Living room for guest useView of the coast

Private room

4 guests

1 bedroom

2 beds
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
4 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

Stone cottage, with 2 double bedrooms available. Bathroom next to bedroom 1, though not En suite, guests have sole private use of this.

Free Wifi
**Parties of 2 wanting both bedrooms click on price for 3 people**
Breakfast offered for small charge

The space

19th century detached cottage.
The house is opposite a working dairy farm and the cattle are often in the field adjacent to the house, so expect to see them walking up and down the road back to the Dairy.
Comfortable 3 bedroom home, with garage to store bikes if required.

2 bedrooms available to rent, ideal for families, with one private bathroom shared between the group. Each room has a double bed, so ideal for 2 couples or families. The second bedroom is only offered out to the same party ** If you are a party of 2 but want to rent both the bedrooms, just click on the price for 3 people** The price for 2 people will get you one bedroom, so if you are travelling together but not wanting to share a bed with your travel companion then price for 3 people to get both rooms.

A pub is less than 5 minutes walk away, with reasonably priced food served Monday's ( Pizza & quiz night - all welcome - Only food on a Monday is Pizza, served between 6pm & 8pm) and then Wednesday thru to Sunday.

Breakfast is not included, Breakfast is offered at an additional cost if required. **Please note, that a full English is subject to my availability, if travelling for work, it may only be a continental offering** Alternatively bring your own supplies and do your own thing.
We don't officially have any pets, however one of our neighbours cats thinks he gets a better deal at our place, so has taking up lodgings!! :-)

This is a very rural location.

Check in time is flexible, if I am working from home, then anytime after midday, if not then may not be until about 6pm. I will advise at time of booking what time you can check in from.

Weekend check in will always be available from 2pm, but do let me know your ETA, so as I may plan my day around your arrival.

Well located for Maryport Blues festival on 28th, 29th, 30th & 31st July 2017.
Also good for Solfest 25th - 27th August 2017

Guest access

Use of our garden & or courtyard, both of which have a seating area, you may smoke out here. Help yourself to the apples or Pears on the trees.
Parking is on the street or in the drive next to the house. ( you may prefer to park on the drive, to avoid the cows slobbering & worse all over your vehicle!! )
Use of the living room next to kitchen & seating area in Hallway.
Each Guest Bedroom has a small TV with freeview box.
Use of kitchen / microwave or Aga to warm a meal, make packed lunches etc. We will make space in the fridge for you.
Private bathroom next to bedroom 1, we use the downstairs bathroom.
The second bedroom is only offered out to the same party, up to a maximum of 4 people, if you are a party of 2 requiring both bedrooms, please click on the price for 3 people....otherwise you will be sharing with your travel companion!!! :-)

The washing machine can be made available on request for small loads. Drying is done on the line.

Interaction with guests

Happy to help wherever we can, feel free to sit & chat with us in the kitchen, or retire early to your bedroom.
Interaction is led by your needs.

Other things to note

Flexible check in time, check out is 10am please, to allow for turnaround of room.
Check in will be dependent on my availability. If I am travelling for work, then will be from 6pm, can be earlier if I am working from home. I will advise at time of booking. ( Generally I work from home at least 2 to 3 days a week )

Weekend check in will always be no later than 2pm, but do let me know your ETA, so I can plan my day around your arrival.

Late arrival up to around 11pm - Midnight, can be arranged, again just let me know when booking, if you think it will be a late arrival.

** We are happy to accommodate guests with children, however it should be noted, that we have an Aga which is always hot and don't have any socket protectors, stair gates etc**


The space
Accommodates: 4
Bathrooms: 1 (Private washroom)
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 2
Check In: Flexible
Check Out: 10AM
Room type: Private room

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: 40 / night after 2 guests
Weekly Discount: 10%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 double bed
Common spaces
1 king bed

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check in time is flexible

No Smoking in the house, but outside is fine.
Feel free to use the kitchen, plates, cutlery etc, leave as clean as you find it or better! :-)


Cancellations

Moderate

Cancel up to 5 days before your trip and get a full refund. Cancel within 5 days of your trip and the first night is non-refundable, but 50% of the cost for the remaining nights will be refunded.


Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector

Availability
1 night minimum stay

91 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Hannah User Profile
July 2017
We stayed two nights at Sonia&John's house. It was a perfect location for us discovering the lake district!

David User Profile
July 2017
Sonia and John have a lovely cottage in a village setting near the coast. [A working farm nearby adds to the ambience as did the resident cats]. They coped with us arriving absolutely soaked [we were travelling on bikes] drying our clothes over the Aga and providing tea and lovely hot showers. We were able to use the kitchen to heat our own food [they had warned us that the local pub was shut the day we were there]. We had use of a lounge area and a good breakfast was provided in the morning at extra cost.

Martina User Profile
July 2017
Basic, comfortable room. Excellent bathroom. The location is in a village, with a pub that serves good food. The house is very clean, there are lots of cats. The hosts left over night, which meant I was responsible for locking the house up, and making sure cats didn't get in etc. There were no issues, and the hosts left a note with contact details and instructions etc, but I found this unusual. I was the only guest staying in the house. I left the next morning early than planned and had to lock up the house and try to manage the cats. It wasn't a typical B and B type experience, though the cost was in line with what I paid for a B and B in other places. This is why I said it wasn't good value for money. I wouldn't go back as a solo traveller.
Sonia & John User Profile
Response from Sonia & John:
You state not a typically B&B, that's because we aren't a B&B, you stayed in our home and as such regardless of whether we were there or not you were given a front door key and asked to look it, when you left and returned. Incidentally you didn't leave any money for breakfast, which you knew wasn't included in the price as you had s discussion with me about it! As for managing the cats, I asked that you not let them in, whilst taking your bike out of my garage. You had free run of my house, not s B&B!
July 2017

Richard User Profile
June 2017
Great stay. Sonya and John were very welcoming and accommodating. We much appreciated being able to drive or wet clothes from cycling

Jill User Profile
June 2017
We enjoyed our stay in the country and Sonia and John were very welcoming. Lovely cosy room and comfortable bed.

Wietse User Profile
June 2017
Sonia and John live in a wonderfully lovely cottage in a pitoresque little village. Easy to find at the end of Hadrians wall and near the beach, I truely recommend staying here.

Alexandru User Profile
May 2017
Sonia made the place easy to find by providing accurate directions. Place is lovely, we had our own room upstairs with a private bathroom. Instructions on how to use the utilities in the house were clear. We also took some time every morning to play with the 4 week old kittens (temporary guests), which were gorgeous. Overall, a really pleasant stay in a nice place with great hosts

England, United KingdomJoined in February 2014
Sonia & John User Profile

John and I have lived in Cumbria since Dec 14 and have used Airbnb as guests & recently taken to hosting.
We both work full time, though I work from home at least 2 to 3 days a week.
We are very relaxed about sharing our home with others and spent the best part of a year house sitting, so are very used to sharing space with other people.
We want our guests to feel relaxed in our home and enjoy the space freely.

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.
Similar listings