Skip to content
View of back yard from left of house.View of back yard from under the portico.
Light-filled room for 2 or 3
Light-filled room for 2 or 3
2 guests
1 bedroom
2 beds
1 bath
2 guests
1 bedroom
2 beds
1 bath
You won’t be charged yet

Large, sunny room in a big house along the bay, just a short walk to beautiful, uncrowded Seaford beach, one of Melbourne's best. Close to train and freeway, just 50 mins to city. Several nearby walking tracks along beach, creek and reserves.

The space

The back yard is verdant and relaxing, and the house is light-filled, spacious and open, with a friendly feel. We live in a quiet street with friendly neighbours all round.
We have access to shops and local amenities, as well as beaches, reserves and wetlands.

Guest access

Bathroom, kitchen/dining area, living area, back yard.

Interaction with guests

Guests share the house with us, but we respect their privacy. Guests can interact with us as much as they feel comfortable.
We do expect openness and friendly interaction from our visitors though. We offer as much and always hope for the same.
Space is respected always, for all.

Other things to note

We do have a part time smoker living here but smoking takes place outdoors.
Be aware we have a cat and a bird, so if you are allergic or just don't like animals, then this isn't the place for you.
It is an old house with one toilet. We just had major work done on the plumbing though so there shouldn't be any dramas. Really!

Amenities
Free parking on premises
Family/kid friendly
Internet
Cable TV
Prices
Extra people $20 CAD / night after the first guest
Weekly Discount: 15%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check-in time is flexible
Check out by 12AM (midnight)

We trust that guests will clean up after themselves.
Please be aware that we all have to share the old kitchen (no dishwasher I'm afraid) so we all need to allow space/time for each other to prep meals etc.
There is a spare fridge here though,just for you!

You must also acknowledge
Cat(s) and other pet(s) live in the house
Cancellations
Safety features
Smoke detector
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher
Availability
2 nights minimum stay

24 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Bob User Profile
January 2017
Chris and Jody were fantastic. They have very relaxed easy going personalities that will make you feel comfortable. With an artist and musician in the house their home is wonderfully eclectic with a lot of interesting items. Highly recommended.

Arpad User Profile
June 2015
i had a great time staying here. Chris and Jody are wonderful hosts, relaxed and easygoing, immediately made me feel at home. the room is large, well furnished, very comfy bed all the linens and such you need. And quiet - i am a very light sleeper, no worries here. really a great place to stay. 5 stars are not enough, but it's the most i can give!

Bronwyn User Profile
June 2017
I received a warm welcome and I was delighted to be offered a cuppa when I arrived, and all through my stay Chris and Jo went above and beyond to make my stay comfortable and easy. I loved the very spacious room and the location was great - close to the beach and the train station. I really enjoyed my stay which was a wonderful homely, friendly airbnb experience.

Kate User Profile
May 2017
I really enjoyed my stay at Jody and Chris's place. It was really easy to be there - I felt at home and welcome from when I arrived. Jody and Chris were friendly and interesting and very easy to converse with. My room was clean and comfortable and I had as much privacy or conversation as I desired.

Angela User Profile
February 2017
I absolutely loved my time with Chris and Jody. They were both so warm and hospitable and made me really feel like the place was my home too. I loved sitting around the table talking eating and laughing together. Everything was clean and I also appreciate how generous they were with sharing their food with me. I look forward to staying there again some day.

Denise User Profile
July 2016
The host canceled this reservation 22 days before arrival. This is an automated posting.

Michael User Profile
April 2016
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay with Chris and Jody. They always went out of their way to make me very welcome and were generous in many wonderful ways. I also enjoyed being near the sea, yet still able to be in the centre of Melbourne in only 45 minutes. Their home is a sanctuary which I miss and which I have no hesitation in recommending to others.
Jody & Chris User Profile
Response from Jody & Chris:
Thanks Michael.
April 2016

Seaford, AustraliaJoined in February 2014
Jody & Chris User Profile

Chris (on the right in profile pic) is a musician and lecturer, with a particular interest in traditional West African music. Jody is a taxidermist with history in theatre and visual arts. We moved from inner city Melbourne to live beach side 14 years ago. We share the property with a cat and a cockatiel. The chickens next door visit occasionally, as do our lovely neighbours!

We both like many different kinds of music, as long as it's good! Our interests are diverse; science and nature, environmental issues, human behaviour, Nordic Thrillers, subversive cartoons, good comedy, anything slightly left of centre I guess.

We both like higher-end television: ABC, BBC, SBS, HBO, Showtime, etc., anything intelligent and well-written.

Our lifestyle is not regulated by 9 to 5 routine. We are both easy going, and the house is a comfortable and casual environment.

Languages: English

The neighbourhood

Similar listings