Fold out table next to the stoveKitchen with microwave, small hob, plates and cooking equipment (2.23 x 1.43 metres)

Entire home/apt

1 guest

Studio

1 bed
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
1 guest maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

Utterly peaceful little cabin with log stove, shower & toilet, fully equipped kitchenette. There is wifi, tv and a washing machine. You are welcome to eat or read in the garden. The aesthetic is relaxed boho chic, a home rather than a hotel.

Excellent for short city breaks. We have also had long term stays from university lecturers.

2 minutes to supermarket & lovely 20 minute walk along the river to city centre.

- Separate entrance by back country lane (dark at night, 2 minute walk)

The space

This is a cabin at the end of my garden. It is very quiet and peaceful. It is small but it has everything you will need to be cosy and warm. The kitchen has spices and pots, pans, oven, 2 ring hob, microwave, washing machine, iron, ironing board, lunch boxes, shopping bags and bits and pieces which previous guests have left, usually pasta, olive oil, tea, coffee etc. The main space has 3 big drawers under the bed for clothes and one small wardrobe cupboard to hang things in. There is an arm chair, fold out kitchen chair, fold out table, wood stove, radio and television. There is also an electric radiator if you do not want to use the wood stove.

I provide bed linens and towels if you require them. Some people prefer to bring their own bedding. I use 100% cotton jersey stretch sheets with matching pillowcases. I have an eclectic collection of duvet covers of various colours. I provide clean sheets, duvet covers and tea towels on a weekly basis.

The water is always hot. If you need to wash clothes there is soap under the sink. There is a clothes line in the garden.

It is heated primarily by a wood burning stove, there is also an electric radiator for those who are wary of wood burning stoves.

You are most welcome to use the table and chairs in the garden. You may of course also leave your bike in the garden.

There is further storage for luggage etc. in the shed next to the studio.

Great for city centre shopping, visiting museums, colleges, restaurants, cinemas and pubs, all of which are a 15 - 30 minute walk along the river from our house. It is even quicker if you choose to walk into town along the busy Newmarket Road. There is also a pub on the corner of the road which serves food and a huge supermarket across the road.

The garden can be used at any time to eat outside or work in, or smoke.

If you choose to walk to town on the busy Newmarket Road side of our house then it is about 10 minutes walk to the Grafton Centre with its large cinema and many shops and cafes. Another 10 - 20 minutes takes you to the older centre with its colleges, museums, independent cinema, restaurants, cafes and punting.

We are well situated for buses (Citi 3) and taxis, 10 minutes taxi ride to the train station or rent a bicycle at the train station!

Cambridge Railway Station - 1.5 miles / 2.4 km
Cambridge Airport - 1.5 miles / 2.4 km

Places to visit in and around Cambridge
The Grafton Shopping Centre and Vue Cinema - 0.4 miles / 0.6 km
Anglia Ruskin University - 0.5 miles / 0.8 km
University of Cambridge - 1.1 miles / 1.6 km
Kings College - 1.4 miles / 2.2 km
Cambridge Arts Theatre - 1.2 miles / 1.9 km
Cambridge Arts Picturehouse Cinema - 1.1 miles / 1.7 km
Cambridge University Botanic Garden - 1.3 miles / 2.9 km
Fitzwilliam Museum - 1.4 miles / 2.2 km
Virtual Aviation - Cambridge - 1.6 miles / 2.5 km
Punting Station Silver Street Bridge - 1.6 miles / 2.5 km
Punting Station Quayside Bridge Street - 1.8 miles / 2.8 km
Imperial War Museum Duxford - 9.3 miles / 15.9 km
Linton Zoo - 11.1 miles / 17.8 km (15 mins by train)
Cambridge Folk Festival - 2.5 miles / 4 km
Newmarket Racecourse - 11.4 miles / 18.9 km

Guest access

You have separate access from the back gate down a country lane. It is a 2 minute walk and dark at night. All the neighbours use this access. The garden gate has a combination lock on it.

