Guest bedroomGuest bedroom
Fabulous Bicycle Haven - large room

Private room

2 guests

1 bedroom

1 bed
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

Not a hotel, hostel or BnB. It's a sharehouse. Our guests interact with our household, can have open discussion, and join us for meals. Does this sound like you? Homestay in a sociable 4 bedroom household of professionals, locals and mature travelers. This is a large room furnished with queen bed. Located in quiet street, close to large markets. Drug free and smoke free. Common areas shared by house mates including kitchen, bathroom, lounge room, and laundry. 30 minute bicycle to city centre.

The space

We are a local and international household, smoke and drug-free apart from the occasional beer/wine. We have a large veggie patch in the backyard and some bee hives. The house is shared with 3 other professionals and mature travelers in a 4 bedroom house, which may include AirBnB guests, families with children and/or babies. Also sharing with over 10 bicycles and one or two bike nuts in the rear of the house, and there may also be a cat and dog in the backyard. Please note there is only one rather shabby bathroom, hence the comparatively cheap price. Babies and children are welcome, although the house is not child proof.
This is a huge room (4m by 3.5m or 13'2" by 11'6") and provided fully furnished with queen size bed, desk, chair and shelves. It is a private room inside a house with shared common areas in the lounge room, kitchen and bathroom. Guests are provided bedding, linen, towel, and soap.
Our wooden building is old (not at all modern) and it is a typical Melbourne house. Expect to see a spider web in the corner, maybe a mosquito at dusk, it has cracks in the wall, a wonky floor, gaps in the windows, cluttered with things, but we keep it tidy and respect the space. It is definitely not a sterile hotel room, nor a modern town house apartment. It's rather organic.
The house is poorly insulated so it gets chilly in Winter; May to September are cold; October to December, and March to April are cool. Summer it gets quite hot in February.
We have large front loader washing machine, iron and ironing board for use - free of charge. No dryer, we just hang our clothes on the outside line or on a clothes rack.
An electric fan heater is available on request which guests can use in their bedroom at cost price $0.25/kW/Hour. I waive the fee to guests if total cost is less than $10 (that’s about 30 hours of heater usage). If a guest uses an electric heater all day and night it can add up to an expensive bill for the guest (about $10/day).
Guest room is $35 pppn. Peak periods can be a bit extra. Occasionally price cheaper to fill in short term gaps. There is a $20 booking (cleaning) fee, so the longer the stay, the cheaper the average price per night.
Melbourne average daily temperatures:
Summer 14-28C (sometimes hot spells of a week at 40C)
April 11-20C
July 7-14C
October 10-20C
If this is your first time using AirBnB please make sure you have entered a profile description - it helps find a good match. Please do not send me email address or phone number for an off-system transaction, all correspondence through AirBnB. This is a homestay rather than a hotel, and we enjoy guests that interact and socialise with our other house-mates. Guests that lock themselves away in their "hotel" bedroom make us uncomfortable (and get a poor rating). To avoid disappointment, please fully read house description and rules.
FYI this is not a share room; not a dormitory room; not a hotel room. We have rules and expectations about tidiness, and prefer guests that are house trained in doing own dishes and cleaning after themselves.

Guest access

I typically will greet guests on arrival and provide keys for the front door and the guest bedroom. I work weekdays 9 to 5pm, so can great guests after 6pm on weekdays. There is often an AirBnB guest at home when I am at work.

Interaction with guests

GLBT friendly. Expect a social and friendly atmosphere typical of an international homestay. 3 other guests in the house, so there will be interaction. We are a social group and prefer housemates that are social. It's nice when guests keep their door open for a chat.
Expect visitors and friends dropping in, visits from lead tenant including sounds of furious cleaning, maybe a BBQ, or a group bike ride. We like to encourage a social atmosphere and hope to share some international stories. Open and social guests are welcome. To be frank and honest, all our previous guests over 50 years age did not enjoy our share house as it did not meet a variety of their expectations.
Long term tenants are requested to be on the cleaning roster, which is 1 hour cleaning every 2 weeks.
Currently we have 2 long term guests in the other rooms. Sometimes we have an adopted foster dog temporarily living in the backyard. We get all sorts of dogs, ones that bark at night, ones that are a bit weird. We take care of them until they find a permanent home.

