Great check-in experience95% of recent guests gave this home’s check-in process a 5-star rating.
Aloha our 3 bedroom 2 bath, beautifully decorated hawaiian style vacation house is conveniently located close to Kailua-Kona town, beaches, fishing, stores and restaurants. With all the conveniences of home sleeps 2 to 6 persons at a great price.
Free parking on premises
1 king bed
1 queen bed
2 single beds
1 sofa bed
No parties or events
Check-in is anytime after 3PM
Check out by 11AM
We had a great time staying with Alan and Jeanne. They were very responsive hosts and made our check-in very simple. The place was well-located and priced, and there were lots of towels and boogie boards, snorkelling equipment etc. available for our use! Our one concern was that …
Response from Alan & Jeanne:
Aloha Sarah, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay, you left me such a nice written review and thank you in our guest book I was a bit surprised at this review. I will address some of these, if you found a couple of dead bugs, that is good, that means the remedies I have in place are working!, this is the tropics! we have bugs but we try to keep them out. You used the word grimy, wow thats harsh, and it amazes me, because just 6 weeks ago my husband and I, pulled all the furniture out and scrubbed all the floors with an industrial 18" floor machine, it was clean as it gets. Dust is a constant in Hawaii with all of our windows wide open, no matter how often and thorough we clean it will always come back. I was so upset at your remarks, I looked for this grime, I found only 2 small spots of mold in the bath, because we bleach it often, but it is warm and moist here, so we work hard at keeping up with it all. I do 90% of the work so I know it's clean! Mahalo Jeanne
Jeanne was very pleasant to deal with both prior to our arrival and during our stay. Unfortunately, there are a few negative aspects that would prevent us from staying here again. Firstly, when we arrived the house was full of ants and we had to purchase ant spray the next day…
Response from Alan & Jeanne:
Aloha Kim, It was nice meeting you and your group, but very disheartening as a host. We strive to have the best for all our guests, but know, that you can't please every body. You came in so late we could not do our usual greeting so all the questions you did eventually ask, would have been answered then. The Fruit was put in the evening that you arrived so could not have been damaged to the extent that you described, and yes there are some ants, not many, and we treat the house for all bugs, but ants are very resistant, and all places have them not just us. You mentioned clutter, having as many appliances that (all) my guests may use, gets so many compliments from 90% of our guests, why is moving the ones you don't use such a hardship as to mention it? It's funny, I asked the next guests after you who stayed for 8 days, about all of your sore points, and they loved the house the (clutter) decor was beautiful and they had everything they needed, they especially liked how tidy and clean it was, as I personally do all the cleaning this means a lot to me. The Fridge is always clean, but as a convenience I leave available some condiments, so our guests don't have to buy 60 bottles of mustard each year, no food is ever left. I did mention when I saw you that we were setting up to do a major re-roofing and maintenance enhancement job (in process now Nov.) and that the items needed for this were being brought in, so sorry that it offended you so much. As I am asking all my guests about AC, and the extreme high cost for running it in Hawaii. We have the highest cost of Electricity in the US and most other places, at .43 per kilowatt. Most hosting places rates are higher than ours, don't provide all the amenities you so freely used, and they charge extra for their AC, as I am sure you picked our place for our low rates why do you expect the 4 Seasons quality, next time you should spend the money and stay there. We and the rest of the world have been having extremes in weather, so we have added amenities to help with this. The new roofing has a special heat-reflecting coating, and a whole house fan, we are putting French Doors in the Master Bedroom for more ventilation and private access to the garden. Why is it you don't mention anything good? Have fun next year but remember closer to town, lower in elevation is also hotter so you'll pay more for the AC and need it! Good luck to your next host.
We live in hawaii our own paradise, but love to travel everywhere. Hiking and visiting parks, mnts and waterfalls and dancing.
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour
Always communicate through AirbnbTo protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.