Interaction with guests

My availability is limited but I am happy to provide you with any information you need about the cabin and the area.

Other things to note

I have a small black cat called Coco who you may meet in the garden but she does not go into the cabin.

Sometimes you will hear myself and my daughter coming in and out the back gate with our bicycles.

There are two lights near the studio, these are sometimes activated by a cat walking by during the night.

If you want anything - please text me and I will come and help.

The cabin is accessed via the country lane at the back of the house. This can be dark and sometimes muddy as it is not paved. There are movement activated lights at the entrance of the lane and a light is left on at the gate of my garden. The garden is entered via a gate with a combination lock.


The space
Accommodates: 1
Bathrooms: 1
Bed type: Real Bed
Bedrooms: Studio
Beds: 1
Room type: Entire home/apt

Amenities

Prices
Cleaning Fee: 45
Security Deposit: 334
Weekly Discount: 13%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules

Please be quiet in the garden after midnight.
Please do not bring home overnight guests without prior discussion.


Cancellations

Strict

Cancel up to 7 days before your trip and get a 50% refund. Cancel within 7 days of your trip and the reservation is non-refundable.


Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector

Availability
2 nights minimum stay

20 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Michael User Profile
August 2017
Jane is a very accommodating host and the little shack is an amazing place to stay. Not too far from the centre of Cambridge or the station it is easily walkable to all of the sights. The cabin itself is small, but very cosy - with all amenities anyone could ever need for a short stay in Cambridge.

Danielle User Profile
August 2017
This is my third time staying at Jane's studio, and it was as lovely as ever. The studio is quiet and comfortable. Jane is always responsive to requests, and she and her daughter are absolutely lovely. Location is tough to beat as well.

Owen User Profile
May 2017
Lovely cosy cabin near the river and a nice 20 minute walk into the city centre along the river.

Colm User Profile
April 2017
Great space with all you need. Pretty walk into Cambridge city centre along the river.

Micah User Profile
April 2017
Wonderful experience, quiet, comfy bed, all I needed for a week at Cambridge. Jane was easily accessible even though our paths didn't cross once. Will stay here again if I find myself back in Cambridge! Thanks Jane...
Jane User Profile
Response from Jane:
Thanks Micah! I look forward to meeting you next time :-)
April 2017

Simon User Profile
March 2017
Beautifully located, comfortable self-contained unit for one. Jane is a fantastic host. Communication was much better than average. Instructions on accessing the place on the first day were clear. Minor problems were swiftly dealt with. I was there for 10 days, and though amenities might initially seem a little more basic, at the end of the stay I never felt I had lacked for anything. The location is superb. Close enough to the station and town centre, lots of nearby shopping and green space all around for walking and biking.

Rosalind User Profile
February 2017
I had a wonderful seven week stay at Jane's Riverside shed. The shed is small, but well-designed and bright, and has everything you need to feel at home. The day bed was comfortable, and the wood burning stove made the place cozy on the coldest of nights. The kitchen is fully equipped (including a washer!), with a large grocery store located a mere 200 metres away. Jane and her daughter were friendly and attentive hosts. Jane was readily accessible by telephone/text, and provided clean linens weekly. The shed is quiet, safe, and private, with its own laneway entrance. The location is ideal for short and long-term stays. Beautiful half hour walk along the river (across Midsummer and Jesus Green) to town and the university. The shed is ideal for one person, but the bed pulls out, and the place can accommodate a guest for a weekend. The wall-mounted table can be stored away to make space, and can also serve as a desk. Highly recommended.

This host has 27 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Cambridge, United KingdomJoined in March 2014
Jane User Profile

I am originally from Dublin but have lived here for 9 years.

We are a busy, easygoing, peaceful household comprising myself, an 11 year old and a cat.

I am happy to give you any information I can to make your visit enjoyable. However, I sometimes work from home so my time is limited. We enjoy independent, friendly, self-contained guests.

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.

Similar listings