Our Home is Your HomeYour bedside table...love that clock!

Private room

2 guests

1 bedroom

1 bed
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

Our clean and cozy near 100-year old dutch colonial house sits on Forest Hill Park (enjoy hiking trails, farmer's market, outdoor movies), and just a block from the famous James River. We are 2-3 Miles from Carytown, Downtown, Museums, and The Fan.

The space

Our location is second-to-none, as the house literally sits on Forest Hill Park, famous for its hiking/biking trails, South of James Farmer's Market, and River Access. If you're here on a Saturday, you don't want to miss Richmond's best and biggest farmer's market...the South of the James. It's just a 5 minute walk on a woodsy trail from our porch. Farmer's market or not, we highly recommend exploring the trails and park right out the front door.

And don't forget about the mighty James River, simply follow Reedy Creek (just down a hill from the front porch) about two blocks and you'll be ready to take on the James. Enjoy kayaking, canoeing, sunbathing, swimming, or building a fire on the rocks. Also, it's dog friendly! There's also a great fishing spot on the river where you can catch catfish, bass, and other kinds of fish.

We are 2-3 miles (5-8 minutes) from most anything you'd want to see. (Downtown, Carytown, Museums, Fan, Breweries). Great roads for biking to all the popular destinations or you can walk, drive, or take pubic transit.

The private room features a full sized bed with a high-quality firm mattress. We use high thread count premium Egyptian cotton sheets and make sure you're stocked with all the pillows you need to ensure a great night sleep. Room also features original hardwood floors and windows with nice view of the park, new ceiling fan, antique armoire, clean towels, a closet to yourself, and a cool little clock.

The private guest bathroom is just down the stairs and has recently been renovated with tiled shower and new appliances. This bathroom is 100% private. Only you have access.

There's also access to a new queen air mattress with Egyptian Cotton sheets.

You have access to our entire home, including our cozy living room with fireplace, kitchen with gas cooking, dining room, and spacious fenced in backyard complete with mature crepe myrtles and massive pine trees.

We also have a nice medium sized dog named Andy; he will certainly warm your heart!

Amenities include:
- Tea/Coffee Access (French Press or Pour Over)
- TV (with Apple TV)
- WiFi (Verizon FIOS)
- Private Bathroom
- Laundry Access
- Central AC/Heat
- Working Fireplace
- Front porch swing overlooking park

Our schedule is constantly changing, but if we are around we are happy to direct you to fun things!

Interaction with guests

Depends on our schedule. If we are around, we are happy to show you some of our favorite spots or you are welcome to join us on a walk with our dog through the park/neighborhood.


The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1 (Private washroom)
Bed type: Real Bed
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: Anytime after 3PM
Check Out: 12PM (noon)
Pet Owner: Dog(s)
Room type: Private room

Amenities

Prices
Cleaning Fee: 13
Weekly Discount: 20%
Weekend Price: 88 / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules
No smoking
No parties or events
Check in is anytime after 3PM

Please hang wet towels on the towel hooks in room (not the antique bed frame).


Cancellations

Moderate

Cancel up to 5 days before your trip and get a full refund. Cancel within 5 days of your trip and the first night is non-refundable, but 50% of the cost for the remaining nights will be refunded.


Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher

Availability
1 night minimum stay

69 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
We stayed with Shawn & Melissa for one night. They were very accommodating and nice. The only thing I would say is the mattress is so so, when it comes to comfort. We wish them well!

Caitlin User Profile
May 2017
My boyfriend, our dog, and I travelled to Richmond for the Riverrocks festival on Brown's Island. They were very easy to coordinate with ahead of the trip. They ended up being out of town the weekend we stayed, so we didn't get to meet our hosts unfortunately, but we did get the entire home to ourselves and were able to check in early. The fenced in back yard was perfect for our dog. Our room was cozy and comfortable. The bathroom was recently redone and was great. While the house is located on the south side of the James River, we were able to Uber all over Richmond and all of our rides cost under $10. Just be careful to note that the key provided doesn't unlock the back door, we had one scare were we thought we were locked out. Overall, this was a great experience using Airbnb and we'd definitely stay here again!

Anthony User Profile
April 2017
Very friendly, great communication. Lovely people.

Jeremy User Profile
April 2017
Clean welcoming place adjacent to river trails as promised. Shawn and Melissa were great and really made us feel at home.

Deepthi User Profile
April 2017
Great place to stay! Near downtown but quite neighborhood. Great family and lovely Andy(dog).

Brianna User Profile
April 2017
Shawn and Melissa were wonderful hosts. Their dog Andy is cute and people friendly and their baby was adorable. Wish I had gotten a chance to stay longer and enjoy their hospitality more, but I was only around for a weekend. If I ever get a chance to return to Richmond, I hope they have an opening because I would love to stay with them again. And yes, the bed sheets are amazing.

Tony User Profile
February 2017
Shawn+Melissa were wonderful hosts with a great little place that's central to all the sights but also tucked away in a quiet neighborhood. They were open, welcoming, and communication was a breeze. Their dog Andy is also a sweetheart and a true gentleman.

This host has 5 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Richmond, Virginia, United StatesJoined in March 2014
Shawn & Melissa User ProfileShawn & Melissa is a superhost.

Our family (Shawn, Melissa, and James (infant)) live in Richmond, VA. We are pretty easy going and enjoy hosting folks, whether through Airbnb or friends around town. In case you were wondering, our baby James is great sleeper (no guarantees) and an all-around nice guy :) We enjoy cooking and most things food related, being outside and experiencing nature, and love us a good movie. We also love traveling and exploring the USA and abroad.

We love Richmond and Virginia and look forward to sharing its many wonders with you!

Languages: Español
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.

Similar listings