This room can be made up with two twin bedsThis room can be made up with one King sized bed
Stylish Downtown Double Room


Private room

2 Guests

1 Bedroom

2 Beds


Private room

2 Guests

1 Bedroom

2 Beds

Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

This is a lovely private room with two twin beds OR one King bed (your choice), in a beautiful 1890's Victorian townhome that is located in one of the major up and coming neighbourhoods in the city and walking distance to all downtown attractions.


The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1 (Shared washroom)
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 2
Check Out: 11AM
Room type: Private room

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: $12 CAD / night after the first guest
Cleaning Fee: $12 CAD
Weekend Price: $82 CAD / night

Description

The space

This is a lovely private room with two twin beds or one King bed. Our home is a beautifully renovated 1890's Victorian town home. We are located downtown on the Lower East Side in one of the major up and coming neighbourhoods in the city and walking distance to all downtown attractions and amenities.

Guest access

Guests are welcome to access all public areas of the home. Amenities: high speed internet, iron. and light kitchen use. Laundry and parking are available for an extra fee. Meal plan or more extensive kitchen use is available for an extra charge.

Interaction with guests

We are happy to meet our guests and chat, or to give people their privacy so that they can work or relax alone. We love having people stay with us. It gives us the opportunity to meet all kinds of interesting travelers from around the world.

The neighbourhood

The Lower East Side is a beautiful downtown neighbourhood. You can walk or take short transit rides to the Eaton Centre, The Toronto Convention Centre, The Art Gallery of Ontario, Kensington Market, Chinatown, The Royal Ontario Museum, The Hockey Hall of Fame, The CN Tower, Bata Shoe Museum, Dundas Square, Distillery District, The Toronto Island Ferry, City Hall, The Theatre District, and so much more.

Getting around

There is 24 hour streetcar service. Two streetcars and one bus stop very close to our home. It is a 5 minute streetcar ride or a 15 minute walk to the subway.

Street Parking Is Available. You can go online and order and print a temporary street parking permit from the Toronto City website. We can help you access it when you arrive if you need.

Transit Instructions from Pearson Airport:
You can get the Pearson Express train to Union Station for $12.
From Union Station, you can take an Uber Taxi for $6-8 or the TTC for $3.25, or you can walk.

Transit Instructions from Union Station:
Subway Line 1 to Queen Station
501 (Queen) Streetcar East to Tracy street (Tracy street is one stop past Parliament Street)
Walk North to on Tracy Street to Shuter Street
Walk West on Shuter Street to 369

Transit Instructions from Toronto Coach Terminal:
505 (Dundas) streetcar East to Regent Street
Walk south on Regent street to Shuter.

Transit Instructions from Billy Bishop Airport:
310 (Bathurst) streetcar North to Queen Street
501 (Queen) Streetcar East to Tracy street (Tracy street is one stop past Parliament Street)
Walk North to on Tracy Street to Shuter Street
Walk West on Shuter Street to 369

Other things to note

Please check with us before doing laundry. We charge $3 per load which includes the use of the washer, dryer, or drying rack, soap and dryer sheets.


House Rules
No smoking
No parties or events

We do not allow smoking in our home.
I expect guests be respectful of our home and our family and other guests.
If you use any dishes, please wash, dry and put them away.


Cancellations

Moderate

Cancel up to 5 days before your trip and get a full refund, including service fees.


Safety features
First aid kit
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
Safety card

Availability
1 night minimum stay

206 Reviews


Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Cole User Profile
April 2017
We stayed at Elaine and Greg's for a night. Everything was lovely from the entry way to the kitchen. Greg was nice enough to show us how to work the shower! However, our room was a different story. We had the room upstairs right by the bathroom. The room was extremely hot, could hear every time someone went to the bathroom, bed squeaked every time you moved, and pet hair was not properly cleaned from last guest. One of the biggest issues I had was with my boyfriend and I waking up in the middle of the night with what looked like bug bites on us(arms, legs, and stomach). Overall for the amount we paid it was just a place to lay our heads.
Elaine & Greg User Profile
Response from Elaine & Greg:
Hi Cole, we are sorry that you felt the need to express such disappointed with your stay. However, we have to say that we are extremely disappointed that after we had to repeatedly ask you to leave when you were still in the room many hours past checkout time, and we were kind enough not to mention it in your review, that you would write such a disingenuous and dishonest review. While you were here, you seemed quite happy with everything, including the room and in several conversations, never once indicated that you were the least bit unhappy. In fact, it was just the opposite. You booked a room in our active family home, an 1890's Victorian rowhouse that is right downtown. Houses like this are wonderful, but they come with smaller rooms and a certain amount of inherent noise. If you were expecting a suburban house or hotel experience, we are clear that is not what we offer. The room was cleaned and prepared before your arrival and we have not had a pet in the house or that room for over a year, so we find that comment suspect. However, the comment we take most offense to and is an outright lie, is your reference to bugs. We absolutely don't have any bugs in that room, and there are hundreds of stellar reviews from people that have stayed in the same room before and now after you, support that. If you actually had bug bites, then it was obviously from your previous stay, most likely a hotel. If there were really any bugs, then maybe you brought them with you. However, there have been no bugs since you have left. And considering you decided to overstay for several hours in a room that supposedly had bugs, that also seriously calls into question the veracity of your claims. For you take this kind of vindictive move with your review is extremely disheartening and entirely against the spirit of what the Airbnb community is all about. Reviews are supposed to be a positive and constructive dialogue of the true experience and how it can be improved. They are not supposed to be an exercise in slander. We have never said this before to anyone, but we encourage you to avoid Airbnb in the future and stick to hotels so you don't hurt any other of the many amazing hosts out there that open their homes and work incredibly hard to offer their guests a great experience.
April 2017

Sam User Profile
April 2017
We stayed at Elaine & Greg's place for a night. The place is as described, clean, cozy and comfy. Self checkin is a bonus especially that we arrived late at night. Elaine was very friendly and communicated with us on timely manner. I would stay at her place again.

María User Profile
April 2017
I liked the place so much... I stayed only for 1 night and I couldn't talk that much with Elaine or greg, but elaine was really nice and welcoming. It's clean and they have wifi, is in the downtown so you can walk to the subway or if you need to take a bus is close. I recommend this place!

Eliza User Profile
April 2017
Welcoming hosts, sweet townhouse, walkable neighborhood :)

Kyungshin User Profile
April 2017
The house is so clean&wide and also beds are super cozy:)

S User Profile
April 2017
Very comfortable, clean, and modern amenities. Great hosts and interesting guests! Can't go wrong!

Dylan User Profile
April 2017
Was an excellent place to stay!

This host has 744 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews

Toronto, Canada · Joined in August 2014
Elaine & Greg User Profile
Response rate: 100%
(past 30 days)
Response time: within an hour

Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.