This is your bedroom - an original bed frame carved by a local carpenter, along with ample reading light. The view from the corner of the room to the terrace - the double window opens.
Casa GG - charming respite suite and terrace
Casa GG - charming respite suite and terrace

Private room

2 guests

1 bedroom

1 bed
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

Our home is the respite we know you are looking for. In a city known for its vibrant music and culture, we invite you to stay with us just off downtown in a safe, secure and private air-conditioned room with its own washroom and kitchen. Your suite is on the second private floor with full access to the beautiful terrace, where we have two hammocks and a covered roof. You may rest here- dine, relax, read and soak up the fresh seaside air. The view is gorgeous, day or night! YES WE HAVE WIFI!

The space

Our suite features contemporary styling mixed with treasured Cuban-carved wood bed and chest of drawers. The room is air-conditioned and also has a large window facing the balcony so you can relax with the fresh Cuban breeze at night if that makes you sleep more comfortably. There are curtains over the windows to draw over to limit the light so you can sleep in if you want. In the kitchen, a table with chairs is the perfect office space if you want to get to work on the next great novel, or simply lay out the map and plan your trip. We also have a fridge for your snacks or beverages in the space, and a sink to quickly wash up your plates and utensils. We have some of the basic dishes you will need to make a quick snack as well.

Guest access

The suite is self-contained and secure, with a locked door and a patio that also locked at night. The entire outdoor terrace of the house is available for your leisure and is the only place where smoking is allowed in the home. We welcome you to also come downstairs and use the living room to relax and visit with us.

Interaction with guests

If you'd like to converse with real Cubans (in English, francais, espanol) we're happy to share and discuss the world around us. We are passionate about many different things, including history, politics, social issues, travel, music, dance and LIVING!

Other things to note

We run the apartment as a casa particular, which means we offer meals for our guests in addition to the private suite. We love to cook and the food is local, nutritious and flavourful. We are happily known for our cooking, in a positive way! We will happily accommodate gluten-free, vegan, vegetarian and other dietary accommodations.

There are three little dogs, one little cat and two little turtles in the house. The dogs and cat live downstairs with us and won't be in your suite. You're welcome to play with them or avoid them!


The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1 (Private washroom)
Bedrooms: 1
Bed: 1
Check In: 10AM - 4PM
Check Out: 12PM (noon)
Pet Owner: Some pet(s)
Room type: Private room

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: No Charge
Cleaning Fee: 8
Weekly Discount: 10%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 double bed
Common spaces
1 single bed

House Rules
No parties or events
Check-in time is 10AM - 4PM.

There is no smoking in the bedroom; it's one of our only requirements of our guests. If you care to smoke, we ask you please keep your smoking to the open-air terrace.

We hope you like dogs! They are friendly and will play with you (indeed, they love to play fetch!) They are quiet at night and will not disturb your sleep.

While we welcome you and your significant other or travel companion, we ask that you do not bring your "new Cuban friends" over to stay the night. It is a matter of security and requirement of Cuban law that we register every guest upon arrival.


Cancellations

Moderate

Cancel up to 5 days before your trip and get a full refund. Cancel within 5 days of your trip and the first night is non-refundable, but 50% of the cost for the remaining nights will be refunded.


Safety features
First aid kit

Availability
2 nights minimum stay

33 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Joy User Profile
May 2017
We were very happy with our stay. The accommodations were spotlessly clean and modern, and the roof deck (complete with comfy hammock) is great! Kyall called before we left for Cuba and was able to answer a ton of questions we had. We really appreciated the time he took to do that. The only drawback was that we weren't able to meet Michel and taste his cooking, which everyone raves about!
Michel User Profile
Response from Michel:
Thank you for the feedback Joy! We wish we could have been there! Please visit Santiago again.
May 2017

Carolin User Profile
May 2017
The room is lovely and there's air-conditioning. Furthermore you have a nice view from the balcony and the food you can order there is excellent. We had breakfast and dinner and it were some of the best meals we had during our stay in Cuba. The owner's are also really nice and helpful. Besides there's a little zoo, because they have very cute dogs, a cat and turtles :D

Mélissa User Profile
April 2017
Unfortunatly we didn't meet Chef Michel, but it was realy pleasant to spend a few days in his wonderful and peacefull house ! Special thank to the amazing Jose Enrique and cuddle to minnie, lilo, timy, mia and the turtles ...

Natasha User Profile
March 2017
Michel's place is wonderful - he's a total star in the kitchen as well. We felt part of the family during the stay there and it was great fun playing with the little puppies. Michel organised a great day trip for us as well. We went up to Grande Piedra and Playa Siboney, both great and we recommend them both. Our suggestion is to make sure that you try a dinner cooked by Michel he cooked us swordfish which was lovely. In terms of location you couldn't ask for better. The place is close to everything but on a little hill so that it catches the breeze. The neighbourhood seems a bit quieter as well.

Marjolein User Profile
March 2017
We were very disappointed about our stay. The host was not there in person, and his replacements could not deliver as expected. Limited services (very simple meals, no cocktails or other drinks, no English speaking, to name a few) and most of all: there is a cat (and a few dogs)! So be aware in case of allergy! Location is good though (walking distance to the city center and restaurants and there is a nice roof terrace).
Michel User Profile
Response from Michel:
Hello Marjolein, I find your review very disappointing, because your statements are not truthful. The pets that we have in the house are also mentioned on our listing. I was in fact in the house, so it is not accurate to say I was not there. When I wrote to you in advance of your arrival, asking you if you had any questions or concerns, you did not have any. You failed to mention in your review that, while our prices are clearly laid out in a menu you received when you arrived, you did not want to pay the total amount for food and a bottle of wine that you ordered. You did all of this in a developing country. Again, it is disappointing to read your review. I encourage you to travel the world more and see how other people live.
March 2017

Stephen User Profile
March 2017
You'll have the entire upper floor as your private room. Private terrace. View of the harbor and the city.
Michel User Profile
Response from Michel:
Thank you for the feedback, Stephen!
March 2017

Julian User Profile
February 2017
i had a really good time at michel's place! he picked me up at holguin airport (for 100 CUC) and drove me straight to santiago, the room was nice and clean, the house has a rooftop terrace with a very cool panoramic view, he prepared very delicious breakfast and he arranged a driver to take me to gran piedra and also to the bus terminal very early in the morning! make sure to meet his friend who is an extraordinary cook too with a nice little restaurant and amazing food! only negative thing to mention are the dogs that live on the premises who are barking quite a lot, which can be annoying at times.. but i would totally stay again, thank you michel!
Michel User Profile
Response from Michel:
Hi Julian, thank you for the feedback. Please come back soon!
February 2017

This host has 15 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Edmonton, CanadaJoined in April 2015
Michel User Profile

I love to meet people and learn about their culture, their language, and their ideas for making the world a better place. I am most happy in the kitchen or in the garden - either way, I get my hands a bit dirty doing what I love. Don't worry I wash them before I start cooking!

Languages: English, Español, Français
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.
Similar listings