Main entrance to the house. Full kitchen.

Private room

2 guests

1 bedroom

2 beds
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

Traditional PR Mountain house with a calm vibe. It is the perfect place to relax and feel at total peace.

The space

The cost per night for the First Person changes depending on the season and $30 for each additional person.

It is my home and I do the best to make it comfortable. I love the quiet and peace high up on the mountain. Nature is all around, yet only 30 minutes from the capital of San Juan and boarders El Yunque Rain Forest.

Guest access

Guest will have their own bedroom and bathroom. Bedroom consists of two twin beds upstairs in the main house. Shared kitchen and common areas, panoramic deck, parking, gated access to neighborhood.
If you are a smoker, there is NO smoking inside.

Interaction with guests

I come and go throughout the day. There might be a chance that you see me for a few minutes. There might be a chance you'd see me all day doing work, depending on the day. I have three dogs and two cats, so you must be okay with animals as they love all humans.

Other things to note

All people welcome, little and big! If you have allergies to animals, or have little ones that don't know how to interact with animals, this won't be your cup of tea. I do rescue work and sometimes have a foster animal on top of my permanent residents.

This is the rainforest in the Caribbean. You will undoubtedly see bugs, snails, lizards, etc. Please don't be surprised if one makes it inside. This is the fact of life in nature. I do not fumigate as I intend to make as little environmental impact on my local bio niche. Every species has a purpose, and I plan on respecting the bio niche created.


The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 2
Check In: 3PM - 8PM
Check Out: 11AM
Pet Owner: Dog(s) and cat(s)
Room type: Private room

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: 32 / night after the first guest
Cleaning Fee: 26
Weekly Discount: 10%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules
No parties or events
Check in time is 3PM - 8PM

I expect people to treat this like their home, but to be aware that it is also where I live. I expect people to be mindful of noise levels.


Cancellations

Moderate

Cancel up to 5 days before your trip and get a full refund. Cancel within 5 days of your trip and the first night is non-refundable, but 50% of the cost for the remaining nights will be refunded.


Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
Lock on bedroom door

Availability
1 night minimum stay

81 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Julia User Profile
August 2017
The area is spectacular, relaxing, and it has unique views. The house is really located at the top of a mountain and no were near the town. It's in a gated community so if you're a solo traveler like myself, you'll feel safe. Be aware that you will encounter all sorts of insects and you will find them in your room. The multiple dogs and cats climb all over the furniture which made everything smell like them. Get there before dark because it's not an easy drive on the narrow and very curvy non lit roads and it's a bit of a pain to drive. If you like traveling up and down the mountains this would work for you. Recommendation stay at the lower level of the house. Overall Elizabeth was welcoming, very communicative, and a great host!

Yessi User Profile
July 2017
This was by far the most magical and beautiful place we stayed at on our trip. Liz was such a delight and was so warm and welcoming. She let us use her kitchen to cook since we didn't wanna leave to go out to eat. Her dogs and cats are all so loving and would jump into bed to play and cuddle. The location is at the top of a mountain and has many winding roads to it, but the view is absolutely worth it. Loved staying here and would 100% stay again.

Le User Profile
July 2017
Come for the views, stay for the dogs. :)

Wes User Profile
July 2017
I can't rate Elizabeth and her mountain abode more highly. If you need a place to recharge and refresh, this is the place.

Daniel E User Profile
June 2017
I spent 16 days in Elizabeth's mountain home surrounded by an astounding tropical forest and the night-time singing of coquis among other performers. She was highly generous with her space, shared vital information about the island, and dealt calmly with my late, late arrival. I slowly became integrated into the life of her home - 4 dogs and 2 cats - and eventually felt like a part of the group. It's various niches supplied great starting points for meditation and writing. Thanks Liz!

Alex User Profile
June 2017
I love this place. Liz and her dogs make a great pack, and welcoming hosts (once the dogs get to know you a little). Oh, and the cat is pretty great too. The house is secluded and a short drive from some amazing parts of El Yunque rainforest. And if you want any tips on where to go or what to see, Liz is very knowledgable. Even though the surroundings can be loud with insect calls after dark, I had no problem getting to sleep here.

Pavani User ProfilePavani is a superhost.
May 2017
Elizabeth is an amazing host. When I was checking in I had some trouble finding the location and she was immediately available on the phone and could guide me through. When I told her I had a sprained ankle, she helped me with carrying my bags through to the room.

This host has 87 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Canóvanas, Puerto RicoJoined in March 2014
Elizabeth User ProfileElizabeth is a superhost.

An English Professor of 12 years, lover of international travel, rescuer of animals!
I have a beautiful home, and love spending time outdoors and around nature.
My idea of hosting is a "hands off/hands on" approach. I find that many people have their own ideas of what they want while travelling. If that is the case, more power to you. Some people are eager to learn more about PR and its attractions. Since I worked 2 years in tourism, I'd be glad to help travelers learn about the island.
I enjoy having guests coming in and out of my home. I get to meet the world without leaving my tiny island!

Languages: English, Español
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.

Similar listings