tinnie’, canoe or kayak, you have easy aquatic (and vehicular) access, to Jervis Bay, St Georges Basin and the amazing Booderee National Park.

Five minutes away at Vincentia is our large new shopping complex, we now boast a large Woolworths, Aldi, an amusement arcade, speciality shops banks and restaurants. Also close by is Coles, various hardware stores, restaurants and banks. A further five minutes away is Huskisson and Booderee National Park.

Many locations around the bay, arguably boast, some of the most beautiful and secluded beaches in the world. I can 'steer' you in the right direction! Hyams Beach is over-rated; I would go straight to the smaller beaches at Vincentia if you arrive early.

The vibrant Huskisson offers a wide variety of eateries (including vegetarian) a fine wine bar, street entertainment (at peak times), diving, sail cruises, whale and dolphin watching, seal colony cruises, 'Eco' kayaking adventures, kayak hire, 'stand up paddle board hire, luxury catamaran charters and much more! 'The Basin' is wonderful for paddling, skiing, sailing, jet skiing and fishing.

Interaction with guests

I LIVE IN the house, and would be delighted to share some time with you, if that is your wish, assist with the barbecue, recommendations, or any of your needs. Once your settled, I'm often out or I'll retire to my room for a movie or 'streamed' program.


'Sox', sadly has recently passed away, but I now have a cat.

Other things to note

FREE KAYAK USE. (On 2 nights or more.)

You do need to wear life jackets, (they're like seatbelts now), sign a legal waiver, and pay a $50 deposit, which is fully refundable assuming there is no loss or damage!)

It's magic paddling around here! With the lovely Cockrow Creek (just 120m or so from the house), it's a short paddle into the vast Saint Georges Basin. From here, you really can paddle to Jervis Bay National Park in about 40 mins! A reasonable level of fitness is required for this paddle and calm conditions! Or you may just 'potter' up & down the creek close-by, or close to shore on 'The Basin'. Please let me know if you think you might take advantage of this offer.


Amenities
Internet
Wireless Internet

Prices
Weekly Discount: 10%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check in time is 4PM - 9PM
Check out by 10AM

HOUSE RULES

1. Please ensure you have a comprehensive profile of your own, with a CLEAR CLOSE UP PHOTO of your FACE, & SOME information about you; the more the better, this indicates integrity and openness for me.

2. Please ensure you have the GREEN TICK of full ON & OFF-LINE verification.

As guests, I know how comfortable you feel with a detailed profile of me, lots of information and good reviews; it's exactly the same for us hosts!

3. Smoking is allowed on either the front or back deck only, (depending on wind direction.)

4. Please be in at a reasonable hour, and no noise after 10pm. (Very quiet TV is of course OK!)

5. After breakfast please properly wash, dry, AND replace, any kitchen items you use.

6. Turn off lights/fans when not in use; and ensure all doors & windows (in your room and common areas) are shut and locked when you leave.

Thank-you; I do genuinely look forward to your visit.


Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Safety card
Fire extinguisher
Lock on bedroom door

Availability
2 nights minimum stay.
From Mar 30 - Apr 2, 2018 the minimum stay is 3 nights.

65 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Ricardo User Profile
June 2017
Chris was great, the cat was super friendly and looking for cuddle, very good breakfast and the bed was super confortable with Netflix plus some video selections which was great after long days at the beach and traking in the national park.
Chris User ProfileChris is a superhost.
Response from Chris:
Thanks Ricardo, all the very best!
June 2017

Shekhar User Profile
April 2017
This place is amazing, have all the facilities you will need for your stay.. Chis is a lovely person and a great host! Everything was set for us before arrival and he also helped with local places. Five stars! Thanks

Toni User Profile
April 2017
We stayed at Chris house for 3 nights. Chris wad extremely helpfull. And we had some very good talks. We can recommend this place very much
Chris User ProfileChris is a superhost.
Response from Chris:
It was a real pleasure Toni; thank you!
April 2017

Evelyn User Profile
March 2017
Thanks Chris for a wonderful stay, wealth of local information, and delicious breakfasts! Chris is a very helpful and considerate host, and his place was perfectly located to explore the south coast. We thoroughly enjoyed it! Thank you.
Chris User ProfileChris is a superhost.
Response from Chris:
Thanks for all the feedback Everlyn, it is appreciated.
March 2017

Mukesh User Profile
March 2017
We had a great stay at Chris's. The bed was super comfortable, the place was very clean and Chris kindly offered to help us planning our trip. Thanks to Chris, we went to Whiting Beach - which was an experience we'll remember for life - a beautiful secluded beach. Chris provided a great spread of breakfast items. All in all, we can't recommend enough to stay at Chris's airbnb.
Chris User ProfileChris is a superhost.
Response from Chris:
Thanks Mukesh, it was a pleasure.
March 2017

Angelique User Profile
January 2017
Chris was very responsible and prepared. He has been available and sharing. The house was very tidy and organised. The location is at reach of everything you need and very quiet. We really enjoyed our stay and we recommend it!

Hamish User Profile
January 2017
Chris was clear and contactable, and made every effort to give us a great weekend away in Jervis Bay! His home is exceptionally clean, and it's great to wake up and make a hearty breakfast before heading out.

New South Wales, AustraliaJoined in December 2013
Chris User ProfileChris is a superhost.

Music is a passion, and I swim regularly for fitness.

I also enjoy kayaking, hence the choice of my property with the creek and lovely lake (St Georges Basin), near my back door.

Music has been an integral part of my life for years. I have now played drums in a wide variety of bands covering a range of styles. I also teach drumming (at appropriate times during the school term only.)

I am happily semi-retired as a casual school teacher, a busy drum teacher and host. I have been a full-time soldier in the Australian Army, a barman, lawn mowing contractor and house-husband/carer for my young children. The latter, leading me into teaching, which I have essentially finished after 16 years.

I love dogs, history, good cheese, lamb, T bones, old furniture, cooking, photography and accommodating, an often fascinating flow of visitors.

Finally, I love where I live; I'm staying!

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

The neighbourhood

Similar listings