Mount Pleasant Makespace

Superhost

Entire place hosted by Thyrza

  1. 2 guests
  2. 1 bed
  3. 1 bath
Entire home
You’ll have the place to yourself.
Enhanced Clean
This host committed to Airbnb's 5-step enhanced cleaning process.
Self check-in
Check yourself in with the keypad.
Great location
95% of recent guests gave the location a 5-star rating.
I use this 560 sf. self contained space as my art studio and occasionally as a guest house. I've dubbed it "Makespace" because it's meant for the traveler who likes to build, invent, craft, mold or create stuff when they're on the road. If you need to quarantine for 14 days, the studio is ideal.

The space
This comfortable and eclectic artist's studio is like a cottage in the city and offers privacy since it is a separate building from the house- like a coach house. It's a great place to create but is also good for just unwinding and watching a movie or reading a book while listening to the rain on the skylights. There is a laptop for guest use that is wired into the internet.

This studio is located on a beautiful tree-lined street in trendy Mount Pleasant, one of Vancouver's coolest neighborhoods with a plethora of shops and restaurants within walking distance. It's very quiet (usually) and completely self-contained with kitchenette, queen sized bed, full bathroom ( big shower) and a 8' x 4' work table.

The Kitchenette has a mini fridge, coffee maker, microwave, blender, kettle dishes, induction stovetop, glassware and serving implements provided. Complimentary coffee and tea provided. (Please let
us know if you need fresh cream or milk).

We are not anti-cigarette smoking, however please keep it outside. There is a small patio area w/ seating right outside the studio door.

The studio is hard wired to the internet and also has WiFi.

There really isn't anything "private" in the studio so feel free to look around in all the drawers and cupboards...especially if you want to make anything. I certainly don't mind you using any tools you find and small expendable supplies are cool too(eg: thread, buttons, nails, gloves, eyelets) . If there is anything else you want to use,(eg- a vintage lampshade,busted lamp or whole can of spray paint) I would love it if you checked with me first so that we can come to an agreement on compensation.

I know I have crammed all of my tools and supplies into every corner but if you need to make space for your own tools or supplies, feel free to move my stuff around to suit you.

If you want to use your own laptop, you can get the network cable from the back of my computer. A wired internet connection is always best.

This studio is NOT toddler proof. There are plenty of things that would be awful if ingested (like the super strong magnets on the back wall or any miniature polymer clay figurines). Please keep in mind that there are sharp scissors and paint thinner and x-acto knives that are within small kid reach too. If you bring a kid it would be best if they were of an age OR maturity to be able to use a hot glue gun by themselves.

If you have an extra person or two then we do have a spare double size foam mattress we can put on the floor for you. The extra fee is for setting that up

Bring your pet as long as it is friendly towards cats or at least ambivalent about them. There is a dog in the house but I don't think it will be in the back yard at all.

The best dog park ever is about a half hour walk away at John Hendrie Park where Trout Lake is. The whole North side of the lake is off leash and your dogs are allowed in the lake too. It might not be the cleanest water but my dogs don't seem to mind.


Please don't take supplies home for use on later projects. Just use what you need to for the projects you do while you're at the studio. Of course you can take what you'll need if you can't finish it in time.

What this place offers

Kitchen
Wifi
Free street parking
Pets allowed
Air conditioning
Luggage drop-off allowed
Hair dryer
Refrigerator
Microwave
Unavailable: Carbon monoxide alarm

Select check-in date

Add your travel dates for exact pricing
Check-in
Add date
Checkout
Add date

4.91 out of 5 stars from 111 reviews

Cleanliness
Accuracy
Communication
Location
Check-in
Value

Where you’ll be

Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

As far as good shops go that are within a block or two:
-Kim's Mart on Broadway between St George and Carolina has the best produce in the whole neighbourhood. They also carry a lot of ready made Korean dishes.
-There is a Japanese importer just above Kim's Mart
-There is also a great lounge next door to it- The Lido.
-Anna's Cake House has delicious Walnut Napoleon pastries as well as other yummy stuff.
-Amazing pizza at Barbarella Pizzeria on Broadway near Fraser -also highly rated on Urban Spoon
-The Circle K convenience store is open 24 hours but will sometimes have nefarious looking characters hanging around by the door. (They actually aren't ever bad guys - just broke and homeless for the most part - not aggressive). However, Noor market is on the corner of Fraser and Broadway, so is about the same distance away, and never has anyone hanging around.

For any non Kim's Mart food shopping- there is BuyLow at the corner of Kingsway and 10th Avenue.

Additionally- all the city's coolest restaurants and indie shops are scattered up and down Main street and are all within walking distance. There is also a hip section of galleries/shops and food on 15th Avenue between Fraser and Kingsway.

The best dog park in the city (imho) is about a half hour walk away at John Hendrie Park where Trout Lake is. The whole North side of the lake is off leash and your dogs are allowed in the lake too. It might not be the cleanest water but my dogs don't seem to mind.

Hosted by Thyrza

  1. Joined in August 2010
  • 111 Reviews
  • Identity verified
  • Superhost
I am an artist. I used to design and build costumes for theatre, film and TV but now I mainly make sculptural stuff and paint quite a bit but also do a little photography. My name is rare. If you look me up, you will find me fairly fast. My husband Erez and I are fiftysomethings and have no kids but are fine with it if you do. We inherited 4 giant dogs from my dad who lived in the desert but are down to one since they were old guys when we got them. That sure changed our lives. I know I could never handle the responsibility of kids. We split our time between California and Canada and can often be found on the I-5 in a big white cargo van hauling many dog beds and dogs. We are total podcast nerds and also like a good audiobook. We listened to The Life of Pi on one of our trips with the four dogs and felt very much like we were a boat full of critters that had to somehow learn how to travel together. Some podcasts we like are Benjamin Walker's Theory of Everything, 99% Invisible , Planet Money, Selected Shorts, This American Life, Radiolab, Future Tense, Science Friday, Wiretap, Singularity 1 on 1, Serial, Startup etc etc. When we aren't listening to podcasts we can usually be found on reddit so we are pretty quiet tenants. When we travel it's important that there is a dog park nearby (if we have the vermin along) and otherwise, a solid internet connection is the only must. The studio I'm listing here is my actual art studio but we also use it as a guest house. It used to be a garage. There is a bit of space to lay down fold out foamies as an additional bed but there isn't a living room area or a sofa. There also is not a kitchen but a kitchenette- only a two burner electric cooktop, coffee maker, coffee grinder, microwave, toaster oven,kettle, apartment fridge and a giant restaurant sink (in case you need to dye anything while you are here ; ) There are various tools taking up space (eg: drafting table,industrial sewing machine) but there is a small table and a few office chairs. The main space is taken up with a very tall 8' x 4' work table. Anyone that wants to create stuff is in luck. Just ask and I may be able to supply whatever tools or materials you need too. thyrza(dot)ca
I am an artist. I used to design and build costumes for theatre, film and TV but now I mainly make sculptural stuff and paint quite a bit but also do a little photography. My name…

Co-hosts

  • Erez

During your stay

I am around for the most part and my husband Erez is too. If you can't find us, you can phone or email .

Thyrza is a Superhost

Superhosts are experienced, highly rated hosts who are committed to providing great stays for guests.
  • Policy number: 21-156926
  • Language: English
  • Response rate: 100%
  • Response time: within a few hours
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.

Things to know

House rules

Check-in: After 3:00 p.m.
Checkout: 12:00 p.m.
Self check-in with keypad
Not suitable for children and infants
No smoking
No parties or events
Pets are allowed

Health & safety

Committed to Airbnb's enhanced cleaning process. Show more
Airbnb's social-distancing and other COVID-19-related guidelines apply
Carbon monoxide alarm not reported Show more
Smoke alarm
Security Deposit - if you damage the home, you may be charged up to $1000

Cancellation policy