kitchen
loft room
Lovely loft room in large family house
Hosted by Catherine
Catherine is the host.
1 guest
1 bedroom
1 bed
1.5 baths
1 guest
1 bedroom
1 bed
1.5 baths
You won’t be charged yet

A double loft room in a large Victorian house in Kemptown, Brighton. The loft style room (sloping ceiling, two Velux windows) is on the third storey near the roof terrace while a shower room and bathroom are on the floor below, for people wanting to stay, shower and go!

The space

This cosy room has blackout blinds, a double bed, drawers and hanging space. Free broadband wi-fi, separate shower and bathroom.

Breakfast is not included in the price but there is a kettle, tea and coffee etc in the bedroom and if you need to put stuff in the fridge just let me know and you are welcome to use the one in the kitchen.

Guest access

Bedroom, bathroom, shower room. Roof terrace, with lovely sea views.
Fridge in kitchen can be used if you ask in advance. Washing machine and dryer can be used for an extra fee of £5. Free wi-fi.

Interaction with guests

I am usually around to say hello and advise on anything, but generally have found people prefer to be left to their own devices!
My two teenagers are sometimes around but usually in their own rooms elsewhere in the house. If I am away you may meet my lovely lodger who can answer any questions etc.

Other things to note

I have two rather fluffy cats which roam about but they are not allowed in bedrooms, please keep the door closed!


Amenities
Kitchen
Wireless Internet

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 double bed

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check in is anytime after 6PM
Check out by 11AM
Self check-in with keypad

No smoking in the house...please leave the room as you would expect to find it if possible :)
Please shower before 10 pm as my lodger lives in the room next door, shower handle is anti clockwise, pop the extraction fan on too if you remember, thanks.

You must also acknowledge
Some pet(s) live in the house

Cancellations

17 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Alex User Profile
September 2017
Nice room and house in a pleasant part of town. Catherine, the host, very friendly and helpful.

Lee User Profile
August 2017
Couldn't have asked for more as a host from Catherine; warm and welcoming and a lovely warm home to stay in. Room was described well and was very comfortable. Great communication prior to arrival and during my stay! Highly recommend :)
Catherine User Profile
Response from Catherine:
Thanks Lee! It was a real pleasure to host you to be honest, really glad you enjoyed your stay and do come next year :) x
August 2017

Rebecca User Profile
July 2017
Catherine's place is a very cute house in a nice neighborhood. A reasonable walk to the beach and easy transport by bus. Catherine is very kind and it was nice to be welcomed into her home!

Alex User Profile
July 2017
Lovely home in great location

Miguel Angel User Profile
June 2017
Nice place, beautiful house and beautiful host. Catherine is a very kind and flexible person and reacts very quick to the needs. Very good and fast communication. The room was perfect to me, silent, confortable, and her adorable cat was always waiting for me outside the room to say miew. The only cons was about the shower, the first day was right but the last day i can't had heat water from it , other than that was perfect. Very recomendable place to stay .

Henrietta User Profile
June 2017
I needed a bed for one night- an emergency situation. Found Catherine's place and liked the sound of it. Was just perfect for me, on my own. Nice room, top of the house. Quiet, clean, comfy. I was only there a short while- but Catherine made me feel very welcome indeed. We chatted over a coffee in the morning on the gorgeous sun terrace, with amazing views over the houses and down to the sea. Easy to find by car. Up a hill but a quiet, residential neighbourhood. (Good bus service into town apparently nearby). Huge, interesting house, two friendly cats. Great!
Catherine User Profile
Response from Catherine:
Thanks Henri, great to meet you and I'm really glad you liked the room and general vibe, always nice to meet lovely Airbnbers! :)
June 2017

Robert User Profile
June 2017
Very dissapointed. Room was shabby. No headboard on bed. No chair. Light bulb missing. Skirting missing. No view other than the sky. Cat hairs on rug. Small cat hairs in bed. The door rattled all of the time so I had to put a paper wedge in the frame. The coffee making facilities were ok and it was nice to have a breakfast snack bar to eat. The supplied towel smelt stale. Outside on the landing there was clumps of cat hairs all down the stairs. I do not have a problem with cats but it all needed cleaning. The bathroom seat was loose. I was not able to shower properly as there was no shower curtain in the bath. I had to kneel down in the bath so as to not spray water all over the bathroom. The location of the house was ok. Bus stops outside or a 20 minute walk to the sea front down a steep hill. Walking back was harder. The owner Catherine seemed very nice as she made sure there was a key on my arrival. Luckily I only slept in the room as I was out most of the time.
Catherine User Profile
Response from Catherine:
I'm sorry you didn't like the room Bob, usually people are very happy with their accommodation here. As it was your first time with Airbnb maybe you were expecting a hotel room rather than a good value place to stay in a welcoming family home. I'm not sure why you used the bathroom rather than the dedicated shower room nextdoor... anyway, best of luck next time. (And perhaps avoid any house where there is a cat! ;)
June 2017

Brighton, United KingdomJoined in July 2013
Catherine User Profile
hi, love living in Brighton! V sociable, like people, swimming, avocadoes.
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

The neighbourhood

Similar listings