Skip to content
Monument / Landmark

Golden Hinde

22 locals recommend ·

Tips from locals

Roger
Roger
August 13, 2018
Golden Hind was an English galleon best known for her privateering circumnavigation of the globe between 1577 and 1580, captained by Sir Francis Drake. She was originally known as Pelican, but was renamed by Drake mid-voyage in 1578, in honour of his patron, Sir Christopher Hatton, whose crest was a…
Stephen
Stephen
July 29, 2018
Golden Hind was an English galleon best known for her privateering circumnavigation of the globe between 1577 and 1580, captained by Sir Francis Drake. She was originally known as Pelican, but was renamed by Drake mid-voyage in 1578, in honour of his patron, Sir Christopher Hatton, whose crest was a…
David
David
May 25, 2017
A full-sized replica of the 16th-century Tudor galleon that English explorer Sir Frances Drake circumnavigated the globe in between 1577 and 1580.
Miss K
Miss K
October 15, 2016
Take a walk around the famous Sir Francis Drake's galleon ship from the tudor times.
Giuseppe
Giuseppe
July 13, 2016
Actors in period costume inhabit this copy of the first English vessel to circumnavigate the globe.

Golden Hinde by Airbnb Experiences

Get to know this iconic landmark through Airbnb Experiences, small group activities led by locals

Places to stay nearby

Locals also recommend

Exhibit
“This magnificent world-famous collection of 23,578 gemstones boasts items that are still used in royal ceremonies today. Powerful symbols of the Monarchy The Crown Jewels, part of the Royal Collection, are the most powerful symbols of the British Monarchy and hold deep religious and cultural significance in our nation’s history. The mystique and beauty of the diamonds and precious jewels in the royal regalia have always held an unparalleled allure to visitors from across the globe.”
  • 1 local recommends
Route
“Duck under the arches behind Maltby Street and you'll arrive at Druid Street, a much more rough-and-ready street-food market. On this stretch, signs are few and far between so it helps to follow your nose. Pojang serves up authentic Korean street-food, Decatur has the best oyster po boys and Rock My Bowl's smoothie bowls manage to make breakfast genuinely exciting. The revolving weekly stalls mean you'll find new vendors every time. On our last visit we discovered Jake's Soul Spread selling incredible jams on their Druid Street debut. The treacle-thick salted butter with honey even comes with a soul and funk breakfast soundtrack.”
  • 2 locals recommend
History Museum
“The Clink was a prison in Southwark, England, which operated from the 12th century until 1780. The prison served the Liberty of the Clink, a local manor area owned by the Bishop of Winchester rather than by the reigning monarch. As the Liberty owner, the Bishop kept all revenues from the Clink Liberty, and could put people in prison for failing to make their payments. As the Bishop, he could also imprison heretics. The Clink prison was situated next to the Bishop's London-area residence of Winchester Palace. The Clink was possibly the oldest men's prison and probably the oldest women's prison in England.[”
  • 14 locals recommend
Church
“St Martin-in-the-Fields is an architectural jewel sitting at the corner of one of the world’s most famous squares. It’s a place of encounter between God and humanity, the wealthy and the destitute, culture and commerce. We welcome you into the warmth of this vibrant community. Classical concerts are often held at St Martins, They also have a cafe in the crypt. Check out on line to see what is on.”
  • 1 local recommends
Establishment
“The Duke of York Column is a monument in London, England, to Prince Frederick, Duke of York, the second eldest son of King George III. The designer was Benjamin Dean Wyatt. It is sited where Regent Street meets The Mall, a purposefully wide endpoint of Regent Street known as Waterloo Place and Gardens, in between the two terraces of Carlton House Terrace and their tree-lined squares. The three very wide flights of steps down to The Mall adjoining are known as the Duke of York Steps. The column was completed in December 1832 and the statue of the Duke of York, by Sir Richard Westmacott, was raised on 10 April 1834”
  • 2 locals recommend
Location
SE1 9DG
Phone+44 20 7403 0123
Hours of Operation statusClosed · Opens 10:00 AM