Always fresh clean quality cotton towels providedWardrobe and comfy chair for watching the tv if required. Bookshelf has local and other travel information for guest use.
Cosy Room in Quiet Suburb w/ Wifi

Private room

2 guests

1 bedroom

1 bed
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

Clean, comfortable double room in quiet suburb with excellent transport links for Glasgow, Prestwick Airport and exploring Ayrshire. Perfect for short stays for singles or couples. Hopefully, a home-from-home and not just a BnB!

The space

Comfortable wee house with double bed in guest room. Let as budget self-catering but all bedding, towels and tea/coffee will be provided (no dairy milk tho as I don't drink it!).

Shared bathroom with shower/sink/WC. Guests are more than welcome to use the kitchen with washing machine (small additional fee of £1 for this including eco-friendly detergent & fabric conditioner), fridge/freezer etc.
Kitchen has most cooking appliances: as well as the fan-assisted oven and induction hob there's a slow cooker (crockpot), food processor, blender and microwave oven.

The living room/lounge also has a dining area as well as HD TV, bluray and Amazon Fire player (with an Amazon Prime and Netflix accounts) and guests are welcome to borrow any DVDs to watch in their room if required. The bedroom also has a small HD tv which will have either the Roku or Amazon Fire players to stream catch-up tv.

The bed is a coach style metal sofa bed base with proper bed slats and mattress and anti-allergy topper. Most guests have generally found it very comfortable :). The room was redecorated late 2015, with brand new carpet and has a wardrobe with hangers and HD TV with built-in DVD player (and USB slot) and has a Roku3 for streaming catch-up TV, Netflix & Amazon. Double electric socket also has 2 usb slots so no need for a convertor plug if you're travelling from outside the UK.

Guest access

Kitchen
Bathroom
Lounge
Garden
Fridge/freezer
Washing machine
Cooker etc

Interaction with guests

I want to offer a home-from-home accommodation at budget prices and don't want people to feel they're confined to just the room they are sleeping in.
I always try to be around during stays, when possible, and happy to socialise if am not busy or out :). Equally, I am happy to leave guests to themselves if they prefer, and will give up the lounge for their use if they require it.
I have genuinely loved some of the many varied and interesting people I have met through doing AirBnB and hope to continue to meet many more :).

Other things to note

First off - Please remember I'm NOT in Glasgow! Glasgow is 22 miles away although it is very quick and easy to get to, particularly if you are coming by car/motorbike. The nearest airport is Glasgow PRESTWICK (15 miles away), Glasgow International is also around 22-24 miles away but is reachable in approximately 30-35 minutes by car or about 90 minutes to 2 hours by train/bus.

I am waiting to get my new kitchen installed which will not be until the autumn :( However I have already gifted a cupboard from the current kitchen when it was anticipated the job was to be completed in April but was let down. So the kitchen isn't as neat as it should be!

Whilst my own feline friend is currently missing, I am fostering another cat at the moment.


The duvet on the bed is goose feather, if you require a hollow fibre one, please let me know and this can be swapped.

I prefer guests to check-out by 10:15 am Monday-Friday and 12:00 at weekends. This can be negotiated, if necessary. Check-in is flexible too, just let me know your arrival time if it is going to be much earlier than 18:00, and I can make other arrangements for you to let yourselves in.

Gay-friendly and colour-blind (goes without saying!!!).


Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 double bed

The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1 (Shared washroom)
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: Flexible
Check Out: 12PM (noon)
Pet Owner: Cat(s)
Room type: Private room

Amenities

Prices
Extra people $7 CAD / night after the first guest
Security Deposit $137 CAD
Weekly Discount: 10%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check in time is flexible

No shoes in the bedroom please.

Non-smoking household, can smoke out in the garden if required.

Please respect my belongings in the shared spaces and return any DVDs/Books you may borrow.

Please clean/tidy up after yourselves - especially at the end of your stay.
If you cook meat then please wash the pots up thoroughly though, since I am vegetarian, thanks!

Please eat meals in the living room/dining area and not in the bedroom.

Help me to help the environment - put aside any towels you don't use and please recycle! Nearly everything can be recycled - please rinse out food/drink cans and place in their separate bins in the kitchen. Thank you :)

You must also acknowledge
Must climb stairs
Pet(s) live on property
Some spaces are shared - Bathroom/WC Kitchen Living Room

Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
First aid kit
Lock on bedroom door

Availability
1 night minimum stay

106 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Martina User Profile
September 2017
We had a lovely stay at Donna's! Incredibly friendly and helpful! If we returned to Kilmarnock we would happily stay there again!

Genevieve User Profile
September 2017
Donna was very welcoming and offered us a room after such late notice. She gave us very useful information about Scotland and gave us a spare book on castles after we told her we are going castle hunting. The bed was extremely comfortable and our stay after a long travel was very pleasant.

高慧 User Profile
August 2017
Donna is very very nice. When I arrived her room, it was very late. Donna waited for me at the bus stop and sent me home. She gave me many fruits and vegetables. The room was so nice,quite and clean. If have another change for the next time, I will live Donna's room again.

Kristyna User Profile
August 2017
Donna is an amazing host! First of all, she picked me up at the bus stop what I appreciated very much as it was raining and this was just much better than looking for her house. The house overall was clean, the room was actually even nicer than I expected, very cosy and pleasant to stay at. Donna is very friendly and kind person, very nice to talk to, and she cooked a delicious dish! I really enjoyed my stay at her place, there´s absolutely nothing to complain about. I was very happy with what I got.

Lizabeth User Profile
August 2017
Donna is a great hostess with a warm and inviting home. The room is cute and the bed comfortable. Everything was very clean. She helped us with pickng a resturant for dinner (relly good italian). We were having some issues with the phone we purchased and she was able to direct us to an EE shop to get it worked out. All in all a great stay. Would love to stay again, for longer.

Haily User Profile
August 2017
Quiet and relaxing. Nice walking trails through parks relatively nearby. She is also a super person!

Tod-David User Profile
August 2017
Comfortable room, great host.

Scotland, United KingdomJoined in December 2013
Donna User Profile

Budding historian and keenly interested in live music, films, the arts, literature and photography. Quite a bit (a lot?!) of a geek too which I was told I should mention incase any fellow geeks want a safe haven to geek out for a few days! ;-) ... Particularly love Dr Who, Batman and the Marvel films/series.
If you're not a geek, then don't worry, I'm just as amiable to other genres too!

Loving history, I love to visit places that have a rich cultural history to explore and especially castles and medieval buildings. My favourite places I've been able to visit include Stockholm, Barcelona, Porto, Cork, Dublin & Sri Lanka. Still many places to tick off though when finances allow!

Love getting out and about into the glorious countryside, and am grateful that we have no shortage of stunning scenery in Scotland.

I try to live my life by ethics and morals; therefore I try to use environmentally-friendly products (all my household electricity comes from renewable sources), use local produce and buy organic as much as I can afford and I'm mainly vegetarian.

As a (seasoned!) host, I hope to welcome you to my lovely wee house that I am slowly making my own. Some of it is a work-in-progress (not a building site tho!!) and will improve as time goes on (such as getting a new kitchen and bathroom). I've mostly had a brilliant experience with AirBnB so far and am looking forward to continuing to meet new and interesting people.

Well-travelled within the UK and am more than willing to assist in giving advice for places to visit & go out around and about both Scotland, Wales, Ireland and England! :)

Life's motto? Life's too short, so enjoy every day as much as possible and remember, those that try to make your life miserable aren't worth the stress and effort it takes to hate!

Languages: English
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighbourhood

Similar listings