So sorry you feel so upset Claire. We assumed that you would probably leave us a review like this since (A) we did ask you to cover the cost of us having to repaint the floor and (B) you reviewed us right after you paid the repaint cost and it seems like you were maybe still upset about the situation. We made sure that before we reviewed you that we took a week to calm down and assess the situation rationally so that we could give you an honest and fair review. I know that it is upsetting that you had to pay, but it can't cost us money because you chose to invite twice as many people inside the property than you told us about and therefore the floors got ruined. You mention that it was a "little" mud, but we sent you (and Airbnb) the photos, and as you know there was so much mud and scuff marks (from the guys shoes, who again were not supposed to be there) that when we tried to clean it the mud smeared and stained and we couldn't get the scuff marks up...so unfortunately for everyone we had to repaint.
I didn't remember you being so unhappy with us or the property when you first arrived, so I went back to read your initial message from when you first checked in. You said "We’re all settled in and we love it! It’s so beautiful. Thanks again for letting us stay!" If you had any issues with the property, we would have loved to have known about them during your stay so that we would have had the opportunity to correct them.
I'm not sure why you feel "nickel and dimed". We charged you the exact agreed upon amount (3 days rental fee and the $40 cleaning fee) which is completely normal and you approved it by moving forward with the booking. The only other thing we charged you for was cost to repaint the floors as mentioned above. We haven't asked you for anything else. The $40 cleaning fee covers normal cleaning (vacuuming, washing sheets, cleaning showers and toilets), but we still have our "check out" procedures and part of that is asking you to clean up after yourself and not leaving the place in such a mess where repainting the floors is the only option we have to get the property back in rentable condition for the next guest.
As for the parking...we have other properties we rent here. We did have to ask several times to move the extra cars to the back parking lot out of respect to our other guests. We asked you on Airbnb and then we asked some of your guests in person after they were parked in the parking spot designated for our other rental unit. Some cars were moved, and then as your extra uninvited guests arrived they continued to park in the way. We had complaints from our other renter, because they couldn't get in or out of the parking lot since one of your guests was still parked sideways in the wrong area. So that also became a problem that we had to fix, which is why we kept asking you about it.
You mentioned in your review that you feel disrespected, and we are truly sorry you felt that from us, however we feel equally as disappointed on this end. We've rented this property for extended periods of time…from weeks to even months and those renters left the property in better shape than you did after 36 hours. We initially spoke to Katelyn (one of your bridesmaids) about this rental on your behalf before you officially booked it. We told her "Our only cause for concern would be that we would not be able to allow you guys to really "decorate" the space. For example using glitter or candles, screw in or tape things to walls, etc...things that create a mess or possible hazard to the property.” We voiced our concerns up front to hopefully prevent this exact thing from happening. We moved forward and agreed to rent to you and 5 other girls, with the last 4 bridesmaids coming for just the day of so that you could all be together. However, we got there and saw roughly 20 or more people inside the property, and we were a bit shocked. We wrote you a couple of messages and asked you about it, and never got a response back until you guys had already left.
All in all...the over riding issue here is that the house rules weren't followed. There were twice as many people here than we were told of which is how the floors got destroyed. We asked for the parking rules to be followed for the courtesy of the other renters who were staying...those rules weren't followed. We have signs inside the property and on the check in sheet that say "Please Help Us Keep The Floors White For Our Other Guests"...and those rules weren't followed.