Great views from the pillow.
4 guests
2 bedrooms
3 beds
1 bath
4 guests
2 bedrooms
3 beds
1 bath
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
4 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

‘Elsewhere’ is the perfect place to kick back and relax. This bright and airy cottage has two bedrooms (one queen, one twin) a small but well-equipped kitchen, bathroom, comfortable living/dining area and big verandah with spectacular views.

The space

The huge veranda has an outdoor kitchen, four-burner barbecue, dining area, daybed and seating. Soak up the winter sun, watch the roos come over the hill at dusk, enjoy misty mornings and spectacular sunsets.
‘Elsewhere' is an 8-acre property, thee minutes' drive from the town of Balingup, close to the Bibbulmun Track and the Blackwood River Valley. As well as to your hosts, Adam and Lucy, Elsewhere is also home to five alpacas (plus one baby alpaca, Elmo, born in March), a dog, four chooks, frogs, abundant birdlife, kangaroos and, occasionally emus.

Guest access

Linen and all essentials are provided. Some cooking/breakfast basics, such as eggs, olive oil, milk, butter, home-made jam or marmalade, tea and (real) coffee are provided. The cottage has WiFi, a DVD player, an extensive library of DVDs, books, children's books and games. Please note, there is no television reception - a great opportunity to forget the outside world and talk, play games or watch movies!
Mobile and 3G/4G internet reception is generally excellent.

Interaction with guests

Our house is on the property, so we are on hand if needed, but the cottage is completely private. You are welcome to wander around property and help us feed the alpacas and we are happy to share our local knowledge of the area.

Other things to note

We welcome families with children. Please be aware, however, that this is a rural property with open water, rough ground and opportunities for kids to fall off things, get scratched and get dirty. We've yet to meet a child who doesn't love it here, but a certain level of adult supervision is necessary.
We have a small dog, Tina (aka Hairy McLairy), who will bark on your arrival - but rest assured it is a bark of welcome, not of warning!
Many people ask if we have a fire in winter. Sorry - no, but the cottage is heated and there are plenty of spare doonas, blankets and rugs to keep you warm.


Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed
Bedroom 2
2 single beds

Amenities
Kitchen
Essentials
Shampoo
Heating

Prices
Extra people $20 CAD / night after 2 guests
Weekly Discount: 26%
Weekend Price $167 CAD / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events

Generally we do not accept visitors' pets because of the alpacas, chooks, neighbouring cows, sheep and kangaroos. (Our own dog knows the rules and dangers).
Smoking is not permitted inside the cottage.

You must also acknowledge
Dog(s) and other pet(s) live in the house

Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector

Availability
The minimum night stay for this listing varies.
Add your travel dates to see more details.

98 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Katherine User Profile
September 2017
The stay at Elsewhere was truly awesome. Breathtaking views from the house, away from maddening crowds, loads of fresh air and fresh produce. Lucy and Adam are such a warm and kind couple, really made us feel at home, even though we (unfortunately) only stayed for one night. It was very nice to walk around their gardens, interact with their chickens, alpacas and of course, Tina (the dog) too. All our comforts are provided for. Absolutely wonderful stay, wished we've stayed longer.

Brady User Profile
September 2017
Enjoyed my stay at elsewhere with my partner very much. Would recommend it to anyone who wants a nice quiet trip away from home. 10/10

Yuki User Profile
September 2017
The owner is very accomodating and we had a great stay! Kids had a great time with alpacas, chickens , kangaroos etc... Nature surrounding around the property is absolutely gorgeous!

Sophie User Profile
September 2017
We loved our stay at Elsewhere. The view was even better than in the photos. Adam greeted us and made us feel welcome and comfortable. Perfect place to relax in nature. Thank you!

Leanda User Profile
August 2017
We as a family loved staying at Elsewhere, especially the kids! They got to do some mountain biking and got to roam freely around in the nature. For us as parents we could relax, sit back and just enjoy the view. Wow, what a spectacular view! Soul relaxing. Thanks again for having us Lucy and Adam

Jessica User Profile
August 2017
Absolute heaven! I only wish I could have spent more time here! Could actually feel the peace and beauty seeping in . What an amazing view to appreciate as the sun goes down and rises again. Could hear the frogs from the pond and sheep in the distance and woke up to a cheeky chicken passing down the side garden and the stars at night were breath-taking and so visible. Absolutely beautiful! So relaxing. The cottage is cosy and warm, with all necessary utilities and they were super accommodating of our twin bubbas even offering to move some furniture to fit our porta-cots but they fit in fine. Hoping to stay again sometime soon. Even got to pat tiny Tina :) thank you again! Highly recommend!

Gemma User Profile
August 2017
Fantastic hosts who are so friendly & nice. Plus also great answering any queries. The accommodations beatuiful scenery from the porch is priceless and photos dont do any justice. So was the star-filled night sky. I enjoyed meeting Tina the dog and seeing Kangaroos at dawn & dust. Tip is to drive slowly back at night, when getting closer to 'Elsewhere' as the Kangaroos can get unpredictable. Which is totally fine, as you can get a good look at them either eating or slowly skipping away. Will definitely recommend.

Balingup, AustraliaJoined in September 2013
Lucy User ProfileLucy is a superhost.

My partner Adam and I moved to Balingup nearly three years ago to turn a beautiful but weedy paddock into a functioning property. Both of us grew up in the country - Adam in Poland and I in England, and we had long dreamed of growing food, wool, trees and flowers, building a house and sharing our place with lots of people - and, while we still have a way to go with the paddock - that's what we're doing. We are both old enough and travelled enough to know that the little things count when you're staying somewhere far from home - a comfortable bed, a good hot shower, a lamp to read by and real coffee in the mornings. As hosts, we hope your stay is comfortable, restful and rejuvenating and we look forward to meeting you!

Languages: English, Polski
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighbourhood

Similar listings