Suggestions will show after typing in the search input. Use the up and down arrows to review. Use enter to select. If the selection is a phrase, that phrase will be submitted to search. If the suggestion is a link, the browser will navigate to that page.
How-to
Host

Updating your Host calendar

The best way to manage your bookings and avoid cancellations is to keep your calendar up to date. You can mark nights as open or blocked so that it’s very clear to guests who are interested in your place.

To mark nights as open or blocked:

  1. Go to Calendar
  2. Select a night or multiple nights
  3. Click Open nights or Block nights

Note: When selected nights are in mixed states (for example, if some nights are open and some are blocked), you’ll find Edit availability instead of Open nights or Block nights.

You’ll also notice that available nights on the calendar are white, and unavailable nights will have a slash through the date. When you open unavailable nights, you’ll be able to tell why they are blocked—whether they are blocked by your settings or by Airbnb.

As a Host, you can unblock any nights on your calendar—except for reservations you cancelled or nights booked through linked or synced calendars. You'll find more info on linked and synced calendars below.

How to select dates on a mobile calendar

To select multiple nights and to edit prices and availability, you’ll need to tap and hold down on a date, and then swipe across your desired dates. If you'd like to select multiple weeks, you can tap and hold down on a date, and then swipe down the calendar. This makes sure all nights are included in your nightly range.

Why calendar nights may be blocked

There are various reasons why nights on your calendar may be blocked:

  • Your availability settings: Your calendar will automatically block nights to fit your listing’s availability settings such as availability window, minimum nights, preparation time, advance notice, and restricted check-in dates. You can find the specific reason for why a date is blocked when you tap or click on blocked nights. You can open these blocked nights by overriding settings for select nights only or edit settings for all nights.
  • Other calendars: You might have linked your calendars for multiple listings or synced your Airbnb calendar with another website’s calendar. In these instances, your calendar will be blocked to prevent different guests from double-booking your listing.
  • Pending trip request: If you have a pending trip request, those nights will remain blocked until you accept or decline the request. If you don't respond within 24 hours, those dates will remain blocked—though you can unblock them manually. If you’ve accepted a reservation, but the guest still hasn’t submitted a payment, the booking will remain pending for 24 hours to allow them to update their payment details. To receive alerts for pending trip requests, adjust your notification settings.
  • Confirmed reservations: When you accept a trip request, the nights are automatically blocked in your calendar.
  • Cancelled reservations: If you cancel a confirmed reservation, those nights will remain blocked. Learn more about what happens when you cancel a reservation.
  • Expired trip requests: If a trip request expires before you’re able to respond, those nights will be automatically blocked. You can manually open those nights on your calendar.
  • Identity verification: We require every booking guest and every listing Host to be verified. If you haven’t verified your identity, your calendar will be blocked and you won’t be able to receive new bookings until this step is completed. If a guest hasn’t verified their identity, the reservation will remain pending with the dates blocked. Learn more about identity verification.
  • Insufficient info: Airbnb can block your calendar if you haven’t provided all the information required for your account, so make sure everything's up to date.
  • Short-term stay restriction: Airbnb may block your calendar if your listing is located in a city that doesn’t allow reservations shorter than certain days.

How inquiries or invites affect availability

  • Guests may inquire about certain nights before sending a trip request: These nights will remain available so multiple guests can send inquiries until you have a pending trip request. If you decide to issue an invitation to book and Instant Book isn't turned on, those nights will be automatically blocked on your calendar until either the guest books or the invite expires after 24 hours—whichever comes first.
  • If you issue an invitation to book and allow guests to book instantly: You’ll have the option to block those nights until the guest books or until the invite expires after 24 hours—whichever comes first—giving a guest the chance to book. You can change your mind at any time by withdrawing the invitation to book.

Visit the Resource Centre for tips on setting a pricing strategy to help increase your bookings.

Did this article help?

Related articles

Get help with your reservations, account, and more.
Log in or sign up