Skip to content

Superhost- Cosy Room in Stoke Newington, London.

Private room in apartment hosted by Dieneke
2 guests1 bedroom1 bed1 shared bath
Enhanced Clean
This host committed to Airbnb's 5-step enhanced cleaning process.
Wifi
Guests often search for this popular amenity
Small cosy room with a view, beautiful location, yet close to main attractions. Bus stop right outside flat. No tube nearby. Shared use of bathroom, kitchen & sitting room. Full English breakfast. Wifi, Fresh linen, towels provided. Home away from home. Real London. Perfect location for foodies searching for Hidden eateries.

The space
Small cosy bedroom in lovely Georgian flat, Stoke Newington, Hackney, in a tranquil area whilst conveniently located to explore London or be close to friends.

In addition to the guest room you can share the bathroom, kitchen, living room with windows down to the floor. Your room has a great leafy view. The house was built by Thomas Cubitt in 1826. Cubitt is well-known for the houses he built in Belgravia and Tavistock House for Charles Dickens.

My flat is on the first floor as they say in England, up two flights of stairs.

It's a lovely light and airy flat with the kitchen getting the sun in the morning and the living room, the evening sun at the end of the day.

With the bus stop right outside the flat, you will feel like having your personal taxi that takes you to a myriad of places.

You will have a great start of the day with a lovely breakfast. During the week I will prepare breakfast between 8 and 9, on Sundays between 8.30 and 10.30. Outside of those hours you can help yourself to breakfast, including on Saturday when I leave very early.

The full English Breakfast includes a variety of eggs: poached eggs, fried eggs or scrambled eggs. You can choose to have them with sausages, bacon, tomatoes and/or beans. There is also lovely fresh baked bread from the local Spence bakery. There is also cheese, and marmelade.

You can choose between filter coffee, cappuccino, a variety of teas, orange juice, yoghurt, muesli, cheese, jam and whatever else you fancy from what is available. If you have any special requirements such as no dairy etc let me know beforehand and I will make sure to adapt your breakfast for you.

The bedroom comfortably suits a single person or a couple. It is not suitable for two individuals that won't share. It has a standard double bed (140cm x 200cm) and a memory foam mattress. You will also have the use of a full length cupboard. The room benefits from double glazing. There is also a Smart TV in the guest room.

There is a shared light airy bathroom. Fresh linen, towels and a wash hand are provided as well as your own bath mat. If needed you can use an iron and ironing board. There is also a small hairdryer and plug convertors.

You will have the benefits of surrounding greenery, while being close to the centre of town and other hubs of activity. Little cafes, restaurants and small shops are round the corner, so this is your opportunity to enjoy a quality stay whilst being close to town. Stoke Newington Church Street has become a real food destination.

The flat is conveniently located for the centre of town, the main tourist attractions or trendy Shoreditch.

I don't have any pets, but my downstairs neighbours have a dog, which you sometimes will see in the garden.

I am happy to help with suggestions of things to do, and the welcome manual you will be provided with upon arrival includes tips on where to eat, places of interest and what to do.

I'm the only one in the flat and I work in the design sector. Our office is next to the Walthamstow Marshes, which is a nature reserve.

The flat is up two flights of stairs. There is no lift.

There is no free car parking. 2 hour or 1 day visitor permits are available for £1.15 for 2 hours, and £4.00 for day tickets.

If you are interested, bookings should be made at least 2 days in advance and for a minimum of 2 nights.

Places for sleeping

What this place offers

Kitchen
Wifi
TV with standard cable
EV charger
Washer
Indoor fireplace
Hair dryer
Refrigerator
Microwave
Breakfast

Select check-in date

Add your travel dates for exact pricing
Check-in
Add date
Checkout
Add date

4.78 out of 5 stars from 213 reviews

Cleanliness
Accuracy
Communication
Location
Check-in
Value

Where you’ll be

London, United Kingdom

The area is very friendly and Stoke Newington Church Street is full of small shops and little cafes and restaurants. It has also become a real food destination. Since February 2017 it includes the best pizzeria in the world L'Antica Pizzeria da Michele (see my guidebook) as well as Rasa a famous vegetarian South Indian restaurant.

The greenery makes you feel outside of London whilst benefiting from the good transport links to the centre of town and attractions.

The flat is well situated, being in the middle of the fondly regarded bohemian style area of North East London, Stoke Newington. It's a couple of minutes walk North to Stoke Newington Church Street where there are many restaurants, cafes, delis, shops, pubs, a nice park (Clissold Park), and a great local bakery. A health club with swimming pool, gym and sauna is 3 minutes away.

To the south west , 10 minutes down the road is Dalston, with its many clubs, bars, galleries, live music venues and eateries.

Beyond that 2.5 miles further down the road is Shoreditch, famous for its street art, galleries, music scene and vintage shops. It is now the epicentre of London's creative media and arts community. It is also filled with its own distinctive cool bars, clubs, and restaurants, two famous markets (Brick Lane Sunday Market & Spitalfields Market). And many many galleries

Hosted by Dieneke

Joined in June 2012
  • 213 Reviews
  • Identity verified
I love living in East London, and have done so since the late 70s, when I came here from Holland. I love the multicultural aspect and specifically in East London the amazing creativity that is here. I feel very much at home. In July (Phone number hidden by Airbnb) I participated in the Rio Olympics Torch Relay in Passo Fundo, which is in the South of Brazil representing Airbnb London hosts. This was a magical experience. I love design and set up an organisation called Hidden Art that promotes and supports designers /makers. Initially only in London but later on all over the UK. Still a large percentage of designers/makers are based in East London. In the 90s East London was a rough no go area, but organisations like Hidden Art have contributed to change this over the years. Now it is the coolest area in London. I spent many years facilitating exchanges between creative designers and crafts people which included countries like Peru, Mexico and Cuba. I speak fluent Spanish in addition to Dutch and English. My German and French are a bit more rustic. I am proud to be a superhost and I love hosting guests from all over the world, making my guests feel at home and share experiences from cooking to culture and London. I often travel by bike, a trusty Dutch bike, all over London and to work. I love cooking, travelling, local history and photography. You can see some pictures on (Hidden by Airbnb) HiddenartLondon. Some are from guests but also work from designers and makers and anything else that draws my attention. When I travel I enjoy staying with local people as it gives you more of an insight in the place.
I love living in East London, and have done so since the late 70s, when I came here from Holland. I love the multicultural aspect and specifically in East London the amazing creati…
During your stay
I live in the flat myself but I work during the day. I will always make sure to welcome you when you arrive and ensure you feel at home.

You will be given a key and can come and go as you like.

There is a lot of information in the welcome Manual but I will always be available in case you have any other questions. Whether this is at breakfast or in the evening or during the weekend. I also have many books on London which you are free to consult.
I live in the flat myself but I work during the day. I will always make sure to welcome you when you arrive and ensure you feel at home.

You will be given a key and can…
  • Languages: Nederlands, English, Français, Deutsch, Español
  • Response rate: 0%
  • Response time: a few days or more
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.

Things to know

House rules
Check-in: 2:00 p.m.–11:00 p.m.
Checkout: 12:00 p.m.
Not suitable for children and infants
No smoking
No pets
No parties or events
Health & safety
Committed to Airbnb's enhanced cleaning process. Show more
Airbnb's social-distancing and other COVID-19-related guidelines apply
Carbon monoxide alarm
Smoke alarm
Cancellation policy