Other things to note

Guests are provided linen, duvet, blanket, pillow, towel, soap and shampoo. There is wireless and cable internet available in each room. The bedroom door can be locked, and a key is provided for the bedroom and front door. The kitchen is free to use and also free use of some of the shared condiments. I am a bee-keeper and make honey from the backyard, so plenty of free honey. Occasionally a bee will enter the house at night time (easy to remove) so please take note if allergies are an issue. Also have an abundant vegetable patch, guests free to use.
I am a keen mountain biker and have a few extra MTB available you are welcome to join me riding single track in the forest. There are is fairly long river trails directly opposite the house, and a designated bike ring trail (see capital city trail).
Footscray is a great inner city suburb.


Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed
Common spaces
3 queen beds, 1 single bed

The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1 (Shared washroom)
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: 6PM - 11PM
Check Out: 12PM (noon)
Pet Owner: Dog(s)
Room type: Private room
Self check-in: Doorman

Amenities

Prices
Extra people $20 CAD / night after the first guest
Cleaning Fee $30 CAD
Security Deposit $203 CAD
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check in time is 6PM - 11PM

In particular we love the share house guests that can promptly wash their own dishes, dry the bathroom floor after their shower, wipe down table surfaces after their food prep and meals, and flush the toilet (alllll the way down). If any of these tasks sound difficult then we are likely to be a poor match.
Aim for 5 minute showers; it frees up the bathroom for others. No smoking inside the house, or in the front/back yard (including e-cigarettes, bongs, vaporizers). This is a great house to quit smoking altogether. As mentioned above, this is a drug free house ie. we don't do drug and we are not interested in talking about drugs.
No proselytizing on behalf of any religious/spiritual/lifestyle/corporate/pyramid/ponzi organization. Golden rule - clean up own mess. We are a homestay with expectations on being tidy in the common areas.

Our share house highly rates guests who are sociable and can be open, regardless of their spoken language. We poorly rate guests who; avoid interaction, stay locked in their bedroom, or are fixated by a mobile phone.

We have had a few guests who have attempted to conceal their friends stay over the night. We encourage guests to be upfront, open and transparent about this. It is important that guests ask permission to have friends stay over in our home. Guests that try to conceal this rate very poorly. Please note an extra guest will be billed for the whole duration of the booking regardless of how many nights they stay. This is cost prohibitive for guests who wish to have visitors stay temporarily.

You must also acknowledge
Potential for noise - 7am to midnight. Regualr household noise - tv, cooking, cleaning, social chatter.
Pet(s) live on property - Cat, and sometimes a foster dog
Some spaces are shared - The bedroom is private. Living room, kitchen, bathroom, garden is shared.
Amenity limitations - Personal electric heater is PAYG. Aim for 5 minute showers to free up bathroom for others.

Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher
Lock on bedroom door

Availability
1 night minimum stay

36 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Catherine User Profile
June 2017
Had a great stay. Che took us to town for a walk and showed us all the good spots. Some nights we all contributed and had a meal and a good chat. There was also a welcome basket and each room has its own wifi. Che was also busy organizing computers for all rooms when I left. They have the cutest ginger cat. The house is 200 m from a bus stop and a short walk from the train.

Chantelle User Profile
May 2017
Great stay. Deserve the top host award !

Zhen Yi User Profile
May 2017
Super host! Went the extra mile to help me out with information about getting a visa and uni. Thanks Che!

Jacky User Profile
April 2017
Very nice host and other guest are friendly too. Great location if you want to walk or bike around in the riverside.

Mike User Profile
April 2017
Great relaxed house, good honey, fun and interesting crew. Che and Lily will ensure you have a comfortable stay and have all the Melbourne info to find your way around town. Thanks team!

Pauline User Profile
March 2017
Che and Lilly are really nice host and the house is very welcoming and convivial. I loved to be able to use the bicycles and to find always nice people to talk with in the living room :) The house is very close to great footscray neighborhood, and not far from public transport to get into the city.

Lynette User Profile
March 2017
Friendly atmosphere. Clean room. Very comfty bed :-)

This host has 89 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Joined in December 2013
Che User ProfileChe is a superhost.

Hi. We are often found traveling to the country side, enjoying nature, quirky places and people, sometimes moving by bike or foot. We are both from Australia. I have spent a few years living overseas and speak Mandarin, and my wife is from a big Australian Japanese family and can karaoke fluently in Japanese. Together we are spreading a message of world peace and veggie gardening.

Languages: English, 中文, 日本語
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

About the home

When you stay in an Airbnb, you’re staying in someone’s home.


This is Che’s place.
Che
Lily helps host.
Lily

The neighbourhood

Similar listings