Skip to content
Driveway to the fully gated estateGuest house on the left, main house on the right...totally separate dwellings
Entire guest suite

Elegant on acre gated acre estate

Karen User Profile
Karen

Elegant on acre gated acre estate

7 guests
2 bedrooms
3 beds
2 baths
7 guests
2 bedrooms
3 beds
2 baths
HOME HIGHLIGHTS
Great check-in experience100% of recent guests gave this home’s check-in process a 5-star rating.

The space

Beautiful, elegantly furnished and fully-equipped 2 bedroom, two bath guest house, with antiques and open beam ceiling, on a 1 acre gated estate, with koi pond, waterfall, fountain, chlorine-free pool and hot tub, and 180 degree ocean-view lanai. Fully furnished and equipped guest house is over 1000 square feet with a 280 square foot lanai. TV, Internet access, electricity, water and trash pick-up included. Laundry facility available on the property for an additional charge. The estate is located at a 1000 foot elevation, which is perfect weather. No air conditioning needed. The property is 10 minutes from downtown Kona, 5 minutes from the airport, and near beaches, restaurants and 3 minutes from Costco. NO SMOKERS; small housebroken pets considered. Organic home cooked meals available at an extra charge. Holistic physician and chiropractor available, on site, for extra charge. Call Karen at (Phone number hidden by Airbnb) . There are 14% Hawaii taxes. We charge a $150 cleaning fee ($175 if there are 3 or more people), and there is a $250 refundable security deposit. Our home is located on the corner of a two lane road which is a 3 minute drive to Costco and 1/4 mile from the upper Highway, Mama La Hoa Highway. There is some traffic noise during parts of the day.

Amenities

Gym
Kitchen
Wifi
Free parking on premises
Hot tub
Pool

House Rules

Check out by 11AM

Accessibility

Bathtub with bath chair

Availability

40 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check-in
Value
Andrew User Profile
Andrew
January 2018
All in all a good place to stay.
Olivia User Profile
Olivia
July 2018
Karen and Tim are wonderful hosts and their space is the perfect place to retreat to after long days spent on the beach or otherwise exploring the big island. Other reviewers seemed bothered by the noise from the nearby road and barking from their pack of adorable dogs, but we …
Karen User Profile
Response from Karen:
Thank you so much for your warm words...you all were some of our most delightful guests ever. We felt like you became family. We hope to see you again, if you return to the Big Island. :)
July 2018
Ike User Profile
Ike
February 2018
This is a beautiful home on a beautiful property. Karen and Tim (along with their herd of small doggies) couldn' t have been more welcoming. (If you don't like dogs, don't worry, they only come around if you wish them.) Everything is clean, modern, good Wifi speed, close enough t…
Han User Profile
Han
January 2018
Karen was a great host, very friendly, and willing to go extra miles for her guests (4 stars). The only thing she can improve is the communication. First, I requested the total charge including everything and she replied to confirm the amount and I booked based on the compariso…
Karen User Profile
Response from Karen:
In all the years of hosting, I have never had a miscommunication about taxes. It is clearly stated on our web page that the state of HI charges 13.42% in taxes, which we can do nothing about. I ended up agreeing to pay half the taxes, due to the miscommunication. I had explained it in the beginning, but for some reason that explanation did not appear in our thread of communication. I think it might have been due to the fact that I did the initial communication via my smartphone, and that doesn't seem to work on (Website hidden by Airbnb) I assumed my explanation was there, when in fact, it apparently was not. "That is why I agreed to pay half of the taxes...I really do go the extra mile for our guests, as their happiness is our primary goal. I even spent hours arranging to get local rates for the Les so they could save money on some of their excursions. I hoped the large savings on their zipline would also make them feel better about having to pay taxes. Anyway, wherever anyone stays in Hawaii, they need to pay the 13.45% in taxes. It certainly doesn't go into our pocket, lol...just following the law. As for the beaches, there are close swimable beaches 15 minutes from the house...the ones with vast sand are about a half hour away, but indeed there are close beaches. And I have only once before had confusion about the location of the pool. (Han's review said poor...but to clarify, I know he meant pool.) I always want to be clear for guests, because happiness is about expectations. The pool is indeed in front of the main house. I think 99.9% of our guests know this as if they look at the picture, they will see that the house in the background looks nothing like the guest house pictured on the site. I am truly sorry about their bug bites. We live here and lie outside for hours and not one bug bite. As a natural healthcare professional, I tried to explain that mosquito bites are often due to B12 deficiency. Our current guests are outside on the lanai all night and no bug bites for them. Had I known it was an issue before the Les were leaving, I could have given them a little machine we provide for those who are sensitive to mosquitoes. It repels and kills them. But I didn't know til the end of their stay. And the ohana is above our garage, but we are very careful not to open the garage late at night, as we don't want to disturb our guests. It's usually just the two of us in the main house, and in the garage, but my son and his wife happened to be visiting for a few days, which coincided with the Les visit. But it is something we are mindful of and make every effort to respect our guests need for quiet. Indeed we are off a busy two lane road, which does get noise at peak hours of the traffic day. We did disclose this in our listing. Also we make sure to only use the pool for 10 minutes before and after work, and the rest of the time it is exclusively for our guest's enjoyment. We also have an orchard full of organic fruit, for our guests to enjoy. Nancy seemed to enjoy juicing the oranges and tangelos from our trees and said it was delicious. I am truly sorry that despite our very best efforts, the home was not to their satisfaction, which truly makes me sad, as we want everyone to be happy. The Les are very lovely people, and we certainly enjoyed hosting them, despite any issues they may have had.
January 2018
Heather User Profile
Heather
October 2017
Karen and Tim are wonderful hosts. They were very helpful and even helped us book a few excursions. The house is beautiful and located close to everything. Would love to come back one day. Our family had the best time.
Maureen User Profile
Maureen
June 2017
Karen's place is fantastic. The location is great, the grounds are beautiful and the house is very clean and there is a lot of space. Karen is an amazing host. Would highly recommend this location.
Karen User Profile
Response from Karen:
Thank you so much for your warm words. We loved hosting you and your family :)
June 2017
Vsop User Profile
Vsop
March 2017
Karen home is as described . Beautiful surrounding .she is a great host and good communicator . The apartment is equipped and nicely decorated .

Hosted by Karen

Kailua-Kona, Hawaii, United StatesJoined in August 2012
Karen User Profile
40 Reviews
Verified
I'm a gerontologist and holistic health counselor. Born in Columbus Ohio...went to Kent State for B.A. and Ohio State for my Masters Degree; and the Institute for Integrative Nutrition/Columbia University for post grad work in holistic health. Completed additional post graduate w…
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours
Always communicate through AirbnbTo protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.

The neighbourhood

Press the down arrow key to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Check In

Press the down arrow key to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Check Out
You won’t be charged yet

Similar listings