2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
You won’t be charged yet

Studio located in Garcia Gineres, 5 minutes by bus from the centre and close to many services (laundry, super cheap restaurants) and to the park of Las Americas.
Paseo de Montejo is 20 minutes walking.
The apartment has a new queen size mattress, a ceiling fan, a small table, 2 chairs, a minibar and a coffee machine.
In the porch there is our italian restaurant where the WIFI works better and the guests can use their notebook as long as they want

The space

Room with a new queen size mattress, small table, new minibar and a coffee machine.
The studio has indipendent access and is located behind the restaurant. At the entrance there is a small garden where you have your privacy. Outside there is our italian restaurant where you can eat good italian food (pizza, lasagna and more) with an additional discount as guests.
The best location for the use of WIFI is in the porch

Guest access

La Romana is in the colonial neighborhood of Garcia Gineres, just 20 mt from Avenida Itzaes and the Hotel Flamboyanes

Interaction with guests

We like to know our guests and where they come from. We hope to be able to give them some useful suggestions about the stay and if they are interested to live here I am a realtor so surely I can help them

Free parking on premises
Wireless Internet
Laptop friendly workspace

Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check-in time is 1PM - 9PM
Check out by 10AM

a copy of the passport and simply be kind


5 Reviews

Check In
Yoram User Profile
June 2016
I have read Carmen's review below before I booked. I thought the points she brought up more than a year ago have been taken care of by now. NOT SO!!! There is no wifi in the room. Francesco nonchalantly said to use the neighbors wifi but he must have changed the password since the ones Francesco gave didn't work. You can sit in the front of his house and use the wifi there and I did it once, and was promptly attacked by the mosquitoes, but I want to sit in my room and do my things! And don't get me started on the mattress! The worst mattress ever! EVER!!! You can literally feel every single spring in it and when you move the springs crackle and complain. All this mentioned by Carmen and was never fixed. Almost all places I've been to have either a fridge or access to one. I stayed more than one night and I am a budget travler or I wouldn't choose Airbnb! I want to buy some food and store it. Francesco offered to give him or his wife the stuff and they will put it in their fridge and when I want it I'll have to ask them to give it to me. Really? I mean REALLY? I'm an adult, I don't ask for permission to use a fridge. The place could really use an A/C. Like most exposed places in the carribean (walls an ceilings are in the direct sun) the room is hotter inside at night than it is outside. Even with the windows open it was stiffelin inside. Oh...and BTW, I was never offered breackfast even though it was supposed to be included but that's OK since I'm the fruit for breakfast kind of guy.
Francesco User Profile
Response from Francesco:
Yoram what did you think to find spending $ 10/night ? Better not see you again
June 2016

Anna User Profile
November 2015
Francesco was very lovely. The room is plain but its all you need for a comfy and enjoyable stay. Francesco kindly searched his house at midnight for our bathroom key when we accidentally locked it, and also gave us a list to the bus station when we were leaving. Would recommend staying here to anyone. Sadly we did not get a chance to try his pizzas, but they smelt amazing.

Carmen User Profile
January 2015
Based on our experience this is what we can tell you: * The bedroom is very spacious. * The bathroom is decent sized and recently renewed. * The towels were brand new. * Breakfast included coffee, bread with ham & cheese. There is an OXXO near by where you can buy extra things if you'd like to buy your own food. * Location is ok. We paid an average of 50-70 pesos to get to downtown by taxi. Some taxis asked for more, but we got charged that based on a taximeter. * Public transportation cost like 10 pesos. * There is a few reasonable priced restaurants near by where you can find chicken and traditional Mexican food. Francesco and his wife can prepare really good Italian food, for 50-75 pesos/dish. Not bad specially for a pizza that can easily feed 2 people. * The mattress - Although the mattress was brand new, it was poor quality. We have traveled a lot and we've never slept on a mattress that gets more uncomfortable and noisy with each passing night. We told Francesco about this, but he didn't seem too concerned (and a little annoyed that we brought it up). I hope that he does decide to buy a better mattress for future guests. * Wi-Fi - Upon arrival the wi-fi did not work in the room. Francesco did buy a range extender the next day, didn't do much good. My husband tried to advise him on finding the right "spot" to place the extender. But, Francesco didn't have the patience to play around with it much. We ended using the neighbor's wi-fi for the entire stay (we got lucky and guessed the password). We told Francesco the we were using the neighbor's wi-fi, and he seemed satisfied with this solution. The Verdict: Francisco's place has a lot of potential. We gave him our personal feedback based on our experience as long term travelers and landlords. If he fixes the little things, we believe this can be a great place for people on a budget. Also, we noticed that his moods were volatile. He seem very nice and friendly at first. He was always asking how everything was. But as we told him about the little issues we noticed/experienced (there were several), his attitude towards us totally changed. Near the end of our stay, he suggested that we leave if we weren't happy there. At the end of our stay, we both felt really uncomfortable. And, if it wasn't because we hate packing and moving, we would have left his place early like he suggested. ********************************************** I'm giving 4 stars because we were the host's first guests and we understand that most of the problems we may not affect future travelers. Francesco just needs to work on his attitude, because no one likes to feel uncomfortable as a guest.
Francesco User Profile
Response from Francesco:
Carmen, this is your opinion and i respect it, but honestly was very hard continue to patiente and kindness if you were always unsatisfied. I did all my best to give you a respectable stay. Just some corrections on your observations: 1) About wifi. I tried to place in all the socket near your apartments so its not true when you say that i haven't had the patience to make other attempts; 2) the mattress was new and you were the first users. You say that it was of a bad quality.....maybe, but our children used since 4 months without any kind of problems in any case i have already contacted the assistance; 3) about the suggestion to leave the apartment, its true but i specified that i would have refund your money. I did it because it was really depressing hear so many complaints. Luckily the other guests felt better. In any case thank you for the compliments about the cuisine and the studio.
January 2015

Émile User Profile
April 2015
Chambre tout à fait décente dans un quartier tranquille à 10 minutes du centre en autobus. Francesco est très sympathique et accueillant. Pas d'eau chaude et faible pression d'eau, mais il fait si chaud qu'une petite pluie fraîche est très agréable! Merci pour tout!

Pierrick User Profile
December 2015
Chambre en conformité avec son prix

Merida, MexicoJoined in January 2014
Francesco User Profile

Recently me and my family moved in Mexico from Italy.
We have opened a small italian restaurant in front of our house and we rent an indipendent studio located in the property.
I work in international real estate too.
Me and my wife like sports and there are many places in Merida where you can practise spending really few money.
My favourite writers are: Somerset Maugham, Milan Kundera, Ernest Hemingway, Guy de Maupassant, and more.

Languages: English, Español, Italiano

The neighbourhood

Similar